2002 Windstar

Consumer Reviews

2002 Ford Windstar

$973 - $6,865  MSRP Range
2002 Ford Windstar

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

24 Reviews
75% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Ford Windstar?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Van

by Minivan friend from Des Moines, IA on Tue Oct 20 2009

We bought our ford van 2 years ago used with 113000 miles on it. We did do some work to the tranny but no big deal. It is the best van ever. It now has 165000 and no major problems. A friend who has a 2009 dodge van says our Ford has way more power than his van. I hope to drive this van another 2 years and buy another ford van. We have taken it to Texas and Florida and I will drive it there 2 more times without any fear of failure. I really like the bench seats. We have 2 small children. One sits in the front and the other in the back. They like having the extra space to put there things.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I wish they still made them.

by MGNAMJF from Virginia on Fri Nov 21 2008

I have put 114,000 miles on mine. I have not had any major problems. I would buy this van again. I wish Ford still made minivans.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Disappointment

by Soon to be pickup owner from South Central Iowa on Sat Jan 27 2007

We had to buy a different van after our 1998 Town and Country was hit by a deer. We have been less than impressed with our Windstar. Simple things like the quality of the feel of the gearshift, doors, etc do not match the level of our 4 year older Town and Country. The power locks work sometimes and the automatic doors have a mind of their own. Sometimes the automatic door opens on its own as we are driving. There are other things that are good about the van and I don't want to imply that it does not have any redeeming qualities; however, it seems there are better choices available.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

A nice car

by Duke 26 from on Wed May 24 2017

This car has served me very well. No major engine problems in the almost 4 years I've had it. It's not perfect; it rides very well but no power. Great sounding stereo but the CD player stopped working 2 years ago. The cruise control stopped working as well. Gets pretty good mileage and I feel safe in with its 5star crash rating. All in all I've been pretty happy with it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nice vehicle

by classic car nut from colchester ct on Sat Aug 02 2014

I bought this about two months ago it is an sel model so far it is a very nice riding vehicle it is loaded with the dvd adjustable brake & gas pedal,leather int.red with silver trim tan int

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Lots of issues

by Jack from Rhode Island on Thu Apr 03 2014

I had this van for 10 years, with lots of issues. Broken axle (later recalled), blown transmission, blown rack and pinion steering system. Beware!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Ride I've had every with a vehicle.

by csacaeb from Phoenix, AZ on Tue Sep 12 2006

This has to be the smoothest ride ever. Great on trips and lots of comfort for the kids in the back since the seats recline. You can also load a lot of stuff since the seats come out for cargo space. (Very convenient)!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

mini van i fell in love with

by traveling biker , explorer from havelock NC on Wed Oct 03 2007

After 73000 miles , still in good shape , a few shopping cart dents , but still looks good . did all the scheduled maint on time , including the dreaded 60000 mile insp . ( expensive !!!) Repairs -- intake minifold cracked , repair extensive , Transmission beginning to make funny noises , and starting to need warm up time to get the trans to move , but still a good vehicle !!seats get a little hard on long trips making stops to stretch a necessity . i keep the schedule ongoing for oil changes and filters replaced . i take it to a shell maint place for service , they have a large window so you can actually watch what is happening to your car . All in all a great buy !1

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good over all.

by nana 62 from florence alabama on Mon Sep 18 2017

comfortable overall good vehicle .smooth ride and reliable. negative side gas mileage not real good.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Windstar-a Jekyll and Hyde vehicle

by "Made in America" believer from Boston, MA on Sun Feb 10 2008

These are my comments after driving a LX for the past 8 yrs.On the negative side was the rust that formed on the bottom of the sliding door after only 5 yrs.,various electrical failures, poor turning radius, and constant engine knocking. However, the engine was incredibly quiet when idling, the overall ride was smooth and comfortable, and it always started right up, even in sub-zero temps. One of the most dependable vehicles I have ever driven, as it had over 186,000 miles and was still running fine when I finally got rid of it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3