2002 ZX2

Consumer Reviews
2002 Ford ZX2

Change Vehicle
3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

14 Reviews
2002 Ford ZX2
3.4 out of 5 starsComfort
3.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
3.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great little car

by jereman from San Diego Ca on October 21, 2010

reliable and very comfortable. get so much for so little money. I got mine used and it still looks, and drives like new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car By Far

by Sakura from Illinois on April 15, 2009

I am reviewing the Ford ZX2 because I want people to know what a great practicle car Ford made. I bought a 2002 ZX2 back 2yrs ago as my first car, at 28,000mi. That car was amazing! It was fuel efficent, sporty, was fast for a 4 clyinder engine, always started in cold weather, and never let me down. Even in a horrible car accident I just went through a month ago (in which the car was totaled). Though the front end was smashed, and side doors wrecked; the interior stayed intact and air bags deployed. If you looked at the inside of the car, you couldnt tell that it was in an accident. That is what saved my life and my fiancee's life. Again, this is a great car, and I plan on getting another one like it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good work car

by drives to work from Chicago, Il on May 22, 2009

I bought this car new in 2002. I currently have 115,000 miles on it. The original tires lasted 80,000mi. The brakes needed to be changed after 90,000 because my buddy threw ceramic pads on it at 30k. The transmission goes out frequently, the 1st transmission was rebuilt under warranty 30,000 mi. (free, ford didnt charge me anything) The Second tranny was rebuilt at 105,000. ($2,000 i had to pay) So im hoping to get 150,000 then sell the thing. I honestly have not had a breakdown other than the trans at 105k where the weather was negative 20. Nothing has broken on that car except the transmission. Currently the check engine light is on and some sensor is bad, $20 part. The acceleration is nice, i can swerve in and out of traffic like a champ and I drive this car over my Cadillac because of the outstanding gas mileage and low cost to repair this car. Ive had tune up transmission go out 1 set of brakes muffler still good 1 set of tires I highly recomend this car. Why pay 7-8 grand for a used 2002 honda civic when you can get a zx2 for 2-3 grand.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

reliable, sporty, good acceleration

by e from midwest on July 30, 2010

bought it new 7 or 8 years ago, now has 50,000 miles on it, yeah i have to pay money to get stuff fixed, but overall it's a great car, really good acceleration almost like a real sports car, vehicle doesn't feel heavy, not too light, just right (although in winter in snow and ice i wish it was somewhat heavier). after all these years it still looks like it got style, i'm surprised ford never came out with a replacement for the zx2, i plan to keep driving mine for a long time to come. if someone offered me 10k for it, i'd probably decline the offer

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

THE BEST!!!

by the fast one from Lebanon Oregon on December 1, 2007

i think that this is the best desision of buying this car it is everything power handling accelleration and everything this car is comfortable and has airbags in the passenger and the driver so that is the entire thing i strongly suggest this to anyong who likes power and comfort

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Car that did the job

by Man in need from Pacific Mo on August 7, 2012

Bought a new Alima for a trip to Livingson Montana. It go wrecked two weeks befor he trip. Found this 02 ZX2 wih 71K. Put in new air filter and changed oil. hree weks later I have almost 75K. Car got 33 - 36 MPG and got me there and back wih no problems. Plan to keep i awhile longer... good car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great car

by Alex from Minneapolis, MN on October 20, 2008

Always had good luck with Fords, and this is no exception. Good fuel economy and great value; no major problems in 90,000 miles.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Reliable transportation!

by Bella from KCMO on July 30, 2016

Bought this car new in 2002... Just sold it to my goddaughter to drive to college! It has NEVER let me down! It's only required normal wear maint & service ... Gas mileage is AMAZING! It's at 151K miles & has a few things going on. Needs blower motor for AC & coolant lines need replaced. If you're looking for affordable & reliable transportation, you will not be disappointed! It is a 4 cyl... Power not its strong suit, but if you have a standard tranny like I've had, it is a little quicker than an automatic . I had trouble bogging down going through the mountains in Colorado ... But prob common for a 4cyl at high altitude! Great overall veh! It never let me down over 14 yrs!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

If You Find One Cheap, Buy It!!

by 4CylinderCritic from Detroit, MI on April 11, 2007

One of the last of a dying breed of light-weight, small cars. What made the original Volkswagon GTi a great car makes the ZX2 to a lesser extent a really fun trot for little money. Even though it is no longer manufactured, it easily outperforms the Focus that replaced it. A few days ago, after driving a Pontiac G5 hours earlier, then a Neon, I got behind the wheel of a somewhat battered, used ZX2. Once I hit the road I immediately noticed the difference that the lighter weight gives this car. It handles corners very well and the ride quality is more sporty than comfortable. But the remarkable thing about the ZX2 is its acceleration with the manual transmission. The amount of torque seems just right for the weight of the vehicle. When I finally parked the car, I was very impressed with the experience and felt none of the mild dissatisfactions I usually have after driving the cars mentioned above. I highly recommend this car for someone looking for a mildly sporty drive (not a race car) to the supermarket and back, but not for long trips (as is the case with most compact vehicles). Compared to the newer econo-cars that are heavier by 600+ lbs. or more, the ZX2 can rival their performance even though they have 15 to 30 more horsepower. If you can find one cheap and in good condition, I suggest you seriously consider it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredible

by Flemmish from Baltimore, NY on October 25, 2012

176000 as of 10/26/2012. Just replaced original Timing Belt (it didn't break - a pulley did). have had a few inexpensive repairs which I did myself. Car is fun to drive, great gas mileage and the motor/trans is great. Owned this car for 12 years and without a doubt has been the best vehicle I've ever owned. To bad Ford discontinued it. Interior has held up very well. Engine doesn't burn or leak oil. It still has the original clutch and entire exhaust system.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2