1994 Metro

Consumer Reviews

1994 Geo Metro

$3,995 - $3,995  MSRP Range
1994 Geo Metro

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

8 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1994 Geo Metro?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Drive it like it's stolen.

by Construction Pig from Dallas, TX on Sat Feb 19 2011

This car seemed indestructible. It lasted 15 years and 250k. Eventually the lack of oil and oil changes did it in. This car was run harder than any other car I've ever seen in my 50years on earth.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

fun little car.

by heartstmc from boise, id on Thu Jun 10 2010

great gas saver. fairly comfortable for long drives. had a few maint. problems, nothing major. it does scare me to drive faster than 60/65, it feels like i'm making it go to fast. problem with passenger window wont roll up right, so when it rains it leaks. I love my Geo

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best spartan car ever

by geo lover from on Mon Dec 10 2012

I love my '94 Geo Metro XFi. I may finally be retiring it this year because the frame is now rusted out - can't prevent rust. But it's been an extremely reliable car. I have had no major issues with it until recently - all rust related. The gas mileage averages 40mpg. It has traveled across the country and back, been in all weather conditions. The only issue was traversing the Rockies, but it made it. I wish they still made this car. Since it was originally a Suzuki Swift, I'm looking towards Suzuki as a replacement. If you want luxury or power, this isn't the car for you. But if you want a spartan gas sipping economy car, this is it. It turns on a dime, parks anywhere, and has surprisingly large cargo space for its size, with the design of the hatch.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still Going

by Rods JuneBug from on Mon Feb 16 2015

Bought this little car new .Never had to do very much to it ,just keep it serviced.Great little car,goes in all kinds of weather.Great mileage.Best vehicle i ever owned.Still driving it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Commute car period

by JBR from Cleveland, Ohio on Sun Apr 16 2017

The car gets 40-47 mpg it's what it's design for not comfort or safety. The door handles, rust issues and comfort is poor. It's cheap to repair can be rebuilt and can go forever if you stay on top of the rust especially at frame horns. Want to consider an old one check the frame horns if their rusted walk away. You will love the mileage but not much else.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Nice Car

by Sixseas from San Diego Ca, Chicago Il, on Wed May 27 2009

I bought my 94 XFI used in 1998 from a couple that used it as a tow car behind their Rv. Ive used it as a dedicated commuter car between San Diego and Chicago since. Averages 59 MPG, 54 MPG with AC in the desserts. No major problems keeps up with my Tercel in reliability and beats a Boeing 737 for cross country travel cost. Its not built for collision I wanted to add a roll cage, but likely safer than a motorcycle or plane. The 1.0L is the only engine Ive run cross country that used no oil. The XFI is the University of California pulse and glide champ averaging 119 MPG. Havent had a chance to try it, but heard they can get up to 138 MPG. I have mine equipped with high power VHF/UHF, GPS, Echolink, and wireless internet for cross country driving. Really a joy to own I can scoot across the country at will covering my 2150 mile commute for around 34 gallons, it handles the mountains and high speed desert driving with ease never a sign of over heating even with AC on through the Mojave by Las Vegas.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great little car

by Geo lover from Riverside,ca on Sun May 25 2008

Bought it because my Truck is too expensive as a daily driver.Now I actually save money having a Truck and the Geo. Very cheap to own. Insurance, registration,gas etc. Roomy inside. Car can hold a lot of grocerys when the back seat is folded down. In the winter the heater heats up the small interior in no time. In the summer the A/c cools it in no time. I only see two problems with this car. It has no guts going up a hill and you never want to get into an accident. Chances are you loose.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Will drive through any type of weather even snow

by Broncofan from Weatridge CO on Tue Dec 26 2006

I have driven many cars and this little car really goes throuth the snow like no other, in 2003 we got 2 feet of snow and I had no problem going where I needed to go I was the only one to make it to work including the manager. So if you want a reliable car try this little machine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1