2004 Envoy

Consumer Reviews
2004 GMC Envoy

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

18 Reviews
2004 GMC Envoy
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
3.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.2 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Favorite vehicle owned of the Dozen I've had

by Hutch from Calgary, AB on March 1, 2012

I have a 2004 Envoy that I put a 2in lift kit in and a set of 31 inch tires on. I have 274,000km's on it and I've had absolutely no trouble with any major component, engine, transmission, transfer case etc. The interconnecting box on the front 4wd shaft is a weak point, but if you put it in A4WD setting early, then the front end warms up and lasts well. I've had to fix some accessory items such as alternator, belt pulley, thermostat; all of which failed around 220k. I honestly wish GM still made this vehicle, because they don't have anything in the same class today that I would buy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car. I love My Envoy

by NikkiL from Charlotte, NC on March 23, 2017

This is the best car I have ever owned. I bought this car 7 years ago It only had 64,000 miles on it. It now has over 210,000 and still runs great!! I have trusted this car to take me and my daughter all over traveling.. Other than normal up keep the car has been amazing.. Lots of room, we have been on a 7 hour drive and the car is so comfortable even with 3 kids in the back. This is a safe, fun and reliable car. I love GMC's

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good value for the money

by marcuscano from on September 14, 2017

This is not a great looking car on the exterior but the ride and interior comfort are suitable. I would buy this car again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most versatile vehicle I've owned

by Jack's Envoy from Deerwood, MN on August 24, 2017

I bought this SUV new in 2005. I've never kept a vehicle more than 5 years but it's been very reliable, versatile, and mechanically sound.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Vehicle I have ever owned!

by Chelleygator from SUMMERVILLE, GA on July 8, 2017

This SUV has endured countless road trips while raising kids, their friends and taking our dogs along with us. Now we are onto the grandchild and the truck still looks new. The paint & clear coat are still in great condition. The leather seats have held up beautifully. Plenty of leg room for everyone. The dual air controls are great. The back seats have their own controls as well. Mine has a full sun/moon roof which I love! The original Bose sound system was nice, but since upgraded. Many features at your fingertips on the steering wheel. Rides great.. I first rented one and fell in love. I did my research and found the perfect Envoy. When serviced properly and maintained, you can't beat a GMC. I have been through 3 sets of 20" tires. I have made other modifications like cold air intake, fuel injection chip & more. This vehicle has been a dream to drive and still is each day. The only dissapointment is the painted buttons on the drivers doors are worn off!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Purchased new.247,000 miles later still runs great

by Willie Joe from Brielle nj on February 12, 2018

Purchased new and still runs great.Normal maintenance but major components engine,trans,etc.no problem.247,000 miles later, never looked back.Love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable auto

by Retired from Wichita, ks on June 29, 2007

Wind noise is the worst I've ever heard. The comfort is great, handling is great and the MPG is acceptable. I would buy another one if the situation arose. The Envoy gets a bad rap from the press because they cater to Ford and Chevy. I love this GMC.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

not that great on gas in city

by Coach from Mobile, AL on December 19, 2007

This car is the car you want if you travel alot. This car is GREAT on the interstate,but terrible on gas driving here or there in the city. You will find yourself choosing not to go certain places just because you know how terrible it is on gas just driving around in your own city.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Disappointed for a GMC vehicle

by Freeway Driver from Fresno, Ca on April 16, 2010

Bought this vehicle new and after four years, past the warranty I had a valve repaired in November 2008. Now again less than 18 months later the same problem with another valve. Decided this inline six engine is unreliable. Our mechanic says there is a problem with this engine. I wanted a smaller SUV. Now I wish I had gone for the V8 and the larger SUV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Looks are deceiving

by Cmhirsch from Chicagoland, IL on September 15, 2014

Was looking for an inexpensive second vehicle. Chose this Envoy over a Nissan Pathfinder because I wanted to keep it American. Is a sharp looking car, I will give it that. However, the interior is not near as roomy as the competition. Unfortunately, I learned this on the first road trip I took with it for work. Every time I take it to the shop for regular service, I end up shelling out at least another $1,000 in other needed repairs to it. I DO NOT recommend this vehicle unless you either have another vehicle to use as a backup, or want to have a good looking money pit in the driveway

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2004 GMC Envoy