2004 Envoy

Consumer Reviews

2004 GMC Envoy

$1,358 - $9,186  MSRP Range
2004 GMC Envoy

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

18 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2004 GMC Envoy?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Favorite vehicle owned of the Dozen I've had

by Hutch from Calgary, AB on Thu Mar 01 2012

I have a 2004 Envoy that I put a 2in lift kit in and a set of 31 inch tires on. I have 274,000km's on it and I've had absolutely no trouble with any major component, engine, transmission, transfer case etc. The interconnecting box on the front 4wd shaft is a weak point, but if you put it in A4WD setting early, then the front end warms up and lasts well. I've had to fix some accessory items such as alternator, belt pulley, thermostat; all of which failed around 220k. I honestly wish GM still made this vehicle, because they don't have anything in the same class today that I would buy.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car. I love My Envoy

by NikkiL from Charlotte, NC on Thu Mar 23 2017

This is the best car I have ever owned. I bought this car 7 years ago It only had 64,000 miles on it. It now has over 210,000 and still runs great!! I have trusted this car to take me and my daughter all over traveling.. Other than normal up keep the car has been amazing.. Lots of room, we have been on a 7 hour drive and the car is so comfortable even with 3 kids in the back. This is a safe, fun and reliable car. I love GMC's

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good value for the money

by marcuscano from on Thu Sep 14 2017

This is not a great looking car on the exterior but the ride and interior comfort are suitable. I would buy this car again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Vehicle I have ever owned!

by Chelleygator from SUMMERVILLE, GA on Sat Jul 08 2017

This SUV has endured countless road trips while raising kids, their friends and taking our dogs along with us. Now we are onto the grandchild and the truck still looks new. The paint & clear coat are still in great condition. The leather seats have held up beautifully. Plenty of leg room for everyone. The dual air controls are great. The back seats have their own controls as well. Mine has a full sun/moon roof which I love! The original Bose sound system was nice, but since upgraded. Many features at your fingertips on the steering wheel. Rides great.. I first rented one and fell in love. I did my research and found the perfect Envoy. When serviced properly and maintained, you can't beat a GMC. I have been through 3 sets of 20" tires. I have made other modifications like cold air intake, fuel injection chip & more. This vehicle has been a dream to drive and still is each day. The only dissapointment is the painted buttons on the drivers doors are worn off!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most versatile vehicle I've owned

by Jack's Envoy from Deerwood, MN on Thu Aug 24 2017

I bought this SUV new in 2005. I've never kept a vehicle more than 5 years but it's been very reliable, versatile, and mechanically sound.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Purchased new.247,000 miles later still runs great

by Willie Joe from Brielle nj on Mon Feb 12 2018

Purchased new and still runs great.Normal maintenance but major components engine,trans,etc.no problem.247,000 miles later, never looked back.Love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable vehicle I've owned

by BillWJr from Millville,NJ on Wed Mar 14 2018

The vehicle has been a great vehicle. Very roomy, dependable. Handles great in all weather conditions. Second row of seats fold down for additional storage area.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

not that great on gas in city

by Coach from Mobile, AL on Wed Dec 19 2007

This car is the car you want if you travel alot. This car is GREAT on the interstate,but terrible on gas driving here or there in the city. You will find yourself choosing not to go certain places just because you know how terrible it is on gas just driving around in your own city.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable auto

by Retired from Wichita, ks on Fri Jun 29 2007

Wind noise is the worst I've ever heard. The comfort is great, handling is great and the MPG is acceptable. I would buy another one if the situation arose. The Envoy gets a bad rap from the press because they cater to Ford and Chevy. I love this GMC.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Disappointed for a GMC vehicle

by Freeway Driver from Fresno, Ca on Fri Apr 16 2010

Bought this vehicle new and after four years, past the warranty I had a valve repaired in November 2008. Now again less than 18 months later the same problem with another valve. Decided this inline six engine is unreliable. Our mechanic says there is a problem with this engine. I wanted a smaller SUV. Now I wish I had gone for the V8 and the larger SUV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2004 GMC Envoy

A Useful Habitat for Hauling
2004 GMC Envoy XUV SLT

We arrived with plants, lumber and other equipment needed to turn vacant lots into neighborhoods.

It was a Habitat for Humanity International housing development.

I wish I could say I was part of the good work. I wasn't. I just wanted to drive the 2004 GMC Envoy XUV SLT, a sport-utility vehicle that takes "utility" seriously.

The mission was part of a General Motors Corp. program to show that SUVs play useful roles in society -- and that the Envoy XUV is designed to take center stage in Habitat and similar practical endeavors.

Mission accomplished.

The volunteers building affordable houses in the early-summer heat were happy... Read More