2008 Envoy

Consumer Reviews

2008 GMC Envoy

$3,956 - $12,760  MSRP Range
2008 GMC Envoy

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

17 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2008 GMC Envoy?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I have driven in a while.

by New envoy owner from New Jersey on Mon Oct 08 2007

I totally love this car, I traded my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited with 11,000 miles on it. This vehicle blew me away with the comfort, styling, It drives so much better than my Jeep, I traded in my jeep since it was in the shop for almost 4 weeks for a stalling issue and the dealer could not fix the problem. I will never buy another Jeep product again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Problem Vehicle

by SUVer from Buffalo, NY on Mon Mar 31 2014

Purchased new. OK deal but problems soon begin. Both differentials leaked badly. Six times to repair. Spare tire mechanism a nightmere. Spare tire larger than others creates traction problem. Numerous electrical problems. Back up lights fill with water several times. Rear window wiper stops. Radio speakers apparently work per outdoor temperature. Three fail. Power window fails. Breaks soon replaced. Traction problem light always on. Wheel bearings replaced... And all within 6 years and 80,000 miles. Rediculous parts and labor costs. Won't buy another GMC. Second bad one.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Machinery

by Mr Fussy from Connecticut on Fri May 04 2012

We inherited our '08 GMC Envoy and what a surprise. After owning smaller vehicles for years, we didn't expect a full size SUV to be so good. Great in snow - very comfy and well appointed with options. We haven't used it to tow but it's capable of some serious towing. The gas mileage is unexpected also; 17.2 MPG in combined driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Vehicle for the price!

by Sporter from Lansing, Michigan on Fri Feb 19 2016

My third Envoy. Once I drove one for a test ride, I was hooked. At the time I was driving about 2000 miles per week! I could drive 10 hours, and still feel great! Quiet Vehicle, stable and completely reliable on the first one, then upgraded to Denali with V8/4. Still have that one, but it needs an engine, which would cost more than it's worth. Bought a 2008, one owner, very low miles, and I'm in love again, until this engine goes out to lunch. As I read here, why did GM decide to stop making this vehicle?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great reliable vehicle!

by DanAus from Traer Iowa on Fri Jun 03 2016

This SUV is one of the most reliable and rugged vehicles I have ever owned. Except for routine maintenance, I,ve never had any trouble with it and I just turned over 99.000 miles. The 4x4 is a great life saver for these snowy Iowa winters. This car is a keeper and I will recommend this vehicle to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by kranky from Pennslyvania on Wed Feb 03 2010

Second one I have owned. Don't understand why GM quit manufacturing this reliable vehicle. Does what you need it to do. Great in snow. Never had a problem with either one I have had. Tows great.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable

by Former Envoy SLT Owner from Milwaukee, WI on Thu Apr 08 2010

Great driving in the snow; lots of noise from the window areas (felt like air was blowing thru) and drafty. Great towing capabilities. The check engine light intermittently came on after having it a couple of months; technicians could not figure out the reason & engineers @ GMC had to be contacted. Other than that, no problems. Great amenities, but I would not buy another one. It served the purpose.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable one I've Owned

by Super SUV from Kuwait on Tue May 08 2012

Good car for the value of time and money. Export from USA and now usd in Kuwait for more than 5 months.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV Vehicle I've ever owned...

by ENVATE from Anchorage,Alaska on Sat Mar 01 2014

I purchased this 2008 GMC Envoy SLE 4x4 in March 2010...The vehicle was USED had 20400 miles on it...! In Four years time have brought the mileage up to 36800...THE ENVOY runs like a TOP... On average 14.5 mpg around town in Anchorage... 19.5 on the Palmer/Wasilla Highway. I donot understand why Automobile Magazines downplay the ENVOY...Absolutely the BEST SUV VEHICLE I've ever owned... Other than normal wear & tear, Oil changes...periodic upkeep on the vehicle. I wish GMC hadn't discontinued the Model in 2009.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice vehicle

by Karen A from Forestville on Thu Jun 21 2018

I used to own a GMC Envoy before it got crushed by a falling tree. I really enjoyed its smooth ride, dependability and its 4-wheel drive!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2