Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2004 Envoy XL

Consumer Reviews

2004 GMC Envoy XL

$1,746 - $8,474  MSRP Range
2004 GMC Envoy XL

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

11 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 GMC Envoy XL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great for Camping

by Avid Camper from Bellevue, WA on Sun Nov 18 2012

My Land Rover was falling apart after 3 years new and I was afraid of high maintenance. After looking around, I really liked the style of the Envoy, of course, took the sideboards off for additional clearance and went with 16" tires for extra rubber. I can store 2 days of firewood as well as 4 peoples camping gear and my kitchen for a week outing. I like the fit and finish and the ridiculous number of 12V outlets ;-) Wish it had more cup holders. Very happy with this vehicle which now has nearly 170K miles on it and only one tiny rock chip (a miracle).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Harvey drowned my 2005 so I purchased a 2004

by Ibeswtpea from Port Arthur, TX on Fri Oct 27 2017

I bought my 2005 used in 2012. It had 121,000 when the flood happened and she still ran and looked like new. So I found a 2004 with 72,000 miles with a much nicer trim package for $7,000. It needs some tweaks but all in all GMC Envoys have proven to me to be very dependable, sturdy, and a smooth ride. I would recommend GMC to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2nd Envoy, traded for a 3rd Envoy

by Veteran from Durango, Co. on Thu Nov 01 2012

We really enjoyed the XL version. Fold down 3rd row was very handy. V8 engine was a must, lots of muscle. Great car on long trips. Shift on the fly 4x4 was a life saver. The rear AC/Heat is a nice feature.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Roomy interior, dependable daily driver.

by satchi from Denver, CO on Mon Jan 08 2018

Smooth running SUV, dependable GMC and low mileage. Although it is a rear wheel, not AWD, I've never had trouble with traction issues. Easier and cheaper to maintain and repair than a four wheel drive car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best suprise in years.

by The Admiral from Plano, TX on Wed Apr 10 2013

I bought this GMC Envoy XL as a replacement for my S-10 Blazer that was stolen and totaled. What agreat suprise. My wife and I drove it from Plano Texas to Ft. Meyers Florida. It was a great trip. We got 18 mpg and it drove like a dream. If you are thinking of buying one of these, and have a choice, get the V8. It has good power and very responsive. I will gladly recomend this caar to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

GMC Envoy XL - Versatile & Practical

by Nice Rooshin Boy from Oswego, NY on Wed Dec 08 2010

We'd been looking for a used Chevy Trailblazer EXT or GMC Envoy XL for about four months before we found a good one. Even with 82,000 miles on it the body is tight, there is not one squeak or rattle, and no drafts, leaks, or wind noise. If you could only have ONE VEHICLE and it would have to do everything my vote is for the Envoy XL. It's smooth, quiet, and confortable as a car. It has third-row seating, trailer towing package, luggage rack, fold-down second and third-row seats, etc. It also has: four drive modes (AWD, 4WH, 4WL) traction control, and anti-lock brakes, which are more important if you live someplace with bad weather, as we do. Our combined city/hwy. gas mileage is 13.3 MPG with the 6 cylinder. We feel safe and secure driving it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second one just like it I've owned

by Lovesthiscar from Kennewick, WA on Sun Nov 01 2009

I had a 2002 Envoy and liked it so well that I now have the 2004 Envoy. The V-8 is really powerful, the car drives and rides nicely, it comes with all kinds of gadgets that are so nice to have, auto windshield wipers, power everything, memory everything, even an air compressor to air up tires or water toys at the river! It has tons of cargo space. I would recommend this car to anyone that needs a vehicle that is part luxury car, part utility vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Good Vehicle

by BMW's Rule from Detroit, MI on Sat Mar 24 2007

Its a good vehicle, just alot of problems, Transmission Noise, parts falling off, and wierd engine noise.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV!!!

by SUV Expert! from on Tue Aug 18 2009

I had a SUV like this one and LOVED it! One of the best cars that I have owned. Would buy if I need a large SUV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

NICE VEHICLE AND ROOMY

by don h. from brookings south dakota on Wed Jan 10 2018

THIS VEHICLE MEETS ALL MY WIFES NEEDS, TO WORK, IN SNOW AND ICE, TO SCHOOL, TO THE DOC, WITH MY 9MTH OLD GRANDSON

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2