Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2005 Envoy XUV

Consumer Reviews

2005 GMC Envoy XUV

$2,313 - $9,397  MSRP Range
2005 GMC Envoy XUV

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

9 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 GMC Envoy XUV?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

your do it all vehicle

by motor madness from wisconsin on Thu Nov 29 2007

awesome all around suv no problems at all lots of smooth power more use's than my pickup and great for the animals well thought out gm!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck ever owned

by GMC from Pembroke Ma on Sat Nov 15 2008

I love my trucks This has so much to offer the comfort and drive are my favorite things. My family has 2 Envoy's

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not so Reliable

by crazygirl from Arizona on Wed Dec 17 2008

I also have had many problems mechanically. I have had mine in the shop 21 times. Contacted Corporate office. I will say the ride is great, comfortable, quiet. Don't think it gets the gas mileage stated. They have problems with drive train design, gas sensors, cat. conv. and several other major things. I was told at the Dealership garage that they don't recall because it would cost more money than the people that actually bring them in to get them fixed. Not a great policy, but it is a business trying to make money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

sad to see it go

by gm faithful from NE Illinois on Thu Sep 19 2013

I bought this car July of 2005 and have used it pretty hard like a truck. As gentleman farmer it did the work but could still look good and be comfortable when it needed to be. I would say the roof bit was only used a couple of times, but it sure was convenient then. For about half the last 6 years we have had middle seat down and hauled plenty of lumber and feed etc. Also, a good bit of towing, but livestock trailer has taken its toll on the vehicle in the end. Mechanically it held up well till just recently. it still has good life in it but time to get new truck. Wish they still had this option.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's been a great truck...

by XUV Owner from Windsor Heights, IA on Thu May 26 2011

Very reliable and versitile truck. I had a Yukon and loved the room and thought I wanted a pickup truck, then I came across this vehicle. All the bells and whistles (I've got the SLT trim) and it is very comfortable for my family of 4. As a weekend warrior of home improvement, the bed in the back is great, too. Aside from brakes, tires and oil chanages, I've not had to put it in the shop.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car/Truck ever!!

by RippersEdge from Buffalo, New York on Sat Jul 23 2011

I got this 2005 xuv v8 slt new in 2005. I owned new gmc sierra's and silverado's before this one. Being a hunter and fisherman I found xuv to be the best for hauling my equipment around. Hauling a trailer, no problem. I have had minor problems here and there over the past 6 years but I can't give this vehicle up and they do not make the xuv since 2005. I'm sure everyone gets a lemon now and then with every vehicle. This one is tops on my list.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best utility Vehicle I have owned, for my needs.

by XUV owner from Nashville on Tue May 29 2018

Very reliable and versatile vehicle. Great value for the money. Fit my needs perfectly and wish I could but another new one. No longer in production.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

bad car

by george from az on Thu Sep 07 2006

what is the point of a review if you can not be hnest? i wrote a review and told what i really thought and guess what... not listed ere. well, the envoy is/was the worst car ever made. GMC should buy them back for all the problems they have. mines going in for the 9th time and 1 year old.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

We bought it.

by texasfizz from Houston, Tx on Tue Feb 27 2018

We test drove the car and fell in love with it. We were not sure that we were going to buy tonight but driving this car convinced us and we bought it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1