2001 Jimmy

Consumer Reviews

2001 GMC Jimmy

$635 - $5,851  MSRP Range
2001 GMC Jimmy

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

11 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2001 GMC Jimmy?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Capable and dependable

by FlyGuy from Colorado on Fri Oct 16 2009

I've owned my Jimmy since 2005 and it's been one of the most dependable and capable vehicles I've ever had. In my opinion its an underrated bargain. The 4.3 V6 engine is virtually bullet proof. One of the best of it's size and type in the market with excellent towing capability. The Jimmy is fun and easy to drive and "just the right size". The only problem I've had in almost 100K miles is a driver's side power window motor that I had to replace under warranty. Mileage could be bit better but it's still pretty much in line with other 4x4 V6 alternatives.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2nd one i have bought

by Gary from rome,NY on Sat Feb 04 2012

i bought the 2001 jimmy after my daughter totaled my 1998 jimmy. I absolutely love this vehicle. the only complaint is the four wheel drive. factory defect on both years gmc never figured it out. so i had to fix it on my own on both models and havent had any problems since. wish it had better gas milage also but ths is a wonderful vehicle to own.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nothing Performs Better in a Blizzard

by hsolorza from Rochester, NY on Wed Feb 25 2015

2001 4-door SLT with Auto 4-Wheel Drive. 245K on the odometer but idles perfectly and has incredible power tnd torque. Three snowy seasons in upstate New York and Massachusetts and have motored through the heart of several blizzards. With good Toyo All-Terrain tires and Auto 4-Wheel Drive, the Jimmy leaves newer SUVs on the side of the road. Amazing and safe. Keep your Jimmy maintained and the VORTEC will last 500K - many delivery vans are running around town with the same engine. Seat warmers compensate for the weak little heater.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great body style and looks like an SUV

by Love my SUV from Sacramento, CA on Wed Mar 30 2016

I wish all SUVs looked like this one. Most of them today have been made to look like station wagons. We've enjoyed our "Jimmy" for years and have never had any issues with it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Little 4x4

by TMGJ from Lincoln, NE on Tue Feb 22 2011

My sister bought a new Jimmy in 2001. I bought it from her in 2006 with 80,000 miles, it now has 145,000 miles and runs like new. I have replaced the fuel pump, radiator and a window motor but that's it. Amazing in the snow, does better than my Suburban. Engine is very powerful, I love to drive it. My only complaints are the gas mileage, 12 around town, 17 on the highway and the HVAC system, the HVAC system just sucks.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

reliable vehicle

by countryboy redneck from Houston, Tx on Thu Apr 14 2016

my uncle gave me this vehicle before he died, i have had for almost a few months, i like it is a good vehicle, it is 4x4 black exterior, black cloth seats, the driver seat has some tears, but i do not care about the tears just as long has it runs beautifully

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable

by woohoo from on Fri Mar 27 2009

I love this car! It drives great and is very dependable. I would recommend this vehicle to everyone. It's not to big and not to small, it's JUST RIGHT!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

safety features did not do well in crash tests

by GMC SUV Driver from north texas on Tue Jan 01 2008

Manual transmission problems/repair/remove/ Intake manifold oil leaks rear differential gmc bulletin about gear lash continous rolling thump thump thump sound while rolling out of gear or in gear. front pinion seal leak rear differential loves gasoline/poor gas mileage plastic exterior parts around privacy glass poorly manufactured. plastic inside cabin parts rattle when cold If a person has the time to spend getting all of the repairs made and does not get tired of going to the dealer for repairs to be done I would recommend this vehicle. loose body parts found especially headlight assemblies and front bumper cover. Spare tire inside mount takes away the inside space that could be available if spare tire was located under vehicle or on back of tailgate.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

you

by chris from on Sat Jan 03 2009

it is a nice suv but it is alittle over priced. the inter is nice it handles good and looks good low mileage but once a agian it is alittle over priced it should be around 2300 to 2500.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

As always, Chevy delivered on another good car.

by Woodworker Clint from Hale, Mi on Thu Jun 08 2017

All of these S Style Chevy's are great. They've never left me stranded. I've owned many of the S styles and have never been disappointed.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2