2003 Sierra 1500

Consumer Reviews

2003 GMC Sierra 1500

$1,630 - $13,910  MSRP Range
2003 GMC Sierra 1500

Review Score

3.9 out of 5 stars

3.9

14 Reviews
71% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 GMC Sierra 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

GM Trucks, Good looking, hard working, dependable!

by Landscaper from Calgary, AB on Sat Jul 27 2013

I love this truck. 194000 KMS and counting of hard work with little more than regular maintenance. Don't get me wrong, this truck isn't perfect, but none are. Yes, the engine knocks a little when cold (doesn't harm anything, i have another truck that does it too with over 300000 KMS and it hasn't caused a failure, or noticeable decrease in power) the fit and finish inside and out isn't perfect, and the gauge cluster does always work but honestly, if this bothers you, then you don't need a truck because if you did, you wouldn't worry about these things. What matters is how it takes a beating, and this truck holds up. I regularly tow 10-12 thousand pounds behind my 5.3 (rated for 8900lbs) and it never gives up. It starts and runs in -40C Canadian winters, i beat it up off road, put 2-3 thousand pounds in the bed, long road trips, you name it and she never lets me down. LS (Vortec) engines are the best out there, pick up any performance car magazine and you'll see what these motors can do and why they are so legendary. The 4wd system is good, interior is comfortable, and ride quality is pretty good. The transmission is a weak point, but mine hasn't let go yet. Anyways, if your a hard working person looking for a hard working truck, buy this truck. If your concerned that the panel gaps aren't perfect, buy a Mercedes to pull your wake boat, but that's all it will pull.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

nickle and dimed to death

by Working Joe from Maine on Fri Jun 15 2012

No big problems just allot of them. Rear breaks and rotors gone 17500 miles again 40000 Brake lines burst rusted through Intake gasket leak Altinator Idler pulley belt tensioner Tailgate latch 4 times Speedomeiter haywire Front and rear bumper rusted through

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

200,000 MILES & COUNTING

by PHIL from COLORADO on Thu Sep 25 2014

I have over 200,000 miles on the 5.3 in my truck and it is still running like it was new. the underside has almost no rust. The gearing is decent as it barely turns 2000 rpm at 75 mph. (Mine has the 3.73 rear end ratio) Fuel economy isn't great at 17 mpg highway but it wasn't built for economy. All around a great truck. the interior is almost brand new in appearance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Coulda been a great one

by Two Truck Man from Sudbury, Canada on Wed Dec 10 2008

This is a good truck so far, had the tailgate and some premature rusting on the grill repaired for free at the dealer. Common problems reported for this model include premature brake wear, spongy brake pedal, hard shifting transmission (1st to 2nd gear) and a poorly-made u-joint on the steering column (replaced by dealer for $100). The 2 wheel drive models get great gas mileage and the moror is very smooth.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

been a good truck

by just doug from michigan on Mon Apr 27 2009

first new truck i've ever owned,had some things go though the years but overall been a pretty good truck excellent service from my dealer no problems there

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck on the road!

by JIMMY from Michigan on Sat Oct 03 2009

Love this -powerful!Does Everything you want in a truck. Never had a problem. Quadrasteer is agreat feature to have and is very usefull.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

This truck died before it reached 100k.

by Tchsky from Peoria,Illinois on Tue Aug 01 2017

I never owned a vehicle that did not make it at least 100,000 miles. The transmission stopped working. The instruments on the dash worked sometimes and sometimes not.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT!!!

by JEFF from Colorado on Mon Sep 12 2011

This has been my dream truck since they first came out.Finally bought one this past July.Didn't really know just how awsome this truck really is.Love the features the Denali package has to offer.The Quadrasteer is the main reason I bought it,and I'm sure glad I did. Can't understand why it isn't on the new ones. Dream come true!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Defects Defects Defects

by Kay from Texas on Wed Jul 11 2007

Factory defects = Uneven cam wear, piston slap, transmission adjustments needed, tailgate problems. This truck is a lemon and the dealer will not stand behind it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best PU I've ever owned

by fireball from Baltimore, MD on Tue Mar 20 2012

GM did a great job when they designed this line of vehicles. The body remained tight and solid, and the vehicle was very reliable with minimal problems.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2003 GMC Sierra 1500

The 2003 GMC Sierra Denali AWD four-door pickup may be the world's most expensive work truck, with an as-tested price of $45,370.

While such features as four-wheel steering, a roomy rear cabin and a whopping 6.0-liter V-8 make it quite capable, this top-of-the-line pickup does not display world-class quality -- certainly not befitting its luxury-car price tag, according to Paul.

On the other hand, Anita thinks the Sierra Denali is the best truck money can buy, and gives it her highest rating.

She: Here's how I spent my weekend in the Sierra Denali. I went to every nursery in town, loaded up on mulch, topsoil and flats of impatiens. Every single person who waited on me would say, 'Hold on... Read More