2006 Sierra 1500

Consumer Reviews

2006 GMC Sierra 1500

$4,764 - $16,444  MSRP Range
2006 GMC Sierra 1500

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

25 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2006 GMC Sierra 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Definitely Going to last 250,000 Miles

by GMC TRUCK Enthusiast from Valparaiso, IN on Fri Jul 13 2012

I bought this truck in August of 2006, brand new. It's a crew cab, short box, 2WD with SLE-2 trim level. The truck is pure POWER! The 5.3L V8 can pull anything you throw at it, and the fact that it can run on E85 is reassuring when gas goes up to $4 a gallon and I need to save money, while also putting less pollutants in the environment. I primarily use this truck to pull around my kids and carry cargo in the bed (wood in the winter months). It's a great family hauler and with an average 18.4 mpg, I couldn't wish for a better truck! I love the driver information center on it, giving me full information on how the truck is doing (ex. engine hours, fuel economy, when to change the oil, etc...) Right now the truck is at 110,000 strong, and I'm sure that i will at LEAST get another 110,000 out of it! GMC is Professional Grade!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1500 HD

by tpifher from Davison, MI on Wed Apr 08 2009

A workhorse, this 1500 has guts and doesn't quit til the job is done. I've gone cross country with out a problem. I tow a travel trailer without any issues. The OnStar gives me a new level of comfort. While leaving ND into MT they found a motel for my dog & I. They also gave me some directions finding a small town in the middle of MT.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

ok

by punk900 from Arkansas on Mon Jul 23 2012

Bought directly as a trade-in directly from dealership at a dealer-only auction, as at the time I was a licensed used car dealer. At the time, it was purchased at a deep discount compared to retail so I cannot complain. On to the truck. If I would have paid retail, I would be greatly disappointed as it has more rattles ,and small irritating problems than my 98 did with twice the mileage and use and abuse from me and the previous owner. That being said, it has not left me stranded yet, more than I can say for other vehicles that I have owned,bought,trade, and worked on !

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GMC's Great

by Adam from Cocoa, FL on Tue Oct 10 2006

Best truck I ever owned. This is my third and will have over 200K miles just like the first two. GMC and Chevrolet are almost identical but the GMC front is more attractive in my opinion.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck Going

by Converted GM Owner For Life from New England on Fri Dec 01 2006

Over the years I have driven many pickups ( Dodge, Ford and Chevy) for work and play and this truck is the best of them all. Luxurious but very practical. Interior comfort exceeds all other pickup trucks. True workhorse. Not afraid to push the vehicle to its ' max. I just wish I had this vehicle sooner instead of my last piece of junk Ford F150

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2006 Gmc sierra-overall great truck

by Pick up truck man from Farmington,MN on Mon Jun 24 2013

Nothing beats a gm product. I now have 110,000 miles on my pick up and there has been absolutely nothing wrong with it. It pulls like a champ and is a great daily driver. I cant wait to buy a 2014 Silverado. Chevy guy for life!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I thought the new f150 was good.

by Chris B mn from Monticello Minnesota on Wed Oct 11 2006

I had a 2004 f150 and i loved the truck. But i have to say that GMC sierra has just that bit more. I love all the options and the ride is great, so quiet and smooth. This truck stands out from the rest. I am so happy i dident go to the over priced fj toyota.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great buy for the money

by Otis from Waterford WI on Tue Jan 16 2007

I have the 2006 sierra denali, and I love it. It pulls my boat like a dream (19' searay) and is very comfortible on long rides.The AWD feature is better in snow than I antisipated, and has more power than I need.I have driven pickup trucks for 20+ years and this is my favorite to date.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Denali

by Bubba from Jonesboro, Georgia on Fri May 30 2014

I test drove the truck and immediately knew it was mine if the price was right. The truck has exceeded my expectations from the engine to the spacious interior. The gauges and driver controls are easy to read and to reach. The interior is spacious and very comfortable. The engine is the Vortex Max, when I need a fast response the power from the 6.0 Liter is spot on. I plan on getting another GMC Denali when this one gives out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

good deal

by ted from anniston, al on Mon Apr 22 2013

russell sconyers was honest and knew his product, he listened and took notes on my needs and then presented the perfect car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3