2006 Sierra 2500

Consumer Reviews

2006 GMC Sierra 2500

$5,772 - $29,724  MSRP Range
2006 GMC Sierra 2500

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

10 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2006 GMC Sierra 2500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

great investment

by Carrol1015 from glen burnie, md on Fri Dec 01 2017

Fills all my needs... and then some. cant wait to use it camping.. I didn't think I would like a truck that bug at first. but it has proven to be an excellent purchase, and usefull for many applications.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

truck

by truck from Atlanta on Sat Dec 12 2009

use it everyday to pull enclosed trailer, bobcat trailer, and any other kind of trailer. 25MPG@55MPH

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

strongest sturdiest truck i've ever owned

by blue collar redneck from hills of WV on Thu Jan 20 2011

cant be beat for the money in all areas of workability and power.strong puller with good mileage and dependability in all weatther conditions.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sierra SLE

by Sierra SLE from Fallon NV on Thu Jul 21 2011

Decent truck I use for my business and going up in the mountains to my mining sites. The only beef is mileage sucks I have seen 16mpg thats it. I tried to use a diablo on the computer but seems to not really do much except when towing it got 10mpg! Without the tune 12mpg. Other than that super comfortable and great on and off road manners.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

expensive maintenance

by paddler from Maryland on Wed Jan 18 2012

2500HD diesel work truck bought new, now with 60k miles. Garaged, rarely started without going 100miles, mostly interstate, but has a lot of rust on the frame. Lightweight slide-in camper on it most of the time. But already all 4 calipers replaced, and fluid lines on transmission leaking and had to be replaced! The mechanic said "They all do it". GMC has been building trucks for 100 years and they still don't know how to build these? The truck has done what I bought it to do, but beware that to keep it going requires expensive maintenance.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2006 GMC 2500HD

by Mhoward from Indianapolis on Mon Aug 07 2017

Took 2 road trips with this truck already. One was pulling a 7500 LB travel trailer 2800 miles, interior comfort was nice and the ride was smooth. Love the truck. The 8.1 Vortec and Allison 6 speed auto made for decent acceleration but fuel economy was pretty rough. Still the best towing truck I have had.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck!

by 13Fusion from Enfield, ct on Mon Jul 31 2017

I loved my Sierra.. I smiled every time I got in :) I loved everything about it. From the leather heated seats, the height, the reliability and durability. How it had memory seat positions. This truck was badass. Many compliments. The gas was a bit pricey, but to be expected. The handling was great. Overall extremely happy with this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sharp and plenty of power

by Kenosha mike from WI on Sun Jan 28 2018

Excellent truck plenty of power for towing my toy hauler camper. It’s four door so plenty of space for family.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

amazing duramax

by 74ormor from BC on Mon Apr 23 2018

I have driven a lot of trucks including transports and have never liked a vehicle as much as I like this one. Low maintenance good mileage lots of power the only bad thing is that it came with a 26 gal. Fuel tank so I upgraded to a 52 gal tank at $3500. Which was a ridiculous price but in the end well worth it. Amazing truck would certainly buy it again. Carl

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable!

by CarlMi Retired from Kingsford, Michigan on Wed Jun 13 2018

This truck is very powerfull great for towing has a grade break for slowing when going downhill. It is loaded with options and is a very comfortable ride!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1