Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2011 Sierra 3500

Consumer Reviews

2011 GMC Sierra 3500

$15,832 - $46,644  MSRP Range
2011 GMC Sierra 3500

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

9 Reviews
56% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 GMC Sierra 3500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Regretting since new

by akangler from Anchorage, AK on Thu Apr 18 2013

I have had this truck for over two years, and I will sell before it is three. Read all the diesel articles and was under impression it would get at least mid teen fuel mileage. Not so. Best seen so far was 14 and didn't last after regeneration started. Took to dealership in AK and they didn't even know what supplemental instructions were for oil viscosity in artic cold. They put wrong oil in and unwilling to change it. Took it back for bearing noise in front hub three times and still not fixed. They did find oil leak, but it is not bad enough to warrant fixing. If that is warranty service, I am switching brands. I regret to unload this /=!@# on some unsuspecting buyer.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best ever

by Stockhauler from Okanagon, B.C. on Wed Feb 23 2011

Best truck i have ever owned. Just can't get over the power, almost too much. Handles like a race car, rides like a caddy. Our 2011 F350 6.7L can't compare to our Denali HD3500 when it comes to towing and handling. Large loads are a breeze with this Duramax/Alisson.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Too much power lol jp...loaded to the MAX!!!

by -=Manosry=- R.K. from Durham,NC on Thu Dec 30 2010

2011 GMC Denali 3500HD 4X4... Best truck on the rode... rides like a cadillac... flow's over bumps. More power then i need but its good to have in the long run. Best 4x4 it just snow in NC i didn't have to use the 4x4 at all be i had to see what it's all about... works perfect...change the computer chips at a local gm dealership i will give you higher mph...power is the same. I have a 2011 ford super duty F-350 too and i love both trucks... but the GMC is better... ford better interior...But comfort, performance, and reliability is the gmc denali...the ford have more power but the gmc will out run it all day...BUY A GMC OR CHEVY 3500 4X4...ITS WORTH IT!!!(New!!!)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck

by Tim repoman from NJ, trenton on Sun Mar 20 2011

Can haul everything. 4x4 work great. I repo vehicals and its easy and fast. Very fast truck 400hp!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2011 GMC 3500 Denali 4x4...#1 truck in usa

by Smith REPOman from NJ, trenton on Sat Mar 19 2011

Motortrend, car and driver, pickuptrucks, and etc best truck. Plus if u seen companies trucks now...truck chevy and gmc. best truck i had. i use this truck for REPO...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best ever diesel truck

by Hotshot Hauler from Penticton , B.C on Sat Sep 24 2011

With the all new stronger frame and suspension, these DMAX/Allison trucks are unbeatable. Hauling is a breeze with my 2011 Dmax 3500. Steering is tight and very straight. Much better than my 2010 Ram Cummins truck. Fuel economy is great for a big diesel and power is incredible, trans shift so nice and exhaust brake works great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

not good on gas

by hunter from up state NY on Thu Jul 07 2011

I only get 7 MPG. and has hurt my small company profit big time. all GM specs. have no Mpg rating because thay dont want you to know

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Let me down

by Lahrs_c from Gilbert, AZ on Thu Oct 14 2010

I bought the GMC 3500 brand new, leather seats the whole 9 yards. The peoformance is what I expected, as well as the interior. The price was a little much. I have not even had the truck for a week and the Trans Controll Module has already gone out. Highly Dissapointing.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

junk

by ford=amazing from hicktown usa on Mon May 24 2010

i bought one of these and hook chains with a 02 powerstroke and the axles snaped as the powerstroke was pullin me all over the road

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 35 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2011 GMC Sierra 3500


(Photos by Mark Williams, Mike Levine and Ian Merritt)

It's not that we don’t trust the big-truck manufacturers when they set up towing exercises during their new-vehicle introductions — we just know we’re likely to learn a bit more about a given hauler when we take it on the road. That’s just what we did when GM tossed us the keys to its newest top-level one-ton hauler, the 2011 GMC Sierra Denali 3500 HD dually.

Naturally, we wanted to give the revitalized Duramax — which makes 397 horsepower and 765 pounds-feet of torque — a decent challenge for this exercise, so we searched for the right environment with plenty of tough hill climbs. The more we thought about... Read More