Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2000 Sonoma

Consumer Reviews

2000 GMC Sonoma

$1,447 - $5,691  MSRP Range
2000 GMC Sonoma

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

8 Reviews
75% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.6 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 GMC Sonoma?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

reliable truck

by jaredco from moline il on Sat Jan 24 2015

Has over 200k mi on it and still runs great. i just use it for getting to work and back and hasn't had any surprises.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

long lasting

by Estella from 38668 on Mon May 24 2010

I learned how to drive in one of these and I think it was great. I can now drive many other vehicles because I wasn't afraid to learn in this one. My family has bought GMC trucks and we have discovered that the transmission lasts for the longest time. We have kept all of them for a very long time and sold them before ever having a problem with the transmission. A lot of other vehicles have problems after they get old, but not this one.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Little Truck

by The Truth from Los Angeles, Ca. on Sat Oct 03 2009

GM Hit the spot with this great little truck. The styling is great, the performance with the 4.3l votex is phe- nominal, the handling is tight and responsive, I have one and I love it

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Too many mechanical problems

by chevey from Winnipeg on Wed Apr 22 2009

everything, front end, rear end, anti-lock brakes, steering, computer problems,electronic four wheel drive problems, alignment problems, fuel gage problems, radio problems

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome truck!

by gmc sonoma owner from on Thu Jan 17 2013

This small truck seats 4 people. It gets good gas mileage, and it hauls a lot. I drove this truck for 7 years.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Fuel Milage

by Average Joe from Shawano, Wi on Tue Dec 28 2010

For a 4 banger the milage is very poor, on the highway only about 20 miles per gallon. Which is not much better the a 4x4 v-6 and this is only a 2 wheel drive, Sucks

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice little 4 cylinder engine. Simple, reliable.

by Lord_Edward from Fords, NJ on Thu Nov 29 2018

This tiny truck was very useful for hauling large objects that were not too heavy. Brought home major appliances, lumber etc. It was rear wheel drive which made it useless in snow, however.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

not bad truck to own

by natefootball74 from Concord, NC on Sun Apr 01 2018

Small and powerful i own a v6 automatic and its perfect to maneuver through tight spaces. It is great when it comes to towing. However it is light

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2000 GMC Sonoma

GMC's Sonoma Crew Cab is one of the latest to join the fast-growing ranks of four-door pickup trucks that function as much like a small sedan as a truck.

With four regular-size doors and a back seat big enough to accommodate adults, the Sonoma Crew Cab is ideal for personal use. It can be a truck when you need to haul something, but the rest of the time is has an interior like a compact SUV.

The back doors simplify access to the back seat as well as the installation of child safety seats. Most trucks today find their way to the shopping mall as often as they do the lumberyard, which is why a bigger cab and smaller bed make sense. Tubular bed extenders that pivot out onto an open tailgate can... Read More