1996 Suburban

Consumer Reviews
1996 GMC Suburban

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

9 Reviews
4.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.6 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.9 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most dependable vehicle I have ever owned

by Edwar from California on August 22, 2006

This review is for the 1996 Surburban 2500 4WD. This car has been a rock of dependability for my family, taking us on safely on many road trips and reliably serving as a family car. The car seats 7 very comfortably (NO crowding at all), and can even squeeze in a 8th person in the 3rd seat if need be. In addition to interior comfort and roominess, it handles well and is probably one of the safest vehicles on the road. We have never had a major mechanical issue with the Suburban, and trust it to be dependable. I would buy again and recommend to others.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

96 GMC BURBAN

by Chanceone559 from FRESNO CA on February 24, 2007

The best Car I Have Ever Owned, Will Continue To Enjoy The Car For Many More Years To Come! Made In 96 But Still A Head Turner Here In CALI!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Powerhouse SUV

by SUVer from Sacramento, CA on September 1, 2006

This is a great vehicle...with great looks, strength, reliability, and versitility. Great for use as a safe family vehicle, carpool vehicle, teen's first car (ultimate in safety!), tow vehicle, or travel car. We love ours....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

nick nmaed the short bus

by sub bub from Richmond , Virginia on May 13, 2011

Awesome truck, good four wheel drive, smoothe ride, gets on the freway quickly. Gets decent mileage on the road. averages about 19mpg with 7 people, food, and luggage for two weeks on board. tows pretty much anything I have ever hooked to it. Not good if you are looking for a tiny economy vehicle, but if you need a large truck; I am 6 foot 4 and the rest of my family is tall also, but a comfy ride and can stay at 75 mph all day with no strain.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Vehicle I and my Husband Have Ever Owned

by 'The Truck' from TN on July 17, 2014

Ours is the big engine one. Seats eight with tons of space. It has all the options that were available. We sold the dvd player screen and one window doesnt work but it is safe as heck and super comfortable. Most suvs seem to have no trunk space but ours is like 4 feet. Ours has a tailgate and the hydraulic window has broken, spraying fluid everywhere. It is nearing 400k miles and the transmission needs work now. We are going to get it fixed bc the alternative is to sell the engine for 5k and buy something that is way less cool. It got us across the country twice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beastie Rocks!

by Beastie from San Diego CA on October 23, 2013

I bought this in 2012 with only 98k on it. This Suburban absolutely performs stellar. I have two growing boys and we have plenty of room for them, friends and all their stuff. We put some BF Goodrich T/A KOs on it and now it is unstoppable in the snow! It is now my favorite ride except for the gas. We have a 42 gallon tank so at least I can forget about the pain for awhile in between fill ups. We replaced the alternator and had to get a new battery. I took a little bit for us to realize that in the 96 you can pull your key out of the ignition while all the way back in accessory position. In newer cars the ignition will not allow you to pull your key out so you avoid coming back to a drained battery. So be aware that the middle position on the ignition lets you leave the car with all accesories (radio, clock etc.) turned off and therefore not drawing batery while sitting for a few days. Highly recommended vehicle!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV i ever owned

by GMCJulian86 on November 20, 2017

I've installed aftermarket wheels and locking differentials on mine, and it still runs like new. Best GMC ever.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good Model Year

by d453 on May 27, 2018

This was probably the best car I ever owned. I traded this in for a 2015 GMC Yukon XL and that was my worst mistake.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Vehicle

by 12xl from Ohio on August 13, 2017

Rare vehicle because most vehicles this year and size are trucks not suburbans. It also has low mileage for its age diesel motor sounds good & strong. no rips & tears in interior.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1