2016 Terrain

Consumer Reviews

2016 GMC Terrain

$12,137 - $23,093  MSRP Range
2016 GMC Terrain

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

88 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 GMC Terrain?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 88 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

One of the best

by Sandysue from New Waverly, Texas on Wed Nov 11 2015

Information on all of the bells and whistles is not clear or easily found. Not as much cargo space as hoped but the space was put into the passenger portion and that is more than acceptable. Suggest they make the full back seat fold forward for additional space if only two are traveling. Blind spots are extreme as windows do not extend as far as they should to supports that are very wide in every spot. Gas mileage was excellent on long trip averaging 33 mpg. This car is new and only time will tell how happy we remain.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

42 out of 42 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my used like new Terrain

by Baby Danali from Billings on Tue Apr 04 2017

My sister and I picked out the Terrain above all the many smaller SUV crossovers. It seemed to have a more rugged look and was very smooth and quiet ride. It had many nice features. We bought it used with 13000 miles and still had our full warranty which is great. Only drawback that I could think of is it did not have a CD player since we are not totally high-tech savvy. Sounds like CD players are being replaced buy more Bluetooth or WiFi. I think a CD player should still be standard or option for a few years yet for us old folk .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

37 out of 37 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Happy With Purchase

by Sandra's Terrain from Taos, NM on Sun May 15 2016

Handles well, dependable and retains it's value and looks good. Very pleased with details, and more importantly all the safety features, and maintenance information.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice ride

by Cotton eye from Rockmart Ga on Thu May 25 2017

Good on fuel ride quite plenty of room nice value for the money love the power of 3.6 engine very smooth ride

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fits me like a glove.

by Joyce from Murphy, NC on Sun May 07 2017

Absolutely love it, easy to handle and drives like a dream. I love the style and interior is just what I wanted.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good buy.

by JR77 from on Thu May 25 2017

This vehicle has been very reliable so far and we were able to get an excellent price on it. We just wish the 2016 still had a CD player.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

by Lawbau5 from Simi Valley, ca on Thu Jun 08 2017

GReat car great gas mileage fits all my dogs in the back and I love how it handles. I feel you like getting around in something fancy but economical this is for you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice car

by Jhowell on Thu Jul 20 2017

This car meets all of my needs. Plenty of leg room in back seat as well as front. Comfortable seating. Heated eats in the front. Goes great on the highway, good on gas. Plenty of room to pack stuff for travel.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

comfortable ride for the size

by G & B from Mtn. Home, AR on Thu Apr 13 2017

We are happy with the comfort of the ride and the features. We are especially happy it does not have a navigation system!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

by MPD Family from Greenfield,Wi. on Sat Jun 17 2017

The salesman Chuck from John Paul's Automotive was the best. Easy going and gave me a great price compared to the other dealers. I have sent friends in to see Chuck and they were all very happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2016 GMC Terrain

The verdict: Despite a supposed update for 2016, this year’s GMC Terrain compact SUV hasn’t caught up with the competition.

Versus the competition: A compact SUV that could almost be considered a midsize, the Terrain pays off with a large cargo area and a roomy backseat, but most competitors simply get up and go more quickly and are easier to park when you’re done.

It’s also fallen behind the class with a multimedia setup that had me relying on my phone more than I should in a $40,000-plus SUV. And its safety options aren’t as advanced as others in the class.
Exterior & Styling
The Terrain is related to the Chevrolet Equinox, but where the Chevrolet has more curves and angles, the Terrain... Read More