2016 Terrain

Consumer Reviews
2016 GMC Terrain

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

52 Reviews
2016 GMC Terrain
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 52 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Surprising value for the money

by Oscarcat from San Diego California on December 13, 2015

The rental company ran out of compact cars and gave us a 2015 Terrain SLE. I was expecting to hate it. We drove it for two weeks and 1700 miles. To the contrary, it turned out to be quiet, comfortable and economical. The rear seats are on a track and slide forward to increase cargo space. My wife is 5'4" and I'm 5'10" and we both were able to find comfortable driving positions. The side mirrors are large and provide a good view. I liked it so much that we purchased a 2016 SLE-1 and retired my 10 year old pick up truck. This will now be our trip car. It feels solid and stable on the highway. Around town I don't find it difficult in the least to park. The feel of the brake pedal is solid and brakes are large. The rear seat is spacious. My complaint is when the seats are folded, the floor is not flat, it slopes up where the seats fold. Cargo area starts out narrow due to the wheel wells. The infotainment system is easy to use - I was able to pair my phone to the Bluetooth without instructions on the first try. I looked at other compact SUV's but felt more at home in the Terrain. I have had Japanese vehicles but they are so expensive to repair and service that I didn't want to risk it. I briefly considered it's twin, Chevy's Equinox that costs a little less but GMC is sold at Cadillac Buick dealers and I could tell when we purchased it was a more upscale experience. I feel the Terrain is a lot of bang for the buck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

60 out of 60 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

One of the best

by Sandysue from New Waverly, Texas on November 11, 2015

Information on all of the bells and whistles is not clear or easily found. Not as much cargo space as hoped but the space was put into the passenger portion and that is more than acceptable. Suggest they make the full back seat fold forward for additional space if only two are traveling. Blind spots are extreme as windows do not extend as far as they should to supports that are very wide in every spot. Gas mileage was excellent on long trip averaging 33 mpg. This car is new and only time will tell how happy we remain.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love My Terrain

by Dog Show 1 from Powhatan, VA on August 9, 2016

I love this vehicle! So far it's meeting or exceeding all of my expectations such as reliability, performance, gas mileage etc. The rest of this is just here because I had to enter a minimum number of characters.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my used like new Terrain

by Baby Danali from Billings on April 4, 2017

My sister and I picked out the Terrain above all the many smaller SUV crossovers. It seemed to have a more rugged look and was very smooth and quiet ride. It had many nice features. We bought it used with 13000 miles and still had our full warranty which is great. Only drawback that I could think of is it did not have a CD player since we are not totally high-tech savvy. Sounds like CD players are being replaced buy more Bluetooth or WiFi. I think a CD player should still be standard or option for a few years yet for us old folk .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good truck

by Motheroftwo from Mercedes, texas on December 21, 2015

I personally think it's s good truck, but it is small and the back seat is very crammed. It does great on gas but because it is s 4 cylinder it takes a while to accelerate

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Happy With Purchase

by Sandra's Terrain from Taos, NM on May 15, 2016

Handles well, dependable and retains it's value and looks good. Very pleased with details, and more importantly all the safety features, and maintenance information.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

new owner

by Happy new ower from Wisconsin Rapids, WI on March 3, 2017

Excalant value for price, plus GMC QUALITY. Retired Auto/truck mechanic and life long resident of WI, we have always bought Cheve/GMC. Wisconsin's weather requires a reliable vehicle, and we feel these vehicles do the job quite well. Thank You Wheelers and GMC.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice ride

by Cotton eye from Rockmart Ga on May 25, 2017

Good on fuel ride quite plenty of room nice value for the money love the power of 3.6 engine very smooth ride

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good buy.

by JR77 from on May 25, 2017

This vehicle has been very reliable so far and we were able to get an excellent price on it. We just wish the 2016 still had a CD player.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fits me like a glove.

by Joyce from Murphy, NC on May 7, 2017

Absolutely love it, easy to handle and drives like a dream. I love the style and interior is just what I wanted.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6
Our Expert Review: 2016 GMC Terrain