2020 Terrain

Consumer Reviews

2020 GMC Terrain

$25,000 - $39,900  MSRP Range
2020 GMC Terrain

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

63 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2020 GMC Terrain?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 63 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

2020 GMC Terrain SLT

by ddrumm from Springfield, MO on Mon Jan 20 2020

So I gave it a 5 for reliability, perhaps premature since we’ve only put 900 miles on the vehicle. When we bought the Terrain, we considered 5-6 different SUV’s in this class and it finally came down to a choice between the Terrain and the Mazda CX-5. After the smoke had cleared, we chose the Terrain for the overall value. The safety features are great. From the seat that gently vibrates when something’s in your path, to a head’s up display, lane assist; variable speed cruise; etc., our SLT has it all. But what was really great was that we paid about 3k less than a RAV4 with less than half of these extras. I wanted the 2.0 AWD, but after some deliberation, my wife and I settled for the 1.5 FWD. Surprisingly the 1.5 has adequate power and adds a couple MPG as well. We were able to test the switchable traction control in a recent snow/ice event and it performed beautifully. My wife doesn’t like driving in snow/ice and typically tries to avoid it at all costs, but the Terrain’s abilities have given her more confidence. Overall we’re very satisfied.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

37 out of 37 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Like my Terrain

by Kaye from My pleasant michigan on Sat Dec 28 2019

This is third Terrain I have gotten. Really appreciate all the new safety features on the 2020. It’s like driving a space ship with all the new designs

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous

by Kathy from St. Paul, MN on Tue Feb 11 2020

The new Terrain has been totally redesigned with a better engine, standard AWD, and so many state of the art safety features that I cannot list them all. It is easy to learn how to operate all the new features. It gets better gas mileage than projected. I know the service dept is awesome too because this is the secon Terrain I purchased from Walser Roseville.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Plenty of power for a 4 cylander.

by BDA from Mesa AZ on Wed Jan 08 2020

This car is a good compromise between having a pickup and a family vehicle, additionally has good gas milage. There is plenty of power when you get the 2.0 turbo I4 and the front passenger seat also folds so that you can even carry long items by folding the rear seat along with the from passenger. The 2.0 engine also comes with a trailer hitch allowing you to tow 3,500 lbs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car i have ever owned, performs very well

by Mike B from Cumberland RI on Sat Jan 25 2020

Plenty of space for storage and people, the 2.0 liter turbo engine performs better that a 6 or 8 engine. Great handling on and off the road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sleek

by t & L Chevrette from Brighton, WI on Tue Feb 04 2020

We have only had this for a month but so far...Love it! Have yet to find anything that we don't like. Very happy with it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST DEAL FOR CATEGORY!

by KJ777 from Phoenix AZ on Sat Jan 18 2020

We shopped basically EVERY model out there from all makers. Ended up with all extras on the SLE model for cheaper than the SL by walking out on our sales guy 3 days in a row. GMC worked with us the most, giving us the best deal they possibly could, therefore HANDS DOWN the best deal for your money when comparing ALL other similar CUV/SUV. So as long as you work the best price everything else was a far distant 2nd. All 3 kids fit well in back, great gas mileage, clean updated interior & ultra smooth ride give it a VERY luxurious feel similar to our old Navigator. Highly recommend test driving one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pam Schwartz-always have loved GMC vehicles.

by Pamela from Grand Ledge on Mon Jan 27 2020

This car is just what I was looking for in an SUV; affordable, dependable. I have had other GMC vehicles in the past and they never disappoint.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2020 Terrain 400 mi review

by Karen's Terrain from Sheboygan on Fri Apr 03 2020

So far everything works, no complaints. Comfy car. Many nice amenities. Smooth and quiet ride, many safety features. Nice on the highway. Highly recommended vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Vehicle!

by Shari from Cicero, NY on Fri Apr 24 2020

This is my third GMC Terrain. This is an excellent vehicle. I am pleased with the way it handles and rides. I also like the new design and style - very nice looking vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7