2016 Yukon XL

Consumer Reviews

2016 GMC Yukon XL

$31,645 - $62,753  MSRP Range
2016 GMC Yukon XL

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

17 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 GMC Yukon XL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best large SUV made

by The King from Ohio on Fri Jul 21 2017

The GMC Yukon and the Yukon XL are multitasking machines. They offer seating for up to nine, a maximum tow rating of 8100 pounds, and optional four-wheel drive. The 2016 GMC Yukon XL is offered with two different engines. SLE and SLT models come with a 5.3-liter V8 engine that generates 355 horsepower and 383 pound-feet of torque. The Denali trim comes with a 6.2-liter V8 engine that generates 420 hp and 460 lb-ft of torque, which allows the Yukon to have great acceleration and it seems very quick on the road. An 8 inch infotainment system, 4G LTE connectivity, and a back up camera are standard and very easy to use. The cabin is covered with soft touch materials that look very luxurious and are visually pleasing. The ride is very smooth and comfortable. The ride is also very quiet and refined. The Yukon XL has plenty of room to fit eight adults comfortably and all of their cargo. One disadvantage of the Yukon XL is that it doesn't have a true fold flat third row that folds into the floor. In order for GMC to create a flat load surface they had to raise the load floor a couple of inches, which makes it harder to lift items into the back of the Yukon. With the Yukon's modern styling and features, relatively efficient powertrains, and towing and hauling capability, the 2016 GMC Yukon XL is a very good choice for those who want style, yet capability.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE IT!

by TonyKit from Ottawa, Ohio on Fri May 05 2017

I had a Tahoe for 10 years and loved it. I went to my local dealer Tom Ahl's in Lima Ohio and the salesman Trevor Howery told my wife and me we had to drive the New Yukon XL Denali AWD. We clearly fell in love with it. We added 22" chrome wheels and away we went. We have 13,000 miles on it now and continue to get compliments on the looks and performance of the vehicle. We will keep this one for another 10 years. Thanks GMC and Tom Ahl's

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great family vehicle

by ShannonCBagley from on Sat May 06 2017

Fits family of 7 comfortably and drives great looks great, not the best on gas. Fits luggage well and has plenty of room

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best family car ever+ Luxury car

by Jack Sharp from Redmond Washington USA on Thu Aug 24 2017

This car is so comfy, it's 6.2 liter v8 engine can tow heavy objects and get you off the line FAST! Gas is not its priority it get 14.2 mpg. It can 4x4 through deep snow like 2 1/2 feet uphill and on a turn it's a lifesaver for that kind of stuff. Great car for the money!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV yet!

by Happy GMC owner from Bella Vista, AR on Sat Jul 14 2018

I have owned SUV?s for the past 15 years and this is my all time favorite. It handles great, tows easily, rises very comfortably. I am so incrdibly happy with this purchase. The only issue that we have had is a tire has a defect and are not able to have help with replacing it. It is not wear, just a tire defect that makes it incredibly noisy when driving and the tire is rotated to the front.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The swiss army knife of vehicles

by BMWCRZY on Fri Oct 13 2017

The Yukon XL Denali has the right balance of luxury and brawn. You can haul a bunch of stuff, a trailer and still be very comfortable. All the safety advances really make this SUV a perfrct long haul ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superior rocketship

by DROD from Hilton Head Island, SC on Sun Aug 13 2017

This is the car we have dreamed about for 30 years. We couldn't be more pleased and excited to take our first road trip.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Gmc yukon

by Someday from Fort carson, co on Tue May 16 2017

Beautiful SUV.. just wish I could have left in it .. it has a really great price on it so someone should get it while you can

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exceeds my expectations!

by Kasi from Belhaven NC on Mon May 08 2017

We bought the vehicle having never seen it except for pictures with the help of a phenominal team from wyatt johnson dealership in clarksville TN. This vehicle drives like a dream, has better gas mileage than we expected, and the family & friends love riding all together in such a beautiful vehicle. So happy we stuck out our search for our yukon xl. It has been wonderful so far!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's a beast!

by Mom of 3 from on Sat Apr 08 2017

Lots of room, super stylish and great handling, especially on treacherous roads. With gas being a little more affordable these days, it's a luxury to be able to drive one of these around.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2