Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1998 Accord

Consumer Reviews

1998 Honda Accord

$600 - $5,144  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

52 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Honda Accord?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 52 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

My Fifth and BEST car yet

by New Honda Lover from Colorado on Sat May 26 2007

Driving the vehicle will show you that it's worth the money. Smooth ride, especially on the highway and especially if you have VTEC. Has been reliable 9 years later and starts everytime, even in the winter. The body style is definitely an eye catcher and will not be fading away in the next 5 years. The truck space is extremely sufficient, especially for being a coupe. Great mileage for the gallon. Clean and quiet engine deserves recognition as well.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Shane from on Sat Nov 29 2008

Bought this car with around 150k miles on it. Its run great ever since! Its very obvious the last owner did not keep up with it which is the only reason for most of its problems. It now has 185k miles and had started having overheating problems. I replaced the radiator and a couple hoses had busted due to wear and tear. This car works great and you can definitely feel the engine is better compared to other 4 cylinders. This car will most likely last us up to 250k at the rate its going!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You'll never go wrong with a Honda.

by Jeff from Nashville, TN on Sat May 01 2010

I have driven a lot of cars, and this one really stand out when it comes to comfort and handling. Mine is the V6 and it's very strong and smooth. I'll most likely buy another one down the road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Leather for 10K

by Dub Hunter from Santa Monica, CA on Thu May 18 2006

I drive a black 1998 Honda Accord EX with a manual transmission and leather interior. Being 20 I can't really afford the car of my dreams, so I've done my best to make my Honda the car of my dreams (within reason). In my efforts to make this car my own I have added 17 inch racing rims with Z rated performance tires, racing suspension, a 2000 Watt JBL stereo system with a Sony MP3 CD deck, blacked out tint, and to top it off a two tone air horn. It gets me where I need to go on minimal gas and sets off all of the car alarms in the nearby area. Driving my car makes me feel free and is very therapeutic, that is when traffic permits.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Young adult lookin for a truck from Providence, RI on Fri Nov 21 2014

This car has been in my family since 2001, my dad bought it used and then handed it down to me. Car has over 260000 miles on it as it drove from Rhode Island to Boston everyday for over 12 years. Car is fantastic, only issue is the timing belt went late last year and since then there have been a slew of issues but you can attribute that to the car having over 260 k on her. Shes still peppy and gets going quick sometimes it shifts a little later than it should but still runs fairly well. With ease it could be doing a lot better had she been maintenance better (or at all) but 260k+ with little money into it and no maintenance by far an excellent machine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Of Any Price Class!

by Sarge from Southern California on Tue Oct 23 2007

Over the 10 years (purchased 'used' in 1998 w/2,900 miles) I've owned this vehicle, it's rewarded me with unmatched reliability, durability, engineering features, comfort, and pure pleasure. The 3-Liter VTec V6 is the only choice - great performance, excellent fuel economy and this engine is as smooth as a calm lake. The vehicle came completley loaded with options - and they all perform as new today with no repairs. The best point is that Accords reward you with excellent resale value once you've decided to 'move on' to another (and it'll be a n Accord!). In 170,000 miles, I've spent less than $2,500 in maintenance/upkeep/repair (including tires, barkes, oil changes, etc.) and consider this a raging bargain! How many, regardless of nameplate or pice grouping, can match that?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

192K after 9 yrs and still going strong

by Lady Driver from Afton, VA on Tue Jul 10 2007

This is the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. No major problems in 192K miles highway and country driving.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Very good car

by Henpol on Thu Oct 19 2017

The car is very reliable and dependable. The car was bought new. I have all the maintenance records. The car has never been in an accident.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My First Car

by Strider from Raleigh, NC on Sun Jul 23 2006

I am a car enthusiast and have driven literally hundreds of cars. I still have not found a car that matches the Honda Accord for the money. It drives better than any other front-wheel drive car I've driven and better than some rear-wheel driven cars. Not only is the 4-cylinder VTEC engine great with gas, it is also peppy. I have beaten numerous V6s with my 4-banger. I would recommend the Honda Accord to anyone who asks. It is comfortable, stylish, and ages gracefully. No wonder it is one of the best selling cars on the road, without selling to the government or Avis. Congrats Honda, you turn out winner after winner. I'll be seeing a Honda dealership in a year or two for my second car, bound to be another Honda Accord.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car ever so smooth to drive fuel efficient

by hondmademac from denver colorado on Tue Jun 13 2017

this meets my standers its fast but comfortable fuel efficient beautiful car has a huge trunk great to carry everything you need

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 1998 Honda Accord

Baby boomers are getting older. That means the number of older people willbe expanding, along with their waistlines.

For this class of youthful wannabes, Honda, along with other manufacturers,has introduced coupes that are bigger than a traditional sports coupe, but notso big as a Monte Carlo or Thunderbird.

Enough room to haul friends and enough power to haul . . . well, you know.

The previous version of the Accord coupe was little more than a sedan withtwo doors missing. This time, Honda gives the coupe version a more distinctidentity, with unique styling and sportier handling but little sacrifice inthe room department.

The styling of the coupe gives it a large look, although the mostdistinctive... Read More