1992 Civic

Consumer Reviews

1992 Honda Civic

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

10 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1992 Honda Civic?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

It's a Honda

by Rojo from Wenatchee, Wa on Sat May 12 2007

After 15 years of use the car still starts flawlessly. This car has moderate power and handling stock, but minor performance upgrades really enhance the driving experience. Gas mileage has dropped from the 30/37 city/highway original rating but that is to be expected. I record around 25 MPG in city driving. All in all, this is my favorite civic body style next to the new JDM Civics. It's a classic Honda.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

can count on this car

by Easier Rider from Western Washington on Sat Oct 14 2006

Always starts easily, excellent gas milage, lots of power, corners well, extremely dependable, keeps its style, makes a tight turn for getting into opposite parking space, lots of trunk space, special lock feature for trunk for valet parking, decent leg room for back seat passangers

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

VX, most fuel efficient non-hybrid

by VX meister from Colorado Springs, CO on Sat Aug 12 2017

I bought this car (Civic VX) with 261,000 miles on it. replaced some suspension wear parts, and the exhaust. It now has 291,000 miles on it without any major issues. The D15Z1 engine is very reliable and will give tons of miles if maintained properly. The variable valve timing that makes this engine a Vtec-E works fantastic. It will never be a race car, and if you try to make it into one you are totally missing the point. However it does give you 92HP which is enough for this extra light car to climb just about anything, albeit not at top speed, and when it kicks into lean burn, you are able to get mid 50s MPG. I personally commute between Colorado Springs and Golden, a hill filled 90 mile drive each direction, and I average 48 to 49mpg and that average is over 3 months and close to 6000 miles. There is tons of leg room in the front, I wouldn't recommend using the back seats, but with them folded down the hatchback acts like quite the trunk space. I routinely haul ladders, lumber and anything else back there, but it won't store much more than 6 foot material if you fold the front seat forward. Still pretty good for not being a truck. Highly recommend to anyone that can find one that hasn't been destroyed by some teenager.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Car

by Honda Forever from on Fri Jun 10 2011

i bought the LX new and have changed the timing belt and done regular maintenance as the manual states to. Today i am still driving this car with 362,700 miles on the original engine. It is a manual transmission. My husband bought the how to do it your self book and changed the head gasket at 315,000 in one evening and could not believe how easy it was to get to it. Everything works except cruise and auto locks sometimes i must lock manually, gets 38-40 mpg city or highway, 36 mpg when going 80 mph or faster. short of power when air cond on i turn off temporairily until going fast again. fun! interior has hld up well. we are rough on cars, take dogs and messy family i would buy another, our son was almost delivered in it now he is taking drivingtest in it, he is 16. used mobil one always. we will never sell her

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Gas Saver

by Waden4it from Los Angeles on Thu Mar 15 2018

I had a used 92 Civic that had over 60,000 miles on it. I owned it for five years and put over 100,000 miles on it when I got rid of it. The car ran great and I had only the basic mechanical work done and went through a new set of tires. The only thing I didn't like is that it was hard for me to get in and out of the car and I'm 5'-11" tall. I fit comfortably inside front and back seats. Anyway you can never go wrong with a Honda no matter the year or mileage as long as the maintenance is kept up to their schedule.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wish I had it back!!!

by JLG from Columbus, OH on Wed May 10 2017

Loved my Honda Civic Hatchback. So reliable, practical and easy. Great on gas and the insurance was not insane. If you ever find one, grab it. Awesome second run-around car. I wish I had it back!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My First Car

by Jandres Arroyo Collazo from Fajardo,PR on Fri Apr 14 2017

nice car but i nice to drive nice car but in car i want it its economic but nice better sale or ship to puerto rico was a cost to ship that car its better nice car a honda civic coupe yep

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One owner 1992 Civic VX

by Kenneth Hausmann from Austin TX on Wed Jan 25 2017

500,000 miles later, I still love the car. Stranded me only twice in 25 years. Great gas mileage, up to 57.7 on the highway, decent power, interior still looks almost new, rebuilt engine at 489k, ready for another 500k. This model is rare, only 12,088 made of 1,031,000 Civics from 1992 to 1995. 1.17%. Kind of funny reviewing a car 25 years after I bought it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Honda Civic 1992

by keith21 from topeka on Tue Jul 25 2017

If you ever find one, grab it its Awesome for a first car. I wish I had it sooner than later. practical and easy to operate for a new driver #love it

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

ive owned this car befor

by car dude from athens, ga on Wed Jan 05 2011

This car looks great and has a vtec engine. Best car for a family and runs great. Very reliable for for small families.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1992 Honda Civic

``Beauty,`` it has been said, ``is only skin deep, but ugly goes all the way through to the bone.``

Such is the case with Honda`s newly designed Civic Si hatchback, the runt of the Japanese automaker`s litter.

The Civic hatchback is offered in CX, DX, VX and sporty performance- oriented Si version, the one we test-drove.

The function of the Si is to rack up mountains of miles without having to stop for fuel. The rating is 29 m.p.g. city/36 m.p.g. highway with the 1.6- liter, 16-valve, 125-h.p. four-cylinder engine teamed only with a five- speed manual.

Even though you can pass most gas stations without having to stop, the price you pay is having to cover the machine with a... Read More