Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1993 Civic

Consumer Reviews

1993 Honda Civic

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

9 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1993 Honda Civic?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The BEST Car I Have EVER Owned!

by Landlocked Surfer from Durham, NC on Sat May 31 2008

This car has it all-performance, style, great fuel economy, and for a fantastic price! I drove mine for three years until growing children necessitated an upgrade in size and I have regretted it every day since! I loved getting out on the highway or country roads or driving to the beach on a sunny day, opening the sunroof, and letting the horses run with some good music playing. I could drive forever on a tank of gas and life was great. Front seats weren't the best for long trips and it took some power away when the a/c was on during highway drives but those are the closest things I have to complaints! FIVE STARS!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable car I've ever owned (really)

by rick from western NJ on Mon Nov 27 2006

I've had this car 13+ years (260K miles). I'm very bad about preventative maintenance, but apart from brakes and exhaust, the only problem I ever had was the radiator needing replacement once.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT!

by Mr Random from Upstate, NY on Sun Nov 15 2009

I've owned 2 '93 Civics: a coupe and a hatch. 1:) Hatchback, DX, 1.5L, 5spd. It was rusty in the usual places and 137K, but it ran beautiful and averaged 43mpg. Had it until 143K before selling for a paint job on another Civic which the guy ended up leaving town and never saw him again. The only cons: alternator and didn't start for a weekend but then fired right up (never figured out why). 2:) Coupe, DX, 1.6L (vtec swap), 5spd; 160K on motor, 270K on car. It was rather modified under the hood and lowered all around. The engine had an idling issue which seemed to be common on old vtecs. Got up to 40mpg hwy on a good tank (~145hp~) and averaged around 33mpg. Only got rid of because of excessive rust and because I saw a oil leak and a dealer told me it was the head gasket. Reluctantly, I sank $1000 into fixing the motor, only to find out later it was the vtec gasket leaking and dealer refused to comply or honor the warranty on the work. Not worth it to take it to court, so I just counted it as a loss :( Car had about 305K after piston rings fried and started cooking a quart of oil every 250 miles...all due to a rebuilt head on an old block; too much compression. Both cars overall held very strong with any type of driving. Neither made funny noises or clunks. Made lots of 600+ mile hwy trips with no issues. Neither had power options but everything worked as it should! 5 Stars!!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I TOTALED IT

by lovehondas from on Sat Nov 22 2008

i'VE HAD AN ACCORD AND A CIVIC. AND I LOVED THEM BOTH. GO FOR IT. YOU CAN'T LOSE. jUST CHECK TO SEE WHEN OR IF THE TIMEING BELT NEEDS CHANGING, ITS SPENDY.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great First Car

by Me from San Francisco, CA on Sat Dec 29 2007

I bought this car in 2004 with only 33,000 miles on it. It was really well kept and it has been a really good car to me. I travel to Los Angeles from San Francisco pretty frequently and I've never had any problems with it. The only thing I don't like about it is the horsepower--going uphill is a little bit of a challenge. Otherwise, it's spectacular.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Heroes get remembered, legends never die

by decompresslife from Minneapolis, MN on Tue Jul 11 2017

This car is reliable. 98 hp. Not much pep in the lower gears but responsive at highway speeds. Automatic gets 39mpg highway in the summers but drops to 32mpg in the subzero winters. Wheel wells sensitive to rust. Transmission and engine still great after 240,000 miles and 24 years. This car lasts longer than most marriages so be ready for the commitment.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

24 years old & still alive & kickin with no proble

by JoshC. from Pennsylvania on Mon Dec 11 2017

These cars are great, even many many years later its still a sought after car. 24 years old & it still is running the streets without issues.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

nice car, ready for the streets

by mefrankthetank from long beach ca on Wed Dec 20 2017

nice care ready for the streets, needs smog, b17a in a ej is rare n with a gsr tranny. wow honda is fast

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most reliable car on the road

by Midori1996 from Akron, ohio on Sun Jul 08 2018

Back to the basics with these cars. They only have what is absolutely necessary. A chassis, motor, and suspension. With manual transmission and manual rack and pinion, the car feels more like a go gart then a car. It's raw, fun, and reliable to the fullest. My 93 Civic coupe dx ran until about 300,000 miles and all the while was neglected. You can not go wrong with these cars!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1993 Honda Civic

OUT TO POLISH ITS IMAGE, HYUNDAI GOES BUMPER TO BUMPER WITH 4 COMPETITORS.

In his day, D.O. Chung, president of Hyundai's beleaguered U.S. operations, might have been a pretty good race-car driver.

On a slalom course set up in the parking lot of Joe Robbie Stadium, Chung, piloting a 1994 model Hyundai Elantra, slithered the compact sedan through a series of tight curves with the finesse and panache of a professional.

Just ahead, another driver was putting a Saturn SL1 through the same paces.

''Saturn. That is a good car. But ours is better,'' said Chung as he drove.

Hyundai has been making a lot of noise lately in an effort to convey the message that its cars are better than most car buyers realize... Read More