1997 CR-V

Consumer Reviews

1997 Honda CR-V

$547 - $6,319  MSRP Range
1997 Honda CR-V

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

15 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1997 Honda CR-V?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

1997 Honda CR-V

by Jockames from New England Megalopolis. on Tue May 21 2013

We purchased our 1997 CR-V about a month ago with 118,000 miles on it. We have put 1000 trouble free miles on the car and are quite pleased with it so far. The seats are not the most comfortable for longer trips but they're not intolerable. The car drives and handles nicely and the fuel economy is around 21-24 for combined mileage. The car has a lot of interior room for us and our 3 boys and a bunch of beach or boat stuff.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Well-built

by Oxymandias from Dublin, Ireland on Fri Jan 15 2010

Had just two mechanical faults, admittedly at reasonable mileage (circa 60,000). First was requirement to replace rear bushes on suspension and second was blow-out of top of radiator needing new one. Otherwise, mechanically sound. Driver's seat is uncomfortable on long journeys and road noise is excessive. Very sure-footed in icy conditions though.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliability light SUV that is hard to matched

by Gremlinsmasher from GA on Tue Jan 06 2015

I have put over 250,000 miles and this SUV is still keeps going. I don't have any single issue with transmission, powertrain and engine at all. I bought it from Apr 2000 at ~36,000 miles used. The payload is pretty good as I have moved around the country a lot and also during my military PCS. This SUV has a good mileage even as current (over 23 mpg). The only issue is this SUV is not built to tow, so I bought a 2014 2500 RAM pick up truck. However, I am still keeping it for a town ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

awesome

by skippy from JACKSON, WI on Tue Nov 27 2012

awesome in snow, very reliable.looking for a newer one just because my legs are long and I fit better in the second generation CR-V.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the way it drives

by Eric from Jefferson,WI on Mon Sep 21 2009

Have 97 EX that I bought for $4500 with 145k miles,the awd is awesome in the snow,gets great gas mileage for being awd,normal wear and tear,brakes,stabilizer links,tie rods,I just had it in for an alignment and they told me I needed a new universal joint and honda only makes this part which is $900,I did some checking on my own and found an after market company called rockforddriveline that makes after market universal joints for $35.00 and called them and found a company they sell the parts to,so I had them do the work it saved me $400. Just hope no other major things go wrong.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1997 Honda CR-V-most reliable car anyone's owned

by Rhonda from Paducah, ky on Fri Apr 14 2017

Twenty years old and we haven't had to do anything to it except a drivers side window motor and an radiator. Easily has another 100,000 miles to go!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Old but got the job done.

by revo5857 from Boulder, CO on Mon Oct 09 2017

First car that stayed in my family for over 18 years while being driven every day. Always reliable and cheap to maintain. Drove great even after all of its years, overall a great car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable thing ever

by djacks14 from Whitehouse Station on Sat Aug 12 2017

Drove the old girl to 330k miles and never had a single issue. She was beat up and pushed to the edge, but with regular maintenance handled it all. Would recommend a new 97 CRV to anyone

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is the most reliable car I own

by Cautious Buyer from Texas on Wed Dec 05 2007

I love my 1997 Honda CRV! I traded in my Dodge Avenger (don't go Dodge ever!). My ex-brother in-law owned a Honda accord for many, many years and had no problems with it. I also have other friends who own Honda's and now I know why! I Could not have gotten anything even close to the reliability of the CRV for the money. The fold-down back seats are great for hauling off things, as is the AWD. Great drive for a daily car and also good for long trips as well, and shockingly good gas mileage.The only close disappointment has to be that the engine does not have that kick that my avenger had, but it is adequate. Overall this is a great car and I will definitely buy Honda again.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great reliable roomy awd crv

by weedpuller from carmel ca. on Fri Mar 11 2011

This cute C.R.V. hugs the road and will take you anywhere with no problem. Not luxurious whatsoever, but delivers reliability and value.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2