Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1998 CR-V

Consumer Reviews

1998 Honda CR-V

$1,449 - $5,557  MSRP Range
1998 Honda CR-V

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

16 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Honda CR-V?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The best vehicle I have ever owned, bar none!

by adventure minded from Wisconsin on Sun May 04 2008

I purchased my crv new in spring of 1998 and ten years(209,000 miles) later I am still as happy as the day I bought it. I am a avid sportsman and this vehicle has performed without a problem, weather pulling my boat, navigating sloppy firelanes on a spring turkey/shed antler hunt, or driving out on a snow covered lake it has handled it all. I also own a toyota tundra limited 4x4 which is a great truck but can't hold a candle to the CRV on snow covered roads. The CRV ex also served as a motel room on a second season archery hunt in the up of michigan because the seats fold flat into a double bed. When you factor engineering, reliability, fuel economy, resale value the CRV is tough little package to beat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

NIce little Vehicle

by Jet Mech from S Cacalaki on Sat Aug 28 2010

The CRV is a great commuter car that has good power and is very comfortable ! It has a computerized transmission control and stays in gears a bit longer that normal transmissions to alleviate hunting between gears , and that takes a bit of getting used to, and at first appears to be a transmission problem , but it is normal. I like this little ride , and the only thing bad about the vehicle is lots of road noise , but you can always turn up the radio !

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great recreational vehicle

by Outdoors enthusiast from Spokane, WA on Mon Jun 11 2007

Excellent handling and comfort. Interior spacious and well designed. Seating comfortable. Back seats fold down to expand cargo space. Exceptional gas mileage compared to other makes of SUVs. Reliable, low maintenance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It Handles Like an ATV or a Snowmobile I LOVE IT

by Long Time Owner from Ossipee, NH on Sun Jun 29 2008

This car is awesome, I love the way it handles and its amazing in the snow. It is incredibly fun to drive and has good acceleration. The only annoying thing to me is that it revs a little high in second and third for no reason.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this Car

by Shasta from St. Cloud, FL on Sun Oct 07 2007

This car isn't really an SUV. It's a jacked-up station wagon- which is great! I have great visibility, plenty of cargo room, fuel-efficiency, and reliability. I wouldn't take it mudding, but it's a great around-the-town, family vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car weve owned

by Hondafan from ROANOKE on Wed Nov 08 2017

It is quiet on the road and very comfortable on long trips. Plenty of headroom front and back. Lots of storage space and conpartments.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

a value car for your money

by ivm16 from Los Angeles, CA on Tue May 30 2017

It is very practical small SUV for 5 people including a driver,roomy, folding back seats give you enough space to carry bulky load, safe because it has a spare tire on the back of the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by mmeyer19 from gettysburg,pa on Wed Sep 27 2017

lots of room for all my needs, including people luggage and leg room. Comfortable seats. Family friendly. Drives smooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable

by petrk from Clearwater, FL on Wed May 03 2017

One of the most reliable cars I ever owned. Very cheap to maintain and great on gas. Very comfortable and affordable. Excellent first car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nearly Perfect

by Todd from santa monica california on Thu Aug 05 2010

194,000 miles. The last 20,000 have been driven with an undiagnosable engine issue, but it never lets me down. (3 different mechanics, including a Honda specialist, 3 different ideas of what is wrong, therefore I do nothing and it keeps on running) This car holds far more than you think it can, handles well and has a very comfortable back seat. I'm hoping the 4th generation CR-V harkens back a bit more to the 1st and 2nd than the curvy girly car it has become.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1998 Honda CR-V

It's amazing the difference a gearbox makes. Honda's CR-V mini-sport-ute is transformed by the 5-speed manual transmission that is now available. It is livelier, friendlier and a whole lot more fun.

Until this year, the CR-V was offered exclusively with an automatic transmission. For me, the automatic just seemed to sap too much power and enthusiasm from the 2.0-liter, 4-cylinder, 126-horsepower engine. Acceleration, especially when merging into freeway traffic, was too tedious.

The 5-speed remedies that. Nipping through city traffic is a breeze. Because of the tall seating position, visibility is excellent. Slipping the shift lever through the gears is easy because the linkage is direct and... Read More