1999 CR-V

Consumer Reviews
1999 Honda CR-V

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

22 Reviews
1999 Honda CR-V
4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.9 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Reliability and Character

by Rick from Tulsa, OK on May 25, 2012

I love this car! It has character. 242,000 miles and nothing wrong with it. Easy to drive with great visibility for younger new driver. Gas mileage in 24 MPG range, and it looks good. Reliability is a given, its really a fancy SUV CIVIC. Performance is good and practical with enough power to smoothly cruse and accelerate when needed. I even love the cool picnic table in the back! I want another one of these cars!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

181,000 miles still run's like new.

by rc is cool dude! from Glenwood, IA on August 4, 2010

this truly is the perfect car. handling,safety,features. nothing fancy just total reliability. look at the resale value on CRV's with over 150,000 miles. enough said?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Trusty CR-V

by luhu from Dallas, TX on March 2, 2010

I've had my '99 CR-V for 6 years now and it hasn't let me down. Originally bought with 60,000 miles on it, and have since put an additional 70,000. I drive it pretty hard with a lot of road trips and speeding and it has been so dependable. I've only had one problem - I had to replace the radiator late last year. Normal tire change and oil change do well for the reliability. Pros: great gas mileage, tons of room for groceries and kid cargo, super safe (I've been in a head-on collision, and was not hurt, thanks to airbag), comfortable ride, good handling with normal Honda pep. Cons: at this point the styling is pretty outdated, but I think back in '99 it was decent. That's really the only con I have.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dependable and Safe Vehicle

by Very Happy Grandmother from Somerset Ma 02726 on October 22, 2014

My grandson was given a 1999 Honda CR-V in 2011 by his aunt who had been driving it since 1999 with over 185,000 miles on it at that time, We found it to be very dependable needing only routine maintenance. In October of 2014 it had 197,000 miles on it and was still running great. He was in an accident which took him over an embankment and flipped it over 3 times landing it upright. He walked away from what could have been a disaster with only bumps and bruises due to the workmanship of this vehicle. Although when looking at the outside you'd wonder how he survived, but checking out the inside it looked as if it never happened. We will be looking for another vehicle soon an do plan to check out another Honda. Thank you and continue to make safe vehicles for us all

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best small SUV there is

by Honda Lover from Las Vegas, NV on March 23, 2007

I have driven this stock CRV on many off-roads situations and it takes a very good punishing. It does not crawl on rocks or boulders but this vehicle is nimble and takes you on just about every off road situation the average enthusiast would want to go on. On road this car is great. The built-in picnic table and ice cooler are the best innovations for real world fun. And since this car is 100% made in Japan it will last at least 300k before you encounter serious problems.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Will Always Own a Honda

by Happy Honda Owner from Clinton, SC on March 13, 2014

My first Honda was a 1986 Honda Pre-lude, followed by a 1991 Honda Accord. My pre-lude was hit by a big truck, and I sold my accord because it became to low for me. Therefore, I went in search of a Honda suv, and in 2006 I found and purchased a 1999 CRV, with only 40k miles on it! The CRV is perfect for me, almost. It is just the right size, the mileage is good, it is very easy to handle, and the space is excellent. However, I am tall, so, if I could change one thing, it would be that the driver's seat could slide back further. Other than that, it is wonderful.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love My '99 CR-V

by Honda Advocate from Raleigh, NC on June 2, 2007

Very reliable and practical vehicle! The four-wheel drive has good power and traction in snow and rain. Spacious interior with the 20/40 fold down capability. Visibility is quite adequate. Just keep up the maintenance at it's proper intervals and it's good to go. Great on the highway -- usually up to 330mi on one tank of gas! Regarding maintenance; avoid using anything besides Genuine Honda parts. Retains it's value after 8 years!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

crv good value

by Art from miami,fl on August 18, 2012

Overall great value bought used and very little problems with suv. Little things like clock gas door and paint weak

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable and stretching leg room for tall drivers

by On the Mountain from Big Bear, Ca. on August 13, 2007

Runs much better at 7,000 ft with a high-flow air filter. With a red line close to 6000 rpm, the little engine really enjoys the extra air. Seats are a little uncomfy and a tad too hard but you get used to it. The cockpit is very nice with everything well laid out. This little car can scoot and still get low 20's for fuel mileage. It's easy on tires and takes on snow without stopping. Back seats are very roomy and recline a few inches as well. Hatch access is easy. For the diy's, the oil filter is a little tricky to get to.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unbelievably reliable

by Car Geek from Connecticut on December 18, 2007

We've owned this car since new and have driven it nearly 120K with only one serious problem (head replaced) but Honda took care of that at no cost. The car is a 5 speed manual and consistently gets 25-27 mpg on regular. The only negative is engine noise at speeds over 55. It is just undamped engine noise. Better insulation or active noise cancellation would have made the car a lot more enjoyable. The automatic version is likely quieter as the engine rev's would be lower.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3