1993 del Sol

Consumer Reviews

1993 Honda del Sol

$3,296 - $3,756  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

18 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1993 Honda del Sol?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I cant wait to get another one

by Jestersfester from Chicago on Sun Oct 01 2006

The feel is not the only thing I buy these cars for it is also the fact that the roof can be removed and stored in the trunk, not to mention the crafty little window in back

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So good we bought it TWICE!!

by Nona from Georgia on Sun Apr 20 2008

We bought this car (used) for our daughter when she graduated from high school in 1995, and 2 years ago, after the birth of her 2nd child, we bought it back from her!! We get 38 mpg on the highway, and it is the most comfortable car I have ever been in.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car to have

by Love my del Sol from Plainfield, IN on Sat Sep 29 2012

This is really a great car, I had mine for 2 weeks before moving from Indiana to Arizona in 26 hrs. No problems whole way there. Even drove it back after school was finished and still ran great. Until it got totalled. Now looking for new one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

230,000 miles and still better than a prius

by sol man from colorado on Thu Jul 10 2008

the day i heard honda was coming out with a convertible i made a decision to buy. 230.000 miles later i am still delighted. a new clutch at 180,000. gas mileage to rival a prius. huge trunk and front wheel drive. there is nothing else out there to replace it. as we struggle for better gas mileage with new technology i have the answer. bring back the original del sol. it works for me. and i can still go topless. we might both be on our last legs, but this honda will not be sold.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable car i have ever owned

by T-Money from Richmond, VA on Mon Dec 11 2006

The 93 honda del sol is the most reliable car, built on a coupe chassis this car handles better than any honda only with slight rear end weight issues because if how light the vehicle is. The car has no flaws. from the tuner prosepctive it has just about everything you can do to is , and from the normal consumers perspective it is reliable good on gas and has the styling that you can not beat with such a good price. honda didn't go wrong when making this 2 seater. I can swear i have never had a problem with my honda del sol si

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

For the right buyer, you can't go wrong.

by Annie from HdG Md on Mon Apr 21 2008

I just sold my 1993 Del Sol after 13 years. If you are looking for cushy comfort look elseware, but if you want economical, dependable fun without the bells and whistles, go for it! I admit, I was 38 when I bought this car, it had a good life, but with regular oil changes, one clutch, one timing belt, and 3 sets of Michlins, this car performed without a hitch. My husband has worked on cars all day for 30+ years, if this car had acted up it would be long gone. Buy a pillow, check the roof for leaks (if it rattles, just spray some wd40 in the holes while it is in the trunk roof rack) and have a good time at 32 mpg! Even if the roof leaks a little, it beats a rag top.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

93 honda del sol si

by chippy from appleton, wisconsin on Sat May 27 2006

i bought my 93 honda del sol si about 6 months ago. i find it a unique car that gets attention without being over done. it has just enough pep to keep up and then some with traffic. it could use a few more ponies, but its still is fast enough. handling is great. teh targa roof is amazing. its a convertible without the cost of insurance, and the worry of a break in.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GOOD ON GAS

by DOHC IS THE WAY TO BE from TEMECULA, CA on Tue Jun 13 2006

THIS CAR IS VERY QUICK, AND STILL GET AMAZING GAS MILES. I'VE BEEN OVER 160 MPH WITHOUT A PROBLEM, TAKEN CORNERS WITH NO SWEAT, AND STOP QUICKER, THIS CAR TURNS HEADS STOCK, AND MAKES YOU FEEL SAFE THAT THE CAR WONT LEAVE YOU ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD...BTW, ITS HAS ALL MOST 300K ON IT

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Most FUN practical, reliable, fuel efficent !

by Margie from Georgia on Fri Sep 15 2006

I have had this car almost 14 years and still cannot find another car to convince me to give it up. It's fun to drive, "cute" and the targa top gives you convertible wind in your hair without the maintenance, cost and safety concerns of a convertible. For a small car it is very practical-- still gets around 30MPG (automatic) in mixed city and suburban driving, has been very reliable (a Honda trademark) and large 12 cu ft trunk space. The cabin and seats are amazingly roomy and comfortable-- definitely do not feel cramped like a Miata or other small cars. Only design negative, in the rain, water runs off the roof into the cabin when the door is opened.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Miles of "topless" FUN for pennies on the gallon

by Cruising Classic Eye-catching Convertible! from Berlin NJ on Fri Feb 16 2018

It's a tight fit and any loose change in your pocket will be on the floor but once you take the top off and stow it in the trunk..you have nothing but FUN! The great MPG with this car lets you go anywhere and people will notice you and be envious of the great time you're having. They might even want pictures of the car since it's rare but all you need to do is ENJOY (& remember to check the oil regularly, lol)! Parking isn't even a problem with it's compact size and ease of sight, even parallel parking is a breeze... like the one you feel driving this little gem!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2