1997 Prelude

Consumer Reviews

1997 Honda Prelude

$1,613 - $11,017  MSRP Range

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

14 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1997 Honda Prelude?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Owned 97 Prelude for 10 Years

by Doug from Indianapolis, In on Mon Jun 11 2007

Having driven a 97 Prelude for 10 years, I continue to be impressed with the reliability, durability and performance this vehicle provides. 160,000 miles w/ original engine & manual tranny. Honda reliability is well worth the extra few dollars you pay up front when purchasing. Awesome vehicle!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

by Prelude owner from PA on Tue May 19 2009

Best value for the money. Great car. Get one. You wont regret it. Have yet to have any problems with it. Plenty of aftermarket parts to make it your own.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I will miss this car!

by Not a car enthusiast from Detroit, MI on Sun Jan 12 2014

I'm selling my first car, the '97 Prelude (with 123,000 miles) after 8 years of reliable performance. I'm only getting a new car because the heat core is broken and I need something a bit bigger. This car has been so fun to drive, It has a lot of pep to say the least. I have NEVER had any issues starting the car. Very reliable! Very easy to steer and parallel park. The drive is pretty bumpy (pot holes are your enemy in this car). And the cloth interior is very difficult to vacuum. I will definitely miss this little car, I had a blast driving it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable car i have owned

by truth from on Sun Apr 24 2011

i own tis car also ihtz very nice... i have had for more then a year without any troubles... the driving is very comfortable. economy wise is not too bad as its a 2.2 L so for me this ride is cooL

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The one the only prelude

by Kyle from Shreveport,La on Thu May 11 2006

I just got this car it the best thing ever the preformance and handling are great and once the VTEC kicks in at 5200 rpm its even better. This car is the the one if u are looking at 2-door imports get a prelude you'll thank me later Ps Its also very fast fo a 4-cylinder

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Prelude to Die for.

by lude-lover from Baltimore, MD on Wed Mar 11 2009

Anyone who is a lude lover will tell you they live and breath speed, superb handling and classy looks. My pearl white lude with tan/black interior is hot on the outside and modest on the inside. Sportin after market exhaust and a ram air intake, my lude treats me right. the 200hp I4 is enough to earn some respect on the streets and the looks are enough to get the ladies. I'm happy for every cent i spent on my lude. Get one, your gonna love her!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Engineering Masterpiece

by Discriminating Driver from on Tue Apr 27 2010

Honda got this car right. 5-speed version is an absolute blast to drive. Nice simple 4-cyl engine is a breeze to maintain, and needs nothing but stated routine maintenance. 195 hp is more than enough for this weight vehicle...this puppy gets up and goes like a cheetah going after dinner...it doesn't get much better than this. Sweet spot pricewise in a used vehicle right now -- why spend huge $$ on a sports car when you can get one of these in nice shape for 1/8 the cost?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect car if you drive like a nut.

by billybobjack smith from on Tue Dec 11 2012

The Prelude is fun for 2 reasons, the handling and the engine. Let?s talk about the handling. The steering is a masterpiece. It?s heavy, very precise and gives excellent feedback on how the tires are interacting with the road. The chassis gives remarkable grip and the car will EVEN perform lift-off over-steer in lower gears at high engine speeds! It?s a blast. Then there?s the engine. V-tech is no joke. It revs to 7500 rpm and at 5K the second stage of the cam kicks in and makes the engine very urgent and dramatic. It?s super reliable too. The one things that I?m less than happy with is the loud road noise, the jarring ride and the gloomy black interior. It?s not a comfy car, at all. However, all things considered it?s a heck of a car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car!

by ZAWelch from Saint Louis, MO on Sun Dec 24 2006

I bought a 97 Prelude SH a few weeks ago and it is great! It has a small leak at the V-Tec switch, which does not seem to affect performance. Over all, I love the Prelude and I'm glad I bought the car. It is also mechanic friendly; there is lots of room under the hood which makes repairs easy and general maintenance a snap. A few things I would like to see in this car are leather seats, climate control, and an onboard computer (like outside temp, direction, and average epa). If you're into after market performance and styling, there are many options to chose from. I would recommend this car to anyone. I love that it is unique. Don't worry too much about parts, the Accord and Prelude are very close mechanically. I would definitely recommend this car to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

amazing car

by Rabbit<3'sHonda from Perth Amboy NJ on Sun Jan 28 2007

A '97 Prelude was my first car & it is the most amazing car i have ever driven. It is a very good driving car although it is pretty much for the driver and front passenger. The back seat is small and will not fit large people. For small to medium sized people the back is adequate for short trips. The trunk is pretty big for a small sports coupe in my opinion. Perfect for grocery shopping or trips to Walmart, but you won't be taking it to Home Depot. The car has power & will show it if you want it to. It's quick, & handles very well, although bumpy roads are not its best friend. I would recommend this car to anyone, it's truly an excellent car; in fact I'm planning on buying my second one!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1997 Honda Prelude

I knew there was something different about Honda's Prelude Type SH when I hustled it up my favorite piece of abandoned road faster than I have ever in another car.

There are two models of the all-new Prelude, but the Type SH is the most interesting from a technical perspective. It uses ATTS, or Active Torque Transfer System, to help take corners with more stability and control than would normally be found in a front-wheel-drive sports coupe. ATTS is not a traction control system, which limits the power sent to a spinning wheel, but a drive-torque distribution system that takes torque from the inside wheel and transfers it to the outside wheel so it actually rotates faster when the car is... Read More