1998 Prelude

Consumer Reviews

1998 Honda Prelude

$2,221 - $5,725  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

11 Reviews
91% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Honda Prelude?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Get the LOOKS!!

by The Man from Westminster, colorado on Fri May 02 2008

I'm amazed how this cars style STILL gets people staring and looking and its 10 years old! Honda messed up when the stopped making this body style!!! H

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

built to last

by prelude guy from Canada BC on Fri Aug 10 2012

i bought my first 1998 Honda Prelude a few years ago with 250 000km it now has 330 000km and it is still running strong and good the only thing i had to change was the timing belt and exhaust pretty reliable car it got me where i needed to be i highly recommend this vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Fun Car

by Honda Hot Stuff from Wisconsin on Wed May 18 2011

Great car to supe up and still get decent gas mileage! Loved to drive this on the highway and show at car shows. Most are surprised at the horse power!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1998 Honda Prelude

by LiveFreeDieHard from on Fri Apr 21 2017

I own this car. Engine runs excellent. You have to take care of this car from day 1, so you don't get into issues that you see on Honda Online Forums. Regular maintenance stuff like changing engine, transmission oil on its regular intervals, and also flushing all other fluids. I have enjoyed every single prelude I have even owned. These cars are powerful considering a coupe and fun to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome and almost perfect

by Street Racer Pro from Chicago on Tue Sep 23 2008

This is an awesome car. It has a nice sporty feel to it. Hugs the road at high speeds. Not much room in back seat but tons in front. Love the body style of the car. Best part is it comes in semi auto so you can manualy shift. I get tons of faces when im driving. Would not trade for anything. Love the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE my prelude!!!!!!!!!!

by Nikki from Lodi, California on Mon Feb 09 2009

I purchased my prelude when it was two years old and had 22,000 miles on it. That was eight years and 237,000 miles ago and I still love this car!! The handleing of this car is unbeatable! I also love the exterior styling. My only complaint (other than the fact that honda stopped making this car) is the lack of room for the rear passengers. Other than that, the prelude ROCKS!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great for the price

by prelude from sacramento, ca on Sat May 12 2007

wonderful car! Extremely fun to drive!!!! The money a buyer will spend on this car will surely be a great investment. Not only does it look great it will be a reliable car for many years to come!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Beware of this Vehicle

by Sharpie from on Tue Dec 28 2010

I personally reviewed this vehicle and alhough the dealership did an outstanding job polishing both interior and the exterior, this vehicle blew smoke and black fuild from the exhaust and the tail pipes were completely black. They pulled the vehicle inside for review and their best guess was at least 2k in repairs for value gaskets. I passed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A classic that blends with modern traffic.

by icybrojoe from McKinney on Wed Jun 20 2018

The seats provide surprisingly comfortable lumbar support, car has well laid out easy to use utilities, smooth lines, and speed that kicks in after 6000 rpms.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful sport car

by Temblor from Tuscumbia, AL on Thu Sep 22 2016

I bought my 1998 SH in 2001. Now 18 years old it stills corners like it's glued to the road and handles just wonderfully. Sharp looking car, my velour seats make it extremely comfort over long periods. Seat is very comfortable, there's lots of room in the front, the back, no. You could get a small kid in there if they could climb past the front seats. Not meant to be a 4 seater. I would have preferred they just make the back all cargo space, as they did with the CRX. I keep it in top shape, fixing anything as it needs fixing, and doing the maintenance on schedule. That's the secret to longevity with a car. If you're buying one, be sure and have your mechanic check it out. They were prone to hot rodding and over revving by the kids. If the exhaust smokes, pass it by. If you find one with a good engine, GRAB IT!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2