2008 S2000

Consumer Reviews

2008 Honda S2000

$17,950 - $33,626  MSRP Range
2008 Honda S2000

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2008 Honda S2000?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Honda S2000 CR

by Driver 4 Life from SoCal on September 16, 2011

I owned an S2000 CR for about a year. Of all the cars I've ever owned, this is the most fun to drive and best looking. Looking at Honda's current line-up, it's hard to believe they built this car! The S2000 is extremely beautiful. The 6-speed manual transmission is the greatest gearbox I've ever had the pleasure of experiencing. The S2000 looks faster than it really is. In fact, even complete bolt-ons don't make this car much faster. If you're thinking about modding the car for a lot more performance, you're better off adding forced induction than anything else. The car is pretty light and nimble. Driving it through a twisty road is serene. Trunk space isn't much, but you can't expect a lot from a 2-seater anyway. The factory sound system isn't great. The CR has a wing, lip & hardtop, which not only add to down-force but also make the car look much better in my opinion. Again this car is extremely fun-to-drive, though straightline performance is lacking. It turns heads and is arguably the best looking car available for less than $60k.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

rail ride

by S2000CR Apex blue pearl 6800 miles from Dayton,Ohio on August 29, 2011

This car is so much fun to drive!!!!Just shifting through the gears brings an ear-to-ear grin on my face. Its not Corvette fast by any means, however it will hold a turn tighter and harder than anything else I have ever driven.The Formula one inspired chasis makes for a very tight,stiff ride. Keeping the 2.2 litr. 4 cyl. wound up in high R.P.M.is key to using all the cars potential.Every thing in the car is built around the driver for his or her comfort. The seats keep you planted in the car for good side support in hard corners. Short shifter and a quick 6 speed trans are also included.0-60 5.2 sec and 13.22 1/4 mile 2008 S2000CR Apex Blue Pearl

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car one can own

by tts2k from Indianapolis, IN on November 3, 2017

I dont think there will be ever be a car that is like the S2000 ever again. The days of naturally aspirated engines are gone and the balance and performance of this car is remarkable. If one if looking for a reliable top of the line sports car, this is it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fastest car I've driven

by Dano from Alexandria, VA on May 23, 2014

The S2000 is a very fast and beautiful roadstaer that I would recommend to anybody who wants a fast and stylist car for less that 60K.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great fun sports car

by Byker Steve from Menlo Park, CA on January 8, 2013

It's like Honda used their racing technology to make an affordable, fun car. I'm 6'2" and 210 pounds and it fits me like a glove. I have more knee and head room than I do in my Lexus RX 400h. I bought it used with only 26500 miles and a clean carfax. I love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car

by Carlos from Ft. Lauderdale, FL on May 14, 2012

I'm on my second S2000, I previously leased a 2004 and turned it in for an FX35. After two years I purchased another S2000; a 2008. This is an amazing car in so many ways, it's performance, design and reliability. I'm constantly amazed at how thought out the placement of controls and feel of everything, steering wheel, turn signals, pedal placement and feel. It's all perfect. I would've preferred a V6 because the 4 cylinder does not have the torque on tap unless you get it revving, and the interior noise could be less. Aside from those two things driving this car is like driving a race car to work everyday. It's truly amazing! I now have 67k miles and no repairs.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

honda s2000CR

by raptor girl from rhode island on March 3, 2013

the club racer is purpose built for performance. noise and comfort are suprisingly good for this type of vehicle. top is removable but not stowable. little room for luggage. not a good daily driver. BUT if you want dazzling performance and fun on the twisties with honda reliability then this is the car to own.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great if you are looking for a 2 seater

by roadster from on October 28, 2010

have had for a couple months now, and no issues. takes a beating and keeps on going. The S2000 is small. The trunk holds a pretty good amount considering the size of the car, but by no means would i call this a primary daily driver car. If you are looking for a second car that can get good mpg, and you can have a lot of fun then this might be it. if you keep out of VTEC you can get 30 mpg highway fairly easily. As far as performance, if you prefer straight line power, dont get it. If you prefer a simple car where you punch the gas and point where to go, dont get it. The S2000 is the kind of car that you take around the turns. It is the kind of car that handles like a go kart. It is the kind of car that has a very small power band, so you really have to work to be 'fast'. That is what i wanted. Whats the fun if you can master a car in the matter of a month? This is the kind of car where you will be working for a long time just to get those perfectly timed shifts with that perfect line through the corners.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pure automotive joy

by rbws2k from Huntsville, AL on August 23, 2011

The smile may need to be surgically removed from your face after driving this car. Pound for pound, the best roadster ever made.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A lot of fun for the money!

by ScottC from Michigan on July 25, 2017

The S2000 is not the most comfortable car nor is it the most convenient car to own. The S2000 lacks storage space and even lacks cup holders for your drinks. The S2000 lacks many amenities that you would find in even today's entry level vehicles. However, after driving this astonishing machine you would agree that all of that does not matter anymore. The S2000 is very purpose built so one would have to keep that in mind before jumping into one. The S2000 has all of the ingredients for a fun time (light weight, high-revving engine, reliable, droptop, is a looker, handles on rails, etc.). If you are planning to purchase an S2000, I would highly recommend another daily vehicle to haul around anything bigger than a golf bag as well as getting past the harsh winters we experience here in the northern states.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2008 Honda S2000


I got beaten up. It was my fault. I asked for the whipping. This is how it happened: Honda called to wish me Happy Honda Days in keeping with its holiday season marketing message. I thought that was neat and returned the good wishes.

We chatted a bit, inquired about one another's health. Honda was happy to hear that my transplanted kidney was still working. I happily learned that Honda was still making money.

Honda asked me if I would like to take a spin in its 2008 S2000 CR roadster.

"S" signifies Honda's super-lightweight chassis, which is especially designed for aggressive track driving. "CR" stands for "Club Racer." But none of that meant anything to me at the time of the call. I've loved the... Read More