2009 H3

Consumer Reviews

2009 Hummer H3

$7,176 - $25,080  MSRP Range
2009 Hummer H3

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

10 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2009 Hummer H3?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Hummer H3

by SteveLNew from Missouri on Sat Jan 26 2013

I have now owned 4 Hummer H3's My wife and I love them. They are great for winter weather snow, or out doing some off road as well. Could they get better gas mileage? Sure... But if you are concerned with that then you shouldn't be buying a 4X4 anyhow. The Hummer H3 will handle just about anything you throw at it. Plus it does it in style. People who say bad things about the Hummer H3... Never owned one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

hummer h3

by libertoski11 from wakefield mi on Thu Oct 20 2011

awesome vehicle its just too bad they stopped making them!!! a lot better gas mileage than claimed i can get around 20 mpg on highway will go anywhere! and the looks of this car are incredible!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Hummer to tackle mountain road

by Hummer Guy from Tennessee on Sun Dec 31 2017

The hummer we bought is great. Live up an extreme mountain so needed a traction vehicle. This car will do the job. 4 wheel drive plus locking differentials, wont get stuck anymore climbing the mountain.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle. My wife loves it also!

by Possum from on Sat Oct 06 2012

I haven't had this vehicle long enough to know everything about. It has almost all the features I wanted. I and my wife are pleased with this car aND WITH THE DEALER.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my H3

by Gutty from wisconsin on Fri Apr 09 2010

Bought my wife a new 08 H3 and loved it, so I also bought an 09 for myself. Gas milage is around 17mpg, and that's about what I expected.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my tank!!

by Kazn1966 from Connecticut on Sun Jul 02 2017

I have been dreaming of owning a Hummer H3 for 5 years now. I finally got my dream! Got a 09 in Boulder Mountain Gray! Love love love it! Not a gas guzzler like people think and very affordable!! Love the big truck feel in it. Found a great deal at Auto House USA in Massachusetts!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Screwed up security electronics

by Jim Rawlins from Baton Rouge LA on Fri Aug 03 2018

Really like my Hummer with the exception of several problems. Had a belated recall on wiring harness in GM mechanics did everything including replacing complete A/C system and still didn?t correct problem. A non GM repair shop found problem was a corroded fuse holder. Now have a problem with security headlights coming on and can?t be started. Last item as related to complaints is non detectable on diagnostic testing equipment so the sky?s the limit for repair costs. Is this supposed to be acceptable??

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

this is great 4x4 suv

by vince from daytona ,fl on Mon May 21 2018

great for towing boat or any trailer,also great family suv with lot of potential,love this truck,i'm gonna miss it,super quality drive train and interior(good material on seats)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Favorite car I?ve ever had

by Afarns91 from Boise, ID on Tue Nov 21 2017

I got this car because I live in the hills and needed something for snow. It handled better than any car I?ve ever driven in the snow.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2008 HUMMER H3

by ALEXANY from NAPLES, FL on Wed Apr 12 2017

THIS IS A VERY RELIABLE AND DURABLE CAR, VERY SECURE. WE LOVE HOW IT FEELS ON THE ROAD. WE LOVE OUR HUMMER!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2009 Hummer H3

Editor's note: This review was written in September 2007 about the 2008 Hummer H3. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2009, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

Ever since it debuted for the 2006 model year, Hummer's H3 has been one of the toughest-looking SUVs around, while its engine offerings have been comparatively puny. That changes with the debut of the new H3 Alpha, which gives the midsize SUV V-8 power for the first time. Already a competent off-roader, the thirsty V-8 transforms the H3 into a truck that's much easier to live with in urban and suburban jungles, which many H3s call home.

Alpha Male Styling
The H3... Read More