2009 Accent

Consumer Reviews
2009 Hyundai Accent

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

18 Reviews
2009 Hyundai Accent
3.9 out of 5 starsComfort
3.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
3.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.2 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best subcompact for the money

by Gillette from California on October 23, 2009

I looked at a lot of cars this spring, subcompacts and subcompacts, and took my time. The Accent SE hatchback was the best bang for buck, and I have no regrets buying it. It was more fun to drive than the Fit, with more interior volume and a better warranty. I also got $1,500 cash back. I liked it's looks better too. No contest in my mind. The Yaris was too pricey for what you get. It was a bit small inside and the warranty was inferior to the Hyundai. I preferred the Accent hatch's handling and styling to the Yaris. I also considered the VW Rabbit, the Kia Rio5 (which I really liked too) and the Kia Soul. I couldn't stand looking at the Versa....it looked clunky and weird. In the end it was between the Soul and the Accent SE, and I think both cars were equal in value, style, fun and warranty. I didn't consider the base Accent, it was too "economy" for me, but the SE is a must-see for any small car shopper.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Great Car For the Money

by MississippiMS from Alabama & Mississippi on November 3, 2009

I bought a Hyundai Accent because my neighbor was getting forty miles per gallon out of a 2005 Accent. I am getting about 28-30 mpg, but probably could do better if I watched my driving habits. I has a good solid feel to it on the road and has stayed steady when passed by 18 wheelers. I was amazed at the small amount of space it took to do a U turn after having a Nissan Altima. I can't haul as much in it as I could the Altima, but that is what pickups are for. I am very happy with my Accent.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

$$$ Bang for the Buck $$$

by Enthusiast from San Diego, CA on February 27, 2009

Got this thing out the door for $9,500. On the way back from Lake Tahoe MPG was 39. Average is about 30MPG. $18-$22 for a full tank.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Commuter

by Commuter from Tacoma, WA on February 3, 2011

Bought the car 'cause I drive about 95 miles roundtrip everyday for my commute and gas prices are NOT to going down. Good solid feel on the windy back roads. Good price/value for a 4 door, power everything, still under manufacture warranty commuter car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I have one

by Jay from Phoenix az on February 28, 2013

I have owned a 2007 for 4 years.. been in the shop once for a $100 repair bill.. change the oil and go.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good Little Car

by 2Marks from Las Vegas, NV on May 14, 2014

We bought it about a month ago to run around town in. We've since also taken it on a 250 mile freeway trip and have no complaints about the car. It's quick, has an excellent air conditioner (we live in the desert south west). We were concerned that it wouldn't have enough power for long grades, etc. It was great; we didn't feel under-powered even with the air on. It is definitely an econobox but that is what we were expecting out of a $8500 car with it's mileage ratings.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable gas milage is out standing

by countrygirl from racine wisconsin on April 21, 2017

Of all the different kind of cars I have ever owned gas milage is the best and in the winter it always starts, comfortable easy to drive for long distances just a great car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Trusty Road Companion

by BloominMeg on August 18, 2017

I've had this car for 5 years now, and its treated me well. For a little car, it has a decent kick, and good fuel economy. The only con I can find is that its so light it has trouble handling snow and ice.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nice reliable gas saver

by Ox from on March 30, 2017

This car was great for my 1hr long commutes to work. I love manual shift in the snow, so capable and makes the car more fun to drive. You would not believe all the stuff I put into this car on its many trips to the hardware store, fold the seats down in the back and there is quite a lot of space. Slide some 2x4s up into the passenger foot well and oala. I got the no A/C option which made for a few hot days in the summer coming home from work, but rolling down the windows driving the back roads makes me think of simpler days.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my car

by Kandice from Kennesaw, Ga on April 14, 2017

I really love my car. It didn't come with all the upgrades I wanted but that was ok because it was affordable and it gets me where I need to go. I'm just glad it has power doors and windows unlike my last car which was the same year. It rides really smooth and is a good size for me and my 3 month old daughter.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 2009 Hyundai Accent