2016 Azera

Consumer Reviews

2016 Hyundai Azera

$14,299 - $25,751  MSRP Range
2016 Hyundai Azera

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

16 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2016 Hyundai Azera?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Better than Genesis if purchasing over lease

by Greenb from Columbus, OH on Mon Jun 19 2017

The Azera runs almost in exact par to the Genesis in terms of features to the price (when looking at the base line Genesis). However there are some key differences that make the Azera a better car to own than the Genesis - mainly cost of ownership. The styling of the Azera is the last of the fluidic design, that I love, and only comes in two flavors with the only designation difference being the Azera and the Azera Limited. The limited adds all the bells and whistles and a couple hundred pounds to the car as a result. The styling of the Genesis is much more refined and European - both are great in their own respects. If you do like the more european look, but don't want the expense of owning a Genesis, look at Kia's Cadenza as it has the more updated design trim that the Azera is due to get in late 2017 or early 2018. The Genesis has things to it that both make it a great car, but also an expensive one to own and maintain. The base Genesis is rear wheel drive, which if you live a 4 season state, can mean trouble in the winter - where as the Azera is front wheel drive. Both engines have a decent amount of power to get you to 60 in just over 6 seconds, however the oil changes on the Genesis engine are much more involved due to the engine's position, and the noise and wind dampers on the lower chassis that have to be removed and put back on (creating potential for return visits and rattles). When the regular service points hit, the Genesis has more to be adjusted and calibrated and requires more expensive replacements (spark plugs for example are nearly 2x as expensive as the Azera's recommended set) not to mention the maintenance on the transmission comparison, fluid flushes etc. The Azera uses the same sized wheel on all four positions, whereas the Genesis uses a staggered (wider wheels in the back) configuration. This really doesn't do anything for you performance wise on the v6 model outside of slightly improved cornering, and modest improvement on breaking but does mean that your tire rotation is limited and the tires are much more expensive. Overall - the Azera is great car with nearly every feature comfort that the Genesis has in its base for about $3,000 less and will cost you less to own. HOWEVER, if you are just leasing vehicles - GET THE GENESIS. The first three years of maintenance on a Genesis are pretty basic, but they are 100% covered in their new lease program - as well as concierge service where they will come and get your car and leave yo a loaner while they do that service. If you want a sportier car over comfort, the Genesis would win again. It has better cornering than the Azera and a slightly better 0-60 time. If you opt for the V8 Genesis though, you will be quite happy with its performance as long as you are not going street racing with it. The bottom line though - I love the Azera - its styling, its performance, its features, and its cost of ownership have made it my vehicle of choice. I don't run into myself everywhere as they do not sell more than 5-6 per dealership per month compared to the others. The new body style due to the US is a huge departure from the fluidic design, but a VAST improvement over what the Sonata looks like while still being distinct against the genesis and other cars on the road.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my car

by Clark from Kansas City, Missouri on Sat Jul 01 2017

The Azeria Hyunda is smaller than the Lincoln Town Car I had before ,but has plenty of room. Plenty of power to pull out into traffic. The ride isn't as smooth as my Lincoln was , but that was to be expected .We are still learning all the bells and whistles It practically could drive it's self , love the key less door entry and trunk entry, all the warning signals , like when you cross over the line ,and blind spots warning in the mirrors, so many extras without the extra cost for them.The warranty is one of the best

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent value for the money.

by Azera Man from Louisville, KY on Sat Nov 04 2017

Meets all of my expectations in terms of styling, comfort, performance, handling and fuel economy. Starting out looking for a new 2017 Genesis but when I found out that the back seats did not retract I quickly turned my attention to the Azera as an upgrade to the last 2 Sonatas that I previously owned. The pewter/black combination was my sweet spot. And the Limited with 18" sport wheels sealed the deal. The fact that the 2016 was no different then the 2017 from a feature standpoint I focused my search on 2016s at a lower out the door price. Best deal ever.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Overall Great Car

by bmac1950 from Pinellas Park, FL on Sat Nov 19 2016

Very quite, at times am not sure the engine is running, nice riding car and ours was loaded. We had a fully loaded 2015 Sonata (other than turbo) and we had a lot of problems with the car, it was a lease so rather continue leasing it we switched to the Azera and we're both very happy. We get a bit better gas mileage around town with the Azera than we did with the Sonata. A lot more money than the Sonata, about $10,000 but it's more car, drives better and feels larger inside. This car will be a keeper.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Car that keeps giving!!

by Dr.E from Peoria, Az on Wed Mar 22 2017

I am so impressed with the comfort and performance of this car. It exceeds our expectations. The value compared to other high end cars beats them. This car came upgrades that were included, not extras.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this auto.

by Madd Man from Ca. on Wed Feb 22 2017

Upgraded from a 2013 Nissan 3.5 SV Altima which we loved, & had doubts about liking this Azera as much, but after 4,500 miles we like the Azera even better.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So Far Best Car ever owned

by Lily of the Valley from Atlanta Georgia on Thu Dec 14 2017

Feel like someone important driving down the road in my Azera. At night, it lights up inside like a cruiseship & cruises down the road like one. This car has everything a Mercedes E 350 has; except the higher price tag & maint. costs. LOVE IT!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I have ever owned.

by BobsM from Adrian Mi on Sun Oct 01 2017

The cars ride is great, the gas mileage is better than Hyundai said. No problems so far. The trunk is massive. Plenty of room inside for 5 people.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Only one small item covered by warranty in 35000 m

by Daisy1130 on Sun Sep 24 2017

Great family sedan. Roomy any stylish. Good handling but slight harsh ride over concrete roads. Smooth as glass on other roads. Good MPG for size and weight.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Vry nice car

by BMAC1950 from FL on Sat Dec 23 2017

Car is used as basic transportation. Almost perfect, have had nothing go wrong in out 2 years of owning it, we will keep this at least 10 years unless it becomes a problem.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2