Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2001 Elantra

Consumer Reviews

2001 Hyundai Elantra

$179 - $6,523  MSRP Range
2001 Hyundai Elantra

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

21 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.7 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Hyundai Elantra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

2001 yundai Elantra GT Hatchback

by mtntexas from Carrollton, Tx on Fri Nov 12 2010

Terrific little car. After owning 4 BMWs in a row, I bopught a used Elantra from a friend. I had been surprised and impressed with the leather interior and the pep on the highway. It doesn't have the "jump" that the 325i has but it is a solid car, the gas mileage is decent, and it's as quiet inside as my BMW 528. It's a fun little car with a lot on room. I DO wish that the window switches were in the console, though.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

better than expected

by Elantra owner from southeast ohio on Mon Dec 19 2011

I bought this as a throw away car 10 years and 157k miles later it is still reliable. Heater, exhast, starter system, air, belts, hoses, even the waterpump are original. Car looks and drives like a "good" rated used car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Ever Owned/Great in a Crash

by Elantra Owner 4 yrs from Illinois on Wed Jul 22 2009

I've owned 2 2001 Elantras in 4 years, they are cheap to obtain and insainly cheap to upkeep. My first one was baught with minor transmition problems, the cluch was worn from having three teenage girls learn to drive stickshift on it but the car held strong with no other complaints until late 2008 when it took the full bore hit of a full size pickup truck doing 55+ to the corner of the front fender and driver door! I spent 7 hours in the hospital and walked away with only a minor cuncussion, severly bruised carpal (bone in the wrist) from my grip on the steering wheel, and a few cuts from shattered glass. My second car i still own, she is 8 yrs old and only now starting to show her age. 164k miles, used for towing (a trailer, of what i don't know) by the previouse owner, and only know is the car starting to wear out. The fourth cylinder misfires and the front axel has minor damage from wear. The car still accelarates well in spite. Both have been extremely reliable, the engine will only cut out when it is very damp (right after a rain) but will fire right back up with no problems. They drive great in the winter. I went through two winters in these cars with bald tires, even with no abs they handle extremely well. With proper minor maintnence this car will easily run forever. The stickshifts are very easy on gas, i have meased my first car's gas consumption to be about 33 highway on a road trip and they have a lot of pep for a small engine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good car for the money

by honda400ex2 from Rice, Minnesota on Sun Jun 17 2012

I bought this 2001 Elantra used in 2003 with 22,000 miles on it and now have 243,000 miles and counting. 85% of the miles are hwy miles, 96 miles per day to work & home. Over all a good commuting car; not really too exciting as far as acceleration, but enough for your daily drive. Comfort is ok, but much farther than 50-60 miles you will need to take a stretch break. In summer I get 33 to 34 mpg, during our Minnesota winters with warm up time I usually get around 28 to 30 mpg. Not too bad for a car 11 years old. I didn't have to many vists to the repair shop. The couple of non maintance problems was a shift sensor that went out and I replace the tie rods. Otherwise as long as I did the basic maintance items all was ok. Over all a good car for the $4100 I payed for it in 2003.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Elentra GT = Solid City Car!

by NY Suburbs from Bergen County, NJ on Sun Feb 22 2009

Reliability / Value: After 8 years of ownership, I've only needed to replace brake rotors and oil, making this car ridiculously cheap to maintain. Add the combination of solid performance and a leather interior and you've got some real value for the money. Interior: This car seems deceptively small: the hatchback is very useful and it provides more cargo room that you'd think. The leather interior of the GT was a great upgrade both in terms of durability and appearance. The leg room in the back is comparable to a good sedan, such as an Accord. Performance and Handling: Both are decent - it can hold its own with Toyotas, Mazdas and some cars 50% more in price. The hp and torque are better than average, although there's some lag in shifting. You'll feel this the most when passing at about 65. The acceleration around town is fine. Steering and brakes are solid and it does quite well in snow. Comfort: Interior room is spacious but the seats could be more comfortable and there is a good amount of exterior noise on the highway. The GT is "sport tuned" so it's probably a bit harsher than the GLS.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've owned!

by Seattle commuter from Seattle, Washington on Mon Oct 13 2008

For it's exterior styling i give it a 4 for being a point A to Point B sedan for very little money, it has alot of potential for being a real head turner. For the Reliability rating i give it a 5 star because Ive had this Car for 3 years now have put over 40,000 miles on it and besides normal maintanence i've never had to do any major work on it, i actually just found out it has it's origanal tinning belt that it normally neede to be replaces at 50,000 miels this car is bult so well i've almost doubles the life of the engine's main belt, For the performance of this car while not comparing it to other engine sizes, I would rate it a 4, it definately gives a punch if you floor it but there is a slight hesitation in the actual acceleration that some other 4cylinder engines may not have although it does have more horse power than other 4 cylinder engines. For the interior rating i give it 4 stars just because it's a great interior; bright and clean looking it'll take a lot to make it look dirty, however i find the gears; that raise and lower the seat, aren't exactly easy to reach with the door closed, for being taller than 5'10" you'll have a bit of trouble seeing the light turn red to green when in the front of the line at a traffic light. Other wise it's a great interior! Features: I give it a 4 stars because of the potential the elantra has for features for the base model almost power everything but the seats, great headlights etc... Handling i give 5 stars because even though it's 2wheel drive and front wheel drive i've driven this thing over hard packed snow and iced roads go slow and it handles like a dream in the winter also it has the best turning ratious of all the cars i've ever owned. the three point turn is a 2 point turn with this car if not pointless. Comfort I give a 3, just because I'm 6'1" and come a within a few inches of hitting my head on the roof , the seats are good but wouldn't want to make a more than a 500mile road trip with out stopping and stretching at least once or twice. Over all i give it a 5 star because it's a great car that will just keep on going and going with just about anything you throw at it with great gas mileage.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable car choice

by happy driver from on Tue May 30 2017

It has 248,000 miles. No problems! Regular preventative maintenance keeps it going. 3K oil changes, 6K alignments, 30K transmission and radiator service.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable

by Semper79 from Visalia, CA on Wed Jul 26 2017

I've owned this Vehicle for several years and it has become one of the most reliable cars I've ever owned. I've had to do very little maintenance on it. The only thing negative about this car is t he size, it is pretty small when you have 3 full size kids in the back seat.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by prairieboy from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada on Mon Jan 17 2011

We've bought two used 2001 Elantra's now. They are rated the highest in their class in the LemonAid Used Car Guide Book. Hands down, my favorite. Only spent money on basic maintanence (brakes, tires, ball joints, tie-rod ends, etc). Bought the first one with 190,000km on it in 2005, and the second with 170,000km in 2010. A bit of a rust problem when they get 8+ years old (small spot on rear fender and some underneath on the rocker panels). Never burned oil, and the tranny was great. It's a very zippy 2.0L 4 cylinder engine! Great for passing on the hwy. We're going to use it to tow our 8 foot tent trailer camper. It's not great great on fuel, but ok. I get about 25-27 miles per Canadian gallon (4.5L) in the city and 30-35 on the highway.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

reliable, fun and economical

by msg62 from Phoenix,az on Wed Apr 16 2008

A blast to drive and get great MPG! These cars have come a long way since the 80's. With regular maintenance the engine, transmission and a/c have been surprisingly fantastic.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2001 Hyundai Elantra

Hyundai has added a decidedly European GT five-door hatchback sedan to the Elantra line and bolstered it with a long list of standard equipment. The GT is far more practical than the sedan because it swallows cargo like a small station wagon yet drives with zestful pizzazz. An affordably priced combination of fun and function.

This formula is similar to one employed by European manufacturers such as Saab, which would seem to be the inspiration for the Elantra GT because many of its features, including its sloping hatchback profile and the instrument panel, bear more than a passing resemblance to this famous Swede.

The recently introduced GT is a spinoff of the Elantra sedan, which was... Read More