2003 Elantra

Consumer Reviews

2003 Hyundai Elantra

2003 Hyundai Elantra

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

28 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Hyundai Elantra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

UNBELIEVABLE AMOUNT OF CAR FOR THE MONEY!!!

by Bob S from West Islip, NY on Fri Oct 13 2006

Probably the most car you can get for the money spent. By the time your ready to buy another car this one is still under bumper to bumper dealer warranty!! The GT has the added bonus of better performance and enormous cargo capacity with the hatchback (it's like a mini-stationwagon). The GT also has more appeal and resale value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Falcon from Ephrata Washington on Wed Apr 02 2008

i get about 37 miles per gallon at 60-70 mph. it handles great on asphalt and on gravel/dirt. I drive about 85-100 miles a day for work and personally things as well. I am a big guy and the comfort is an issue, i have to put the drivers seat all the way back so my knee dosent touch the dash, but that leaves no room for anybody behind me... The car is perfest for my wife, 2 kids and I...

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable

by Nancy from Ashland, KY on Fri Aug 14 2009

I traded this car and it 98,000 miles on it. I never had any major problems with this car. It was very dependable. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2003 ELANTRA

by freelandfd136 from FREELAND,PA on Tue May 26 2009

Yes, i would recomend , they are great cars ive been driving one for about 3 years now. and its only issue was the clutch went but that was replaced. and it runs great.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A real gas saver

by mark Wa from atlanta ga on Sun Sep 24 2017

I have owned this car since 2003. And it has never let me down i have driven for Georgia to Washington State

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Value

by Ace from Maryland on Tue Dec 11 2012

Excellant car for the money. I have 195,000 mils on the car and it is still runnig great. Very little ever went wrong with the car during the past 10 years. The engine is strong and just keepss running. My only negative is the paint is poor, and fading. I have noticed that on many Hyundais of that age period. Otherwise very good car for the money.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good car

by honey from on Thu Jan 01 2015

Bought my 2003 elantra new. Great car not much problems with it. The paint job peeled a little, but my biggest problem with this car is that the dash board is falling apart. Did anyone else have this problem?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car!

by babs from SLC, UT on Mon Sep 18 2006

For the price... you can't fine a better car! I've had mine for 4 years now and I couldn't be happier with the value! Good deal!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

113,000 miles and still going strong

by Greg from Tucson, Arizona on Tue Aug 01 2006

In 2 years I put over 100,000 miles on this car and I love it. In all those miles it only had one issue and it was with a hose clamp. I highly recommend these cars!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great transportation

by Joe w on Sat Jan 13 2018

Runs great cold air gets good gas mileage great value for the money would recommend this car to anyone that once a great value and needs reliable transportation

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2003 Hyundai Elantra

Wasn't so long ago that Hyundai's survival in the U.S. market was considered a coin toss at best.

Hyundai took the U.S. market by storm in 1986 with a new subcompact car called Excel that sold for about $4,000, less than most used cars sold for at the time.

Within two years, the South Korean automaker rang up sales of 264,282 cars in the U.S.

Then folks started paying attention to quality and not just price. Sales began a steady decline until they reached 90,217 in 1998, and the fat lady began warming up her vocal cords.

But Hyundai has reversed its fortunes. It replaced Excel with the Accent in 1995 and followed that with an expansion of the lineup to include the Sonata, Elantra, Tiburon, XG300... Read More