2006 Elantra

Consumer Reviews

2006 Hyundai Elantra

$1,532 - $7,348  MSRP Range
2006 Hyundai Elantra

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

40 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2006 Hyundai Elantra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 40 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for your money

by Wolf from Melbourne, FL on Sun Oct 24 2010

I've had my Elantra hatch since it was new. It was and still is among some of the best looking Euro style cars out there. And can be made to look even better with a few OEM parts from Korea. I like the driver oriented dash/interior as well along with the spacious hatch and fold flat rear seats. I've had minimal problems with the car. One was loose fabric on the armrest (warrantied) and cracked tailight from poor factory fittment (warrantied). I average ~27mpg presently with mixed driving and have gotten up to 33.5mpg on a 1000mile road trip. I do wish it had a bit more power but it is an economy car after all, and it is certainly better than most of the others in its class. The engine is definitely rock strong esp with proper maintinence. Even ran for 20k miles with a bent piston rod after engine got water logged. And all the computer complained about was a barely noticable misfire! All in all, this is a great car to get ahold of and certainly a fun one to tinker with to make it even better and more personalized.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Awesome! Love it!

by Thomas from Atlanta, GA on Tue Jan 18 2011

Car is excellent for it's cost. One of my best investments. Bought it new. No problems at all. Put more than 80k miles. Just did reg. maintenance. Very comfortable ride. Good pickup. Excellent power for a car this size. Engine and transmission is excellent. Transmission is very smooth. Very spacious inside. Lots of storage space. Plenty leg room. Love the 2nd row seat, it folds down to haul long items. Huge trunk. Gas mileage is very good. very reliable. Love the warranty. At high speed, handles the road very well. Fun to drive. This is an excellent car as long as the owner takes care of it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Decent car for Decent price

by Chris from Warner Robins, GA on Fri Feb 01 2008

I have had the 06 Elantra GT for about a year and a half and I enjoy driving it. The pluses for the car are of course the price. I paid 16k for the GT version with leather trim, sunroof, and traction control. Surprisingly this car handles very well. The Michellin tires that come standard stick well to the ground. The GT also comes with a Kenwood deck directly from the factory. The sound for the car is above par, but if you are a music freak like I am you might want to add a small subwoofer for the back. Speaking of the back, there is more then enough room for me to throw my hockey gear in the rear with ease. The seats are very easy to fold down if you need to extra room in the back. My only complaint about that is the rear seats don't fold flush with the rear storage area making it a little difficult to carry a large item like 2x4s. The gas mileage is amazing. I make a 600 mile trip every few months to visit my parents and the car averages over 35mpg at about 77mph. In the city the car gets about 31mpg. Both of these are higher then what is on the tag. About the only complaint I have about the car is the amount of power. Turn the air on and have a couple people in your car, and the 138hp engine is struggling just to get the car moving. If you drive by yourself with no air on the power is enough to get you up the road, but please be careful when passing cars b/c after 2nd gear there isn't a whole lot of acceleration. Overall, it's a great car for what I needed. I wanted a vehicle that I could use to travel, get good mileage, and something trustworthy. That is exactly what I got. With the way gas prices are these days the Elantra is a good choice.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car with a few flaws

by DC Beltway jockey from Baltimore, Maryland on Sun Jun 24 2007

I bought my Hyundai in 2006 and took it for a long distance trip (Pensacola, Fla to Baltimore, MD) the next day. In addition I live between Washington DC and Baltimore, so I can say I have taken this car on all sorts of trips. Inside is very roomy, even for the tallest of passengers. The sound system is very good and the CD player does not skip, even on the roughest roads. The best part is that it is a very quiet ride. The trunk is very large as well The outside is sleek, with nice lines. The plastic rims can take a beating without falling off. My only complaint here is that the paint is kind of cheap and is flaking off toward the front of the hood, and it scratches rather easy. Performance wise, this car is okay. Depending on how you drive and where you drive, the fuel consumption varies. Fuel is not a problem as long as you go the speed limit, however when it comes to driving realistic speeds it uses more fuel than advertised. Overall I love my Hyundai, but it's fuel use is too much for my taste.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable

by Road lady from Ny on Mon May 20 2013

Bought new in 2006 now 2013 I have 164000 miles basic maintenance oil changes always on time .2 timing belts later for maintenance suggested. I love the car I would buy another one of this year 2006 make and model I love it. New 2013 model looks nice but I don't like how it drives accent even worse..anyone have a low mileage one ill be glad to buy it.leave email address must be in ny pa or nj to pick up.Thanks hope you like it as much as I have never a problem with it yet.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I love my new Elantra!

by Ashleigh from Leesburg Va on Sat Jul 15 2006

I love this car, it's just right. All of the features that I wanted in a car come standard in this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

elantra B/ camry A/ 2nd best new car(i.e.I had 5)

by semi-retired school teacher from Concord, California on Thu Feb 08 2007

I am averaging 26.5 miles per gallon. E.Z. to drive and manuver/ 16-18mpg city/ 30-32mpg hiway. EPA says 27 mpg average last 1500 miles I nhave averaged better than 27 miles per gallon. ABS?TRACTION control is a must that I have therefore the Elantra 2006 is better than most compacts/preferred over Toyota Corolla LE/ to difficult to engage cruise control/Emergency manuver is better than Corolla/ Civic EX is a better car but at least $2500 more.Hyundai is more bang for your buck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hyundai Elantra

by no from Newport News Va. on Thu May 25 2006

Bought this car great handleing.Going to hook up my car with new interior item. Great exterior lights and great items in the interior. A car worth your money and great fuel economy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 3rd Hyundai and i'm lovin it!

by Domestic hater from Winnipeg, MB on Sun Jul 15 2007

Exterrior has very clean, sleek, thoughtout lines. A nice chrome treatment on the grille with really cool projector-type headlamps. Standard heated power mirrors really help in the winter. The fairly high rear deck has really nice chunky tail lights with 'donut' brake lights and red racing stripes over the backup and turn lights. The overall shape and flow is subtle but nice. The trunk is MASSIVE (largest in class) with plenty of room for my families 3 golf bags and then some. The trunk is fully lined and illumnated. just some of thise extras you start to notice in hyundai cars. There us a remote release for the gas so it cant be stolen along with a trunk release. I have the VE model which is mid-range. It has really soft deluxe seat materials and door insert, some of the best i've seen. There are 2 headrest in the back, a dome light, DC power outlet, door bottle holders with pokets, seat-back pockets, tinted power windows and locks and really cool cupholders that popout from the seat bottom at the touch of a button. Assist grips above all doors make it easy to get in and there is plenty of leg room even with the front seats back. for even more cargo room the seats fold 60/40 with a genourous openinng to the trunk. The front design is decent with nomerous storage cubbies and holes (sunglass holder w/ map lights too). It is very driver orinted with HVAC and radio controls in smae material as driver area and slightly angled. Rubber grip cupholders, in-dash clock, armrest with storange bin, ash tray, lighter/power outlet and an illuminated ring around the keyhole all add to the value. An 8-way adjustable drivers seat plus lumbar support and tilt steering wheel make it easy to get comfy. The instrument cluster is simple yet elegant with rounded gauges and warning lights INVISIBLE til they turn on. It also has a handy trip computer and gear display. It has a decent stereo with great EQ effects and the heating and a/c is quiet but very powerful and fast. The cabin noise is minimal but the engine has a really nice sound, very sporty. The power is more than adequate with a 2.0L I-4 engine with around 132 hp. The car feels planted and solid and with the best warranty in the business and great, low prices... why shouldnt it?

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car !

by happy hyundia motorist from hartford, ct on Thu Sep 28 2006

i've had my elantra for 7 months and am very pleased. it has all the features i wanted included in the base price. a lot of car for the money! and, i'm getting better than predicted gas mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4