2007 Elantra

Consumer Reviews

2007 Hyundai Elantra

$1,899 - $7,631  MSRP Range
2007 Hyundai Elantra

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

54 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2007 Hyundai Elantra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 54 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great car for initial buy in

by 5th Hyundai from Beaverton, OR on Mon Jan 08 2007

The car is relatively inexpensive as a new car purchase but to keep that 100,000 mile/10 year warranty, you have to keep the car maintained by the book and it's not cheap. Check out the cost of maintenance at your local Hyundai dealer. 30K service is $400 and 60K service with timing belt and water pump is $800. That's a lot of money to shell out when a Nissan Sentra costs about $800 for the 30K, 60K, 90k, and 120K services combined! Don't let the long warranty fool you ... do the math and check the cost of keeping that warranty valid. Also, keep in mind that the warranty only covers replacement after the first 12,000 miles/1 year. If it ain't broke, they won't repair it once the above milestone is past ... it has to be something they can remove and replace. Hyundais are feature packed cars but they DON'T achieve the stated MPG ratings under any circumstances so they are not as fuel efficient as many of their competitors. The gains in the current model's EPA figures are only because they switched from hydraulic power steering to numb electric motor driven power steering, not because there were any internal improvements to the engine. Look closely at the details on this car ... it may look good at a distance but get real close and read the fine print ... it's not that great bargain it seems to be!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hyundai is 'Up and Coming'

by JDog from Montgomery, AL on Fri Mar 20 2009

I just bought the Elantra GLS 07 used with 21k miles. It has XM and a sunroof. So far the car is perfect! I personally feel like Hyundai is a Honda/Toyota-brand in the making. In other words, I think these vehicles will end up being quite dependable, yet we're getting in on market-entry pricing because their value hasn't quite caught on. It's a incredible buy! The driver's seat is VERY comfortable, with lots of lumbar support (important to me). The ride is also surprisingly smooth for a small sedan and quiet too. I also like how tight the steering is. All 07 Elantra's and above come equipped with an audio input jack, so I get to listen to my ipod over the speakers AND flip back to my XM radio anytime. This car is a fun drive for me, and I'm confident I'll get my money's worth. I highly recommend the Elantra!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Exceeded my expectaions

by Kalanis from Fairfax, Virginia on Fri Jul 22 2011

My girlfriend's father gave her this car after owning it for just over two years. In that time he put nearly 90,000 miles on it driving between Washington D.C, New York and Louisville Kentucky. Never had a single issue or problem. Did national chain non-dealership oil changes every 4000 miles (with the synthetic oil), and the full 45,000 mile service. We have put another 10,000 miles with no issues whatsoever. We changed tires and all belts and have been advised to do the timing belt by the 100,000 mile mark. Overall I did not expect much from this car, but was immediately impressed by its nice comfy well laid out interior, decent power for being 138hp, and reliability. Definitely worth the price. My girlfriends dad got a new Hyundai Blue by the way and loves it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Vastly underated auotomobile

by English ex-pat from Kansas City, MO on Fri Mar 07 2008

We needed to replace my wife's 3.4 V6 Alero and looked at Corollas, Civics, Sentras and Scion. We went for the Elantra SE as for the money, nothing comes close. Aslo, it appears its residuals are improving all the time. The room inside is amazing, it is a great cruiser, although noisy on hard accleration. I strongly advise going for the SE over the GLS with prefered package. In our case for an extra grand, you get Stability Control, with Traction and Brake Assist, along with other features. Consumer reports have named Stability Control as the most important safety feature since seat belts. It also has 4 wheel disc brakes. The ergonomics are superb, headrests move back and forth as well as up and down and are active in a crash, along with 6 air bags. I like the overide facility of the auto box for engine braking in bad weather too. The finsh and fit is excellent. The Elantra has been rated as a compact car due to its space inside. We were going to use this as a town car, but feel it is that good, we can use it on long trips too. Go and test one and discover this well kept secret, but do go for the SE, it could save your life with stability control. Consumer Reports have named the Elantra as its 2008 small car of the year, beating the Civic.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Simply, the best car!

by familyguy from San Jose, CR on Sat Sep 08 2012

It simply is a great car. My car is a Elantra GLS LE 2.0 automatic, it has a very nice appeareance, a digital climate control unit, power windows and mirrors (with extra button for electring swing and an option for auto demist), sunroof, electric power steering (EPS), leather seats, 10 airbags, ABS, electronic stability control (ESC), multifunctional steering wheel (radio button controls, handsfree buttons for mobile phone and leather cover), 16 inches alloy rims, reversing sensor, disk brakes in all wheels, radio with MP3 CD player, 6 disk charger and XM, keyless entry, chrome handles in doors, auxiliar line and handsfree line with microphone in the roof, map lights, glass compartment, very very very roomy interior, very very very roomy trunk, blue lights in panel, trip computer, low price cost, great suspension, sport pedals etc etc etc... And most important, every detail is made with a great quality. I really love this car, I recommend it cause in all years I have own it (since 2007), it hasn't caused any trouble! Obviously, I give a good manteinance to it, in the kilometers it specify in the manual.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very good basic car

by redwoodrose from Olathe on Fri Jul 07 2017

I got this car in high school, used, and it has been a wonderful little companion for me through my college years too. It has been through all types of weather and has done well for the most part. The only parts that I don't absolutely love are that it is pretty light weight, so it does skid more easily on ice, and that it's power is a little low, so when you have to "gun it" on those rare occasions, it takes a bit for it to get going.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

a fun car to own and drive

by typical driver from florida sun coast on Fri May 17 2013

Unique exterior design, easily accessed controls, fold down seats are an added feature that can carry 8' long boards with the trunk lid closed. My last small pick up would hold 8' boards with the tailgate down.Economical, with good gas milage.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Hyundai Elantra 2007

by mack2fly from Central NL, Canada on Fri Nov 07 2008

Car is pretty good however tires make a lot of noise. The radio is not worth anything. We are on a fringe area and the local station that I listen to is all static. Ok if you use satelite radio in open areas. We have narrow roads and high hills which cuts out satelite radio. Want the old antenna system back!!!!!!!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car for your money!!!

by Jeremy from Louisville OH on Sun Aug 05 2007

I own a 2000 hyundai elantra and was satisfied as an 19 year old with a new car, but when i went looking for a brand new car i never imagined i would be buying an another elantra, not because its not a good car because i had 152,000 miles on my 2000 with only general maintenance on it. What really sold me on the new elantras was the build quality is far superior to the 2000 and the price was still right i was able to get all the features at a reasonable price sunroof, mp3 player, electric windows, mirrors, locks, 4 wheel disc brakes the list goes on and on and the engine is pretty much the same as my old elantra which i know is very reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hyundai have exceeded my expectations.

by Usedtobescepticabouthyundai. from on Mon Jan 02 2012

This is the best midsize sedan in its class. Has more features than competitors for the bang. Drives flawlessly. Quick acceleration.Brakes are excellent.Safety features excellent.Very nice infinity sound system. also has room for your MP3,Good on gas. Nice interior and exterior designs. Very spacy interior and comfortable ride.Durability so far already tested.Seen a lot of 1999/2000 Elantras on the road and kicking strong, the re-designed 2007 Elantra should be no different.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2007 Hyundai Elantra

By the numbers, the Honda Civic and Toyota Corolla are the most popular compact cars on the market. Beyond those two are more than a dozen alternatives, each vying for attention with its own mix of talents.

Among them is the Hyundai Elantra, a car whose chief distinctions once included its low price and long warranty. Times have changed — the redesigned 2007 Elantra is still a bargain, but now that it comes stocked with all the latest safety and convenience features, it no longer feels like a bargain-basement choice. On many levels, it's downright desirable. If you're considering a Civic or its peers, give the Elantra a good, hard look.

The Elantra comes in GLS, SE and Limited trim levels. A... Read More