Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2011 Equus

Consumer Reviews

2011 Hyundai Equus

$8,712 - $20,704  MSRP Range
2011 Hyundai Equus

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

24 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 Hyundai Equus?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A Winner!

by Lurch from Mt. Juliet, Tennessee on Thu Jun 09 2011

Dollar for dollar, the Equus is the best investment in a luxury ride on the market. I have owned Lexus and Mercedes vehicles and my Equus is equal to, or better than, both!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best value ever

by automobile authority from aventura,florida on Thu Jun 09 2011

The 2012 hyundai equus ultimate has no options and needs none. Its styling is the only point on which it yiekds to the audi a-8, the bmw750il and the mercedes benz 600. But it shouts newness and vaue, and with the newer engine -- just out this month-- it goes to the top of the ckass,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bang for the Buck

by Roger from Phoenix on Wed Sep 19 2012

As a long time Lexus owner of the LS models, I switched to the Equus in Dec. on 2010. The package is extensive and the massage chair is wonderful. Few suggestions would be to put more features in the passenger side seat, ie. lumbar support and ability to totaly recline on long trips. Lots of looks and questions as to What IS THis? Don't see many on the road which is nice as well. Overall, great value compaired to the market.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Equus

by Mickey from New Orleans, LA on Mon Apr 02 2012

This car exceeds expectations in Performance, Comfort, and Value. One thing to add is that the car comes complete; there are no options to confuse the buyer into wondering whether he/she should have gotten the gold plated rims or not.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WOW

by BOSS!!! from dallas,tx on Sat Dec 01 2012

i just bought this vehicle 2dys ago after months of research an test drives this is by far a winner...unlimited compliments since i have driven it home it has all the bells an whistles with out the price of the other models in this class. please dont be fooled by the name hyundai this vehicle is awesome why spend 20-25k for a name? welp im finna go cruising!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Need New Words for Luxury

by Equus Lover from Panama City on Sat Sep 01 2012

First Luxury Car Purchase. No Regrets. Hard to Put into words how impressive this Automobile is in Every way. Most Quiet, Smooth Driving, Comfortable Car I've Ever Ridden in. People go out of their way to get a peek, or ask "What Kind of Car is that?" Can't Go Wrong Buying an Equus!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Automobile

by dms from Fayetteville, NC on Tue Aug 06 2013

I must say, this is a wonderful automobile. Hyundai has really surprised me with this one! We do not know much about Hyundai and their ability to produce world-class first rate automobiles, but they are coming out of the shadows. In Korea it's common that they produce such vehicles, but to the world-at-large, perception tends to be the determining factor. Well, that is being put to bed. Having said that, I must say that I am a Mercedes enthusiast. But I must be fair and remain cognizant that this is not a Mercedes Benz, and I must judge the vehicle on its own merit. That being said, Hyundai missed it when they put Continental tires on this vehicle. They are very noisy. If the vehicle is silent, then let it be silent. Otherwise, perception is the only enemy with this vehicle thus far. There's nothing left to want with this vehicle. Mercedes, BMW, Lexus, move over! There's a new neighbor that commands respect.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exceeded expectations

by Performance & Style from Boston, MA. on Tue Nov 15 2011

The EQUUS is a solid car feel and yet has the power to get you moving. Styling is eye catching. In fact, this is the first car that zi have owned where strangers have approached me to inquire about the car !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Car!

by Radio Host from Los Angeles, CA on Wed Aug 17 2011

I recently drove one of these for a week and was amazed by the car. I drove a Signature model and was still blown away by the features it had as standard options. Driving down the freeway people would give me thumbs up signs just to say 'nice ride'!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Value

by Ed from Central Florida on Wed Sep 28 2011

The Equus is one fantastic automobile. I have owned MB and Lexus vehicles over the past twenty years and the Equus is their equal and for far less money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2011 Hyundai Equus


I have learned my lesson with Hyundai. Don't doubt them.

When the Korean automaker announced a few years ago it would build a $40,000 premium luxury rear-wheel drive car, I scoffed at the idea. No one is going to pay that much for a Hyundai.

But then, the Genesis arrived and it blew critics, like me, away.

This year, Hyundai said it was going to redefine its midsize entry, the Sonata. That car continues to blow consumers away.

There's a reason so many people can now pronounce the carmaker's name correctly: Hyundai, rhymes with Sunday. This carmaker knows how to leave an impression.

The 2011 Equus, a high-end executive sedan, is everything it was billed to be: luxurious, stylish and downright beautiful &mdash... Read More