2012 Equus

Consumer Reviews

2012 Hyundai Equus

$11,397 - $22,033  MSRP Range
2012 Hyundai Equus

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

10 Reviews
80% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2012 Hyundai Equus?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Equus is a wonderful car,

by dbbh from Kerrville, Texas on Fri Sep 21 2012

My Equus far exceeds my expectations. I really appreciate the drivability of it. It does use quite a bit of gas but the power is amazing. I like all the appreciative looks it gets as I drive down the road.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Worth the money

by Randy from Washington, D.C. on Tue Aug 06 2013

I just purchased a 2011 model and I must say, it is everything that I expected it to be. I've owned MB, Volvo's and other nice luxury cars. This by far exceeds them all at a price that will not exceed your budget.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Car - Best of best

by Alberto from Dallas, Texas on Sat May 20 2017

Car is years ahead of all its competitors - all the bells and whistles and plus it is gorgeous. Luxury at its best!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice car

by Chance Strain from Alvin Texas on Fri Dec 08 2017

The car handles well and has many options All the seats are heated with the front two also cooled. The stereo system is good

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car ever!!!

by MikMik from Friendsville, TN on Mon Feb 05 2018

I live in my car and this meets and exceeds all my needs. A joy to drive. I would recomment this car to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car- supreme value

by J Fred from Dallas, TX on Wed Dec 07 2011

I bought the 2012 model on October 26th, and I have yet to make a road trip, but I have many miles on local freeways. The car has outstanding power and a seamless 8 speed transmission. I bought it coming from a VW Phaeton (think 60% same as Bentley) with the W12. The Phaeton may well be the finest car under 100K EVER in the USA. The Equus is darn close. The air suspension was the main reason I looked at the Equus, and it works fine, but with only 2 'levels' of setting compared to 3 in the Phaeton. Otherwise, the Equus has a beautiful interior. (They even covered the sunshades in Ultra Suede). Everything is first class. Frankly, I can't believe anyone would want to spend 20 to 30K to 'move' up to Lexus, BMW, MB, etc. All of the competition, except for Lexus, has indiferent quality, according to CU. I didn't want a car that spends a good part of it's life at the shop.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

30 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best for the buck

by car nut from Dix Hills, New York on Sun Jun 02 2013

One of the nicest & best riding cars I have ever owned. We love the messaging seats, the refrigerator, & the DVD in the in the back. The sound system is also very nice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cool Car

by aliphp from Baghdad on Tue Mar 18 2014

Equus (centennial) is the best car ever, it's very beautiful and cool, i've Genesis sedan but when I saw this car i hate my genesis.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

DEALER SUPPORT IS AWFUL

by carguy from Charlotte, NC on Mon Nov 05 2012

I have had contact with 3 dealers since I bought my Equus and they have all failed. Equus Customer service failed also as they promised me 2 coupons, when I called to find out where they were, I was told they ran out and would send me a notebook. I seriously regret selling my Lexus for this car. The car is good...the service is AWFUL. I am going to lose money, but I am selling this car and going back to the car company that knows how to treat customers

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by DJ Toom on Sat Jul 22 2017

I think this is an Excellent vehicle for anyone to own. I'm in the process of looking for one with low enough miles for my nephew to buy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 2012 Hyundai Equus

The Equus is a strange animal in that it sounds great on paper, performs well on real-world roads, yet still doesn't live up to its promise.

Have you ever wanted to pilot a luxury limousine designed for intercontinental tastes and sporting 429 horsepower under the hood, plus every luxury feature you could ask for, at a price tag of under $60,000? Perhaps it comes as a surprise that there is such a thing ... and it's made by Korean automaker Hyundai.

I recently reviewed the 2012 model, though a 2013 is heading to dealers now. There are no significant changes between the two models. You can compare them here.

Imported From Seoul

There are two things holding the Equus back from being a success (it sold... Read More