2019 Kona

Consumer Reviews

2019 Hyundai Kona

$12,927 - $31,126  MSRP Range
2019 Hyundai Kona

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

139 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Hyundai Kona?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 139 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

North America Compact SUV of the year for a reas

by TommyG1814 from Crest Hill, IL on Wed Feb 27 2019

Kona limited 1.6 turbo just simply put, this vehicle is awesome. It's very responsive with more than enough power, it's light on its feet and easy to manoeuvre. Comfortable seats and smooth ride ,hyundai has done a great job with the dual-clutch transmission. I'm 6ft3 in and lots of leg room in the front and yes cargo space is smaller but you know that from the begining. Well done Hyundai this is a top seller for you. Highly recommend it in any trim.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

51 out of 51 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great so far

by KonaDriver from Athens, Ohio on Sat Dec 01 2018

Got for winter terrors driving. Easy to use tech, nice layout, easy to drive. Back storage is a bit small. Fuel efficient and great safety features

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

In love

by Ashleyhogan94 from Massapequa, New York on Tue Mar 19 2019

I’ve had my Kona for just over a month now. I average about 28 mpg and it’s super comfortable. My only complaint is that it takes a bit to speed up but using sport mode remedies that problem really fast. I love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

by Carrie Bee from Lancaster, CA on Tue Dec 24 2019

I did a lot of research after my 2018 jeep renegade was totaled. I wanted something just as safe, and with better gas milage. I came up on a Kona. I had never even heard of one before. The more I researched and read the reviews the more I knew it was what I was looking for. Flash forward a month, and we have bought a 2019 Kona. I couldn't be happier. It drives great. There's plenty of room up front. I was able to fit a smallish medium size desk in through the back with seats folded down. Great gas milage. Super happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It has everything

by Gracie's friends from La Quinta, CA on Wed Dec 12 2018

The Hyundai Kona Ultimate has everything that you would find in a car that cost 10 to 15K more. It is sporty, and fun to drive

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable, fun vehicle

by Hyundai Gal from Tulsa on Mon Apr 08 2019

Kona Limited gives me the safety features I want plus the fun, smooth turbo engine and sunroof. The dual clutch transmission changes comfortably, smoothly and fast to higher speeds, just as if it were a manual. I won't go back to sedans - the Kona crossover is so much easier to get in and out of, especially for my elderly parents.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Kona is perfect car for comfort and safety.

by Older lady with great taste! from FAIRFIELD, Ohio on Tue Apr 09 2019

A smaller car that is exceptional on comfort. I have health issues and this car is easy access and super comfortable. As an older driver I love the safety features.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I am so happy with my Kona it drives wonderful

by sjbailey from Brownsville, Texas on Wed Dec 19 2018

This car drives wonderful I am in love with it. The comfort is great and it is the perfect size for my needs. I love the style and and how I fit so great in it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

by RonJohn from Southport NC on Sun Mar 17 2019

Traded in a 2006 Chrysler/Mercedes Crossfire convertible. Getting hard to get in and out of. The Kona (Ultimate) is so fun to drive. Getting over 30 mpg. Plenty of power. We own a larger SUV so this is a fun errands on the weekends driver and pretty quick with the turbo.. Great choice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best hug the road car I have ever owned

by Nowaforeignbuyer from Stanhope, NJ on Sat Apr 13 2019

I have always owned Ford, Dodge, GMC new. This is the absolute best new car in comfort, design, and features. It just hugs the road unbelievably yet you still feel like you aren't sitting on the road. I am used to driving larger SUVs...Expedition, Acadia, mom van etc. This is quick and speedy even at the base model like I have. Highly recommend. I love my Kona!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 14

Our Take on the 2019 Hyundai Kona

The verdict:

The all-new 2018 Hyundai Kona is distinctively styled and feels light and agile, but it’s more a hatchback than a small SUV.

 

Versus the competition:

The Kona’s lower stance mimics the Toyota C-HR’s, and its nimble driving manners are reminiscent of a Fiat 500X. Meanwhile, the Chevrolet Trax has slightly better ride comfort, while the Honda HR-V is more versatile.

 

The subcompact SUV class has stretched the definition of sport utility vehicle more than most. Some entrants, like the C-HR, offer a carlike ride height and skip all-wheel drive (it’s front-drive only). The Kona at least offers all-wheel drive, making it easier to think of it as an SUV, but its low ride height and overall shape call to mind a more traditional small hatchback.

Our test car was a front-wheel-drive Kona SEL with a $22,405 as-tested price ($980 destination charge included). See how the Kona’s specs compare with the Trax, HR-V and C-HR.

How It Drives

The Kona’s driving experience impresses in many ways. It’s easy to maneuver in the city and secure at highway speeds... Read More