NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 Kona

Consumer Reviews

2019 Hyundai Kona

$19,990 - $31,950  MSRP Range
2019 Hyundai Kona

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

120 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Hyundai Kona?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 120 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great bang for your buck......

by wink1 from Connecticut on Thu Jan 10 2019

I have been researching a small SUV for months, and my findings kept coming back to the Kona. Both my wife and I purchased one each, and we are so glad we did. We are averaging 30 MPG, it is one of the most comfortable SUV's we have ever owned, (and we have owned several) and it is a beast in the bad weather we have in New England. All this for under $22,000 was the perfect fit.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

118 out of 118 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fresh and reliable

by Tgolden4 from Boca Raton, FL on Thu Jan 17 2019

This car met all of my needs! I chose It for the suv style at a reasonable price, but mostly because i got all my safety features. Blind spot warning, lane departure warning, collision warning and more! Plus it came with blue link and Bluetooth features which is great for technology integration. I really love driving it, and I feel like I am sitting up higher without the large vehicle feeling of driving an SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

65 out of 65 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I feel very safe and no regrets

by Betty from Hyde Park on Sun Oct 28 2018

I was looking for a SUV but not wanting a big vehicle; the Kona is perfect for my needs. Lots of safety features and easy to maneuver.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the kona

by John D from Bryan ohio on Sat Nov 10 2018

Good on gas , all wheel drive, love all the safety features, collision emergency, blind spot detection, lane correction, rides nice. Plenty of room for a small crossover. Love the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

North America Compact SUV of the year for a reas

by TommyG1814 from Crest Hill, IL on Wed Feb 27 2019

Kona limited 1.6 turbo just simply put, this vehicle is awesome. It's very responsive with more than enough power, it's light on its feet and easy to manoeuvre. Comfortable seats and smooth ride ,hyundai has done a great job with the dual-clutch transmission. I'm 6ft3 in and lots of leg room in the front and yes cargo space is smaller but you know that from the begining. Well done Hyundai this is a top seller for you. Highly recommend it in any trim.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wanted a luxury car; almost feel like I got one

by banjopicker from Dallas, TX on Sat Dec 22 2018

The turbocharged Limited is a beautiful thing. Quick, comfortable, and loaded. I was considering buying a luxury car, but the price, the look, the features, and the reviews of this little SUV made me reconsider. I'm glad I did-- I absolutely love this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This car ticks most of the boxes on my list

by SnoopsterMD from Silver Spring, MD on Tue Mar 19 2019

I was contemplating over getting this car or the Honda HRV. Eventually I settled on the Kona Limited trim with the more powerful engine. The drive is smoother than HRV. Overall, I like how the car looks on the outside and inside. The speaker system is pretty awesome. Plenty of legroom in the backseat. The only downside is the trunk space is smaller than HRV.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A fully equipped perfect size SUV.

by Lama from White Plains on Fri Apr 26 2019

My Ultimate version is loaded. From full safety package to the turbo engine it is a great drive. included Option list is huge. Infotainment system is top notch. 8 inch screen is high def. You must take it for a test drive!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First SUV I have owned

by Jessie from MENTOR ON THE LAKE on Wed Jan 23 2019

The Kona is absolutely wonderful. I have a smaller garage and it fits in nicely. We use it to go on weekend ski trips, and with the back seats down, all of our skis and luggage fit easily. I especially like the safety features as well as being up higher than with my previous cars and having better visibility. On the test drive we were able to 'try out' the AWD since we had just gotten hit with about a foot of snow and the salesperson had us go to a parking lot that hadn't been completely cleared and it handled perfectly!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great so far

by KonaDriver from Athens, Ohio on Sat Dec 01 2018

Got for winter terrors driving. Easy to use tech, nice layout, easy to drive. Back storage is a bit small. Fuel efficient and great safety features

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 12