2019 Kona EV

Consumer Reviews

2019 Hyundai Kona EV

$28,450 - $38,670  MSRP Range
2019 Hyundai Kona EV

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

12 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Hyundai Kona EV?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Hyundai EV

by wyodreng from Redlands, CA on Mon Nov 18 2019

My first EV and it is much more than I expected. The quality & build is excellent. The power is instantaneous and has a range of over 300 miles on a full charge. It is the perfect commute and around town vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned or even driven

by Mattsburgh from Pittsburgh, PA on Sat Jun 27 2020

I love this car and routinely get around 300 miles of range in local and city driving, about 225 on the highway. Have had zero issues in a year and a half since purchase and has needed no maintenance other than tire rotation. Electric is the way to go!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Drives well -,good power

by Ikp from Sharon, ma on Tue Sep 24 2019

Love it - only minor complaint is that there is no dual climate control. Otherwise lots of nice features and conveniences. Excellent pickup and power.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Practical, fun to drive

by CPF5 from ALLENDALE on Wed Jan 06 2021

The only cons are that the low resistance tires don't grip too well on wet roads, the back seat is tight, and the heater fan puts a significant drain on mileage. Everything else I love about the car. Since the back seat is mostly used by the dog and I use the heated seats rather than the fan, the cons are not a big deal. If you drive a lot, I recommend a 40 amp charger so you can charge overnight with no problem: 6 to 8 hours.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hyundai KONA EV 250 miles per Charge

by Ready Killowatt EV Driver from Columbus, Ohio on Thu Nov 05 2020

My HYUNDAI KONA EV is FABULOUS ! It gets 250 Miles with a Full Charge ! I can drive around Columbus all Week with an initial FULL Charge. I regularly Drive to Cincinnati then to Dayton and Back To Columbus without having to Charge ! The KONA EV is a medium sized SUV Style with a Back Hatch Door and Fold- Down Rear Seats ! It will haul a lot of Cargo

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Such a fun little SUV!

by Becky D. from Noblesville, Indiana on Fri Apr 10 2020

I am in love with my Kona! It has all the small vehicle feel with the SUV capability. The only thing I wish it had is a push button open for the cargo area. But there is nothing else I would change! This is excellent value for such a fun vehicle!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

electric cars are the future, this is my first

by peterb from oakland on Tue Feb 16 2021

I want to reduce my carbon impact, use less petrochemicals. this is my first electric. after a few days, I would say that this is positive. the 110 charging does take longer than I imagined it would.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Coolest Car I've Ever Owned

by PatriotsFan from Rhode Island on Wed Aug 21 2019

Kona EV has exceeded all my expectations with comfort, range, and technology. While it's EPA mileage is 258, I've been getting 300+ per charge (though that will go down in winter). Only complaint is lack of trunk room when back seats are up, but that's a small complaint compared to all the positives.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Impressive range and great power

by BlueKonaEV from Lakeland, FL on Sun Feb 16 2020

Bought my Kona Electric 6/28/2019 in Maryland and drove it down to Central Florida where I live. 7.5 months and 21500 miles later I'm still as impressed with the car and it's range as I was on the first day. I'm getting over 300 miles on a charge except for higher speed road trips.. I still get about 250 mile range at 70 mph.. Around town, range is closer to 330 miles. Power is impressive. All wheel drive would be great as it is hard to put all that torque on the road. After 21500 miles, I have not noticed any battery degradation.. I'm currently getting about 260 mile range at 80% charge.. I can say with certainty that I will never go back to an ICE daily driver..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun,sporty commuter car

by Hali in Cali from Belmont Ca. on Mon Apr 20 2020

Does exactly what i need for 50 miles daily commute. Free charging at work, great torque for freeway merging.great mileage. Low center of gravity makes this little hatchback handle pretty well IMHO. Rear seating is a bit cramped for those with a family which is not me. She will run effortlessly at 90 mph. Zero vibration and a sweet mild jet engine sound. My main attraction was lack of maintenance. Tire rotation at 6k. Gear box oil chang at somewhere in the 40 or 50k area ,about it.thats nice.no belts, emissions equipment, oil,filters etc. The initia high purchase price will be offset with low maintenance costs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2