2017 Santa Fe

Consumer Reviews

2017 Hyundai Santa Fe

$14,150 - $29,874  MSRP Range
2017 Hyundai Santa Fe

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

152 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 152 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love the warranty

by Two Santa Fe Owner from Delaware on Mon Aug 29 2016

I recently purchased another Santa Fe because I was so happy with my first one of "09. I had no mechanical problems other than normal wear and tear over the 6 years I drove my first Santa Fe. It was a reliable car for long trips with plenty of cargo space. It was roomy enough for 3 adults in the back seat. I believe that Hyundai would not offer such a good warranty if the car was not meant to hold up.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

62 out of 62 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Hyundai - I LOVE IT!

by LennyC from Danbury, CT on Mon Mar 13 2017

This is the 3rd Hyundai I have owned. I just donated a 2004 Hyundai Santa fe and traded in a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. Both were great cars, largely trouble free and reliable. This new 2017 Santa Fe, if incredibly comfortable, drives like a dream and gas mileage is 25 miles per gallon on average! With the warranty and all of the features for the money (not cheap by any means) I will be loving this car for many years to come.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the Santa Fe

by RachaelF from Mount Dora, FL on Mon Mar 13 2017

Our 2nd Santa Fe. We love this car for comfort, reliability, interior design, functionality and space. The new 2017 model handles even better than our previous model. Love the new design.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent for families that don't want a mini van!

by Veronica1231 from Canton, ga on Wed May 24 2017

I have the Santa Fe limited, it has captain seats in the back as well as an optional 3rd row. I am in love with all the room and features the car has. Also the captain chairs sold it! Adults can sit in the back comfortably and kids can sit far enough away from each to not fight! I highly recommend this vehicle, especially if you need a family car but don't really want a mini van.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best car I've bought in a long time!

by KatLC from Marseilles, IL on Thu Nov 09 2017

I did a lot of research and tests drives on several different SUVs before buying! I needed something roomier plus I wanted to be able to put a baby car seat (for my granddaughter) in the back without having to move the front passenger seat all the way forward. I checked the dimensions on several different vehicles and the Santa Fe had the most room for the type of SUV I wanted. It is AWD which will be safer on the road this winter! Also, I'm getting better mpg then I expected! I never paid a penny over what I was willing to pay!! I'm so happy with my Hyundai Santa Fe!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car wonderful safety features

by Anthony Stroud from Ohio on Sun Jul 22 2018

This car I really enjoy and with all the safety features I feel protected. I had a 2016 that got totaled and the safety features did their job.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Steve G.

by Steve G. from Glenview, Il on Thu Mar 23 2017

Only had the vehicle 1 week, but so far very pleased with it. Very easy to drive and has a lot of safety features which my prior vehicle did not have.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Santa Fe - rides like a dream car!

by Bozetta from SoCal on Thu Jul 13 2017

Love this vehicle - one of the most comfortable set of back seats I've ever rode in, plenty of leg room. Love the dashboard set-up, sharp-looking from front & back. 6-cylinder engine has plenty of boost, nice shift action, smooth ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love my new Santa Fe!

by MSmith from Kansas on Mon Jun 12 2017

I wanted an SUV for my daily commute and the Santa Fe fit the bill. There is great visibility all around and all the safety features are a bonus! It looks good and gets great mileage too.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent SUV

by JoanWoodstock from Woodstock VA on Sun May 07 2017

It's the perfect vehicle for a Family..!! Has everything that you need to keep your family safe & comfortable at the same time. My wife love it, my kids love it & I love it also.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 16

Our Take on the 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe

The verdict:


Comfort, features for its price and car-like driving manners make the lightly refreshed 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe a solid family-hauler that’s easy to live with.

Versus the competition:


Safety and tech upgrades, value and a generous warranty keep the 2017 Santa Fe in the game, but it’s facing tougher competition these days in the crowded, fast-changing field of three-row family SUVs.

Hyundai’s Santa Fe three-row SUV, mildly redesigned for 2017, boasts safety upgrades that compare to those of newer competitors, but it no longer has the same edge on the field as when it rolled out at the 2012 Los Angeles Auto Show or later won Cars.com’s 2014 Three-Row SUV Challenge.

Compare the 2016 and 2017 Santa Fe here. Note that the Hyundai Santa Fe Sport is a separate, smaller model that seats five. Compare the two models here and see the Santa Fe Sport review here.

Thanks to upgrades for 2017, the Santa Fe competes evenly with the Honda Pilot and Toyota Highlander in terms of appeal to safety-conscious families. Compare the 2017 with these rivals here.

Four trims are offered: SE... Read More