2000 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2000 Hyundai Sonata

2000 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

3.5 out of 5 stars

3.5

11 Reviews
Score Breakdown
3.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
3.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2000 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

one of the best cars ive had!

by the car dude from peabody on Sun Apr 11 2010

I got my 2000 hyundai sonata gls in 2005. i had the car for three years got it with 120,000 miles. when i was done it had 230,000 miles never had a problem. the car has alot of power to. compared to the 2004 impala i had this car was amazing.the gas milege was great. the only down side is the radio is week. but in my opinon i give this car 9 out of 10.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable car, I only drive Hyundai now!

by Car lover from Boston, MA on Sun Apr 15 2007

Love this car, the Hyundai line of cars is a true leader. When I first drove the car I could tell that the power and smooth ride were above average. I have had Honda and Toyota, which are both great cars as well, but the cost value is far greater in this car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car Ive Owned

by calicomist from Weston, WV on Sun Mar 19 2017

I bought this car used in 2008 and this is the most reliable car I've owned. No mechanical trouble, except machines going out for the automatic windows, and the brakes maintenance now and then. The car was dependable performance in all weather. Mine has a sunroof, which I love to cruis and listen to music with the sunroof open. Very god gas mileage. I rarely have to refill motor oil, which is a shocker. Excellent value!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable and economical car

by Walterk from Mamaroneck, NY on Thu Dec 25 2008

I bought my Sonata GLS in 2002 - 2 years old and 25,000 miles. It now has 63,000 miles and is going on 9 years old. Day in and day out, it starts and runs fine. I have done my part in maintaining and repairing when necessary - not very often has it needed repairs - usual stuff - brakes, wheel bearing, tune-up, etc. The Sonata has rewarded us with reliability, solid quiet ride and good fuel economy. I would buy another Hyundai.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Value!!

by Sam from CT on Sat Aug 16 2008

I purchased the car 7 years ago at 10k and it's now around 100K, the car has great performance, excellent gas millage and very comfortable. The Hyundai dealers are excellent and do many things for free under Goodwill warranty including the subframe issue mentioned below in one of the reviews, they also gave me a loaner car for free even that my original warranty expired.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car, Great Gas Milleage!!

by Todd from Center City, MN on Mon Jul 09 2007

My wife bought this car in Texas in 2003, before we met. It's been a great car, with only one trip to the dealer for the timing belt sensor (with the belt also), but that is considered normal maintenance. I've been impressed with the handling and I've been getting about 27mpg on the highway to and from work. We have 67,000 miles on it currently. I'd recommend this car to others.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Commuter I've ever owned!!!

by Cassie from Montata on Thu Nov 30 2006

I bought this car in late 2003 with 54k on it. I bought it primarily for driving to and from work and to visit family. I get amazing gas mileage, up to 33 MPG highway, I have never had a problem with this car. As long as you keep up on the maintnence, it runs beautifully!! I have had this car for 3 years, it has 132K on it and still runs great!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've driven

by MorgiePorgie from Muskegon, MI on Fri Sep 24 2010

My Hyundai Sonata GLS is a very great car. It has over 211,000 miles on it, and I have no doubts in it. It is very low on the comfort level for me, but since this is my first car, I am only looking for it to get me from point A, to point B. Now, the engine is very impressive to me. It accelerates VERY fast. It gets great gas milage as well. Overall, I would highly reccomend this car, or better yet, this brand overall.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

lousy car

by hammer from ct on Thu Apr 24 2008

I purchased my 2000 hyundai used in 2001 .The car had 10000 miles on it . With a pretty good track record until 162000 miles when i discovered that the subframe had completely rotted out of the car , mind you the car is only 8 years old what a joke i would not recomend this car or a hyundai to anyone period . To think that you keep your car in excellent mechanical condition only to have the fram e rot right out from underneath you i think its time to go back to ford sorry hyundai

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Piece of junk

by jheoaustin from SuSugar Land, TX on Fri Aug 04 2006

My 2000 Sonata bought in 2002 second-hand at 11K mile made me visit dealership for repair more than 8 times. It gave me a stall on the road once, and had/has to be repaired twice each for spark plug/wire and transmission. It has only 64K mile now. This is a piece of junk. Stay away, and let others know about what puny Hyundai's quality means.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2