2007 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2007 Hyundai Sonata

$2,276 - $8,540  MSRP Range
2007 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

83 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2007 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 83 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

My Great Car

by bermudabama from Birmingham, AL on Sat Feb 05 2011

I was forced to buy another car, and this was the first car I test drove. Under pressure, I test drove 6 other cars, nonw of which I could afford. I got an excellent price, my car maneuvers like a small car and has fantastic pickup. I have owned a Hyundai before, so I trust the brand, and it was built in Alabama. Great, great, great car. Dependable so far, have only had it a short time. Not an imitation of anything, an original great in its own right. Love my car!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car!

by newlissa24 from Fort Worth, TX on Sun Jun 13 2010

I set out to buy a new Accent, but they turned out to be out of my price range. I wa steered to this AMAZING Sonata and am totally in LOVE! I respect the Hyundai brand having owned one in the past, but this purchase exceeded my standards! This will probably be the last car I buy and I am ecstatic. The features for the price are exceptional. Plus, I got lucky and found a 2007 model with about 10,500 miles on it! I am SO grateful I bought a wonderful, dependable car. Being disabled, this has been a very importatnt purchase for me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2007 Hyundai Sonata

by Better than the Accord or Camry from South Windsor, CT on Sun Feb 28 2010

Great car, even without the great price. Has all the features of the Accord, Camry or Altima, but costs much ($4,000 to $5,000) less. The most impressive features are the standard safety features: front & rear side curtain air bags & vehicle stability control.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE IT

by RICK from EL PASO on Thu Mar 03 2016

SENCE I REMEMBER ALL I EVER HEARD WAS PPL SAYING THAT HUYNDAI CARS ARE BAD. I AM NOT GOING TO LIE, IT GOT TO THE POINT WHERE I STARTED TO BELIEVE IT TOO. BUT EVERYTHING CHANGE WHEN I PURCHASED MY HUYNDAI SONATA 07. IS A 4 CILYNDER AND IT HAS A SUN ROOF, LOOKS SPORTY AND, SUPER ECONOMYC ON GAS. I KNOW MANY PPL WILL NO BELIEVE WHAT I AM BOUT TO SAY BUT, MY CAR HAS 149,XXX MILES AND NEVER HAD A PROBLEM THE ONLY THING THAT I WOULD PERSONALLY CHANGE WILL BE ADDING MORE FEATURES LIKE AN AUX IN . I WAS THINKING ABOUT SELLING IT BUT I CAN'T. I WILL KEEP MY CAR TILL IT DIES ON ME. I ALSO GOT TO MENTION THAT I DID EVERY TOON UP ACCORDING TO THE CAR MANUAL . LITERALLY I FOLLOWED EVERYTHING TO THE POINT . I ALSO THINK THAT IS THE KEY ON GETTING THE BEST OF THE CAR

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

High end budget car.

by Practical from Pasco,Wa. on Sat Jul 18 2009

We have owned this car for over 1 year.The looks,drive and comfort are great. Some complain about the spongenest and feeling bumps but we have no complaints. We had 95 Buick custom and it seems the same. On the highway it is great and we get 20/31 just as reported in gov.fuel.com.We got the car form a trusted small lot and saved about $4000-$6000 compared to a dealers used car lot. It was 10 mo. old with 10990 miles. I called the company. We like all of the things that came standard. We bought when gas was $4.00 gal. and thought we should buy a compact but they were picked over. We decided on this 4 cyl. and have been very happy and it has plenty of power for us. It may or may not last like an Accord or a Camry but its a good buy and we highly reccommend. Tim

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

All Around Solid Sedan

by First Time Hyundai Owner from Arlington, TX on Sun Feb 27 2011

I bought this car to replace a 96 Mazda 626. I really liked the overall quality and the roominess of the cabin and the trunk. I have owned the car for about 3 years and it has lived up to my expectations. I especially like the quiet comfortable ride and the stereo system is awesome. My only knock against the car has been the gas mileage. I am only averaging about 23 mpg in mix driving, but did get 28 on the highway a couple of weekends ago.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good value for what it is.

by Mike in RI from Warwick, RI on Sun Dec 28 2008

Just purchased a used 2007 Sonata GLS 4 cylinder. On the positive side, there is a lot of car for the money here. ABS, traction control, and stability control are all standard, and the car has a 5/60 warranty when purchased used. Engine is reasonably quiet and refined, similar to a 4 cylinder Camry. Mileage is in the 26-27 per gallon range with a mix of driving conditions. On the down side, these cars are not really comparable to the best in class (Accord, Jetta) in terms of driving dynamics. The suspension is much too soft, and road imperfections are felt and heard, often more than once. The car does not track well on uneven pavement, and there is a dash rattle that comes and goes. The automatic transmission tends to hunt between gears when going uphill. I understand that the new 2009 Sonata has addressed some of these issues. The 2006-2008 version is a good value, but do not expect the driving pleasure of an Accord, Jetta, or Mazda6.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

all 4 of them

by hyundaiman from Pittsburgh on Sun Sep 02 2012

We currently have 4 Hyundais in the driveway. 2 Sonatas, 1 Elantra, 1 Santa Fe. Ergonomically excellent. Can go from 1 to the other and KNOW where the controls are. EXCELLENT fit & finish. Interior well thought out. Customer-centric. Cannot say 1 thing bad about any of the years and any of the models.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car except for one very important thing ...

by Liz from Houston, TX on Tue Jun 19 2007

... the in-town gas mileage is just awful! We are getting 13.5-14.5 mpg with the A/C running! Pre-A/C we were getting ~17 mpg. Highway mpg is okay, but we don't drive on the highway much, just around town about 400 miles a month. Is anyone else having this problem? Otherwise I really like the car. It has plenty of front leg room, the most we could find on the market, and rear as well. But really not happy with the lack of fuel efficiency. My old Camry - with 177,000 miles on it - got 22 in town and generally around 35 on the highway. I kind of miss it. :(

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best overall car I have ever owned& The sportiest

by gofast from Pasco, Washington on Mon Jul 16 2012

This is my wifes car and she loves it except for two things.She has a bad back and it is a sporty low ground hugging type vehicle.So it is hard for her to get in and out.The only other thing is that even though the seat is lumbar adjustable it just gets to be painful after about twenty minutes driving to work.The gas mileage is great for a six cylinder.The car is peppy to drive,in that it accelerates quickly and has a smooth ride.It has an excellent sound system,and handles like a dream in good or inclement weather.If not for her back,we would probably have purchased another Sonata.Never had any mechanical problems in 55,000 miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9