2014 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2014 Hyundai Sonata

$6,862 - $15,074  MSRP Range
2014 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

150 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 150 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love the exterior

by Car lover from Bentonville, AR on Wed May 21 2014

I was attracted to the Sonata first by the exterior. We have a 2012 and after seeing the terrific gas mileage we got and the ease in the driving, we also purchased a 2014. I love the ability to change the type of steering afforded us. We previously owned a Lexus and I think the handling of the Hyundai is even easier. I thought I would never let my Lexus go, but after driving my husband's Sonata, I was ready. The take off on this car is awesome. Not to mention that we can use regular gas instead of premium and get over 40 miles per gallon on our trips. Thank you Hyundai for making this incredible car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

44 out of 44 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Thrilled with my ride!

by mtnjcksn from Palm Springs, CA on Fri Jan 24 2014

I was looking for a pickup truck when I came across this stylish sedan. The stealth body design and comfortable interior caught my eye. The driving performance of the 4 cylinder engine (2.0 Liter) is remarkable. It is more than enough power for the driving I do in town and on the freeways. I am struck by the quality of this vehicle with all the high end features at such an affordable price. I am thrilled to have this vehicle as my ride!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Live it up

by oldguy from Manhattan , Il on Sat Jul 19 2014

I bought my Hyundai simply because I wanted more options than were on my 2012 Hyundai. I was quite happy with my 2012 model with one exception; the quality of the fabric on the seats. I solved that by getting leather covers this time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car is loaded

by oldmcdonald from St. Paul, MN on Sun Jan 05 2014

This is my second Hyundai. I would still be driving my '05 if not for a collision with a deer. The 2014 Hyundai Sonata Limited is equipped with a 4 cyl turbo engine. Definitely worth a test drive. I have only had it for three weeks but it gave me about 23 mpg in the city and 31 on the highway. It is still possible to make a great deal on these vehicles and the trade-in values are much better than they were five years ago. Just look around, there is a reason why you see so many of these on the road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Turbo is a Wolf in Sheep's Clothing

by Sneaky Turbo from Dayton, OH on Mon Jan 25 2016

2.0T Limited w/ Technology Package & Panorama Roof Bought this car in June 2014 and loved nearly every minute of it. The turbo is deceptively quick and you get used to the torque steer. The power you grow to love in the summer will also come back to bite you in the winter. Love the cooled/heated seats, selectable steering resistance (just keep in sport, perfectly weighted.) Enormous trunk for such a swoopy design. The biggest downside is depreciation, but I guess if you are in it for the long haul, you'll be fine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nice surprise

by princess from north Carolina on Tue Oct 21 2014

Pleasantly surprised when the rental associate bought it out. I was thinking, a Hyundai? Sarcastically thinking, this is gonna be fun. Surprisingly it really is an awesome car. It's a perfect fit for myself. I'm used to driving a big (titan) vehicle but this car has changed my mind. I'm thankful for the experience and may try to make this car a part of my future plans. Thanks again

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very good car

by Nella Witczek from Minnetrista, MN on Thu Mar 16 2017

I came into this car after downsizing from an 8 passenger "Large SUV". This is a great little car to commute and drive around town in. Has a very spacious back seat, does not feel low to the road, has some zip and is comfortable. I have always been a Ford girl, but, I am definitely feeling the Hyundai

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It’s been a comfortable and reliable car so far.

by JDGreat from Arkansas on Mon Dec 24 2018

It’s a good car, switches gears nicely, has great fuel economy and overall is very comfortable. I’d definitely recommend. I’ve never bought had a Hyundai before and I’m certainly glad to have purchased one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This car wants to keep going

by NickLA auto enthusiast cool dad from Corona CA on Mon Oct 31 2016

I've had other good rides but our sonota was a pleasant upgrade it runs and looks good too.I have to be careful when driving because I don't realize how fast I'm driving.I also like the design of the futuristic odometer display with the blue halo effect . we just love this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Realproperty from Maryland on Mon Mar 24 2014

When you buy the Sonata buy the Limited. You pay more but you get everything Hyundai offers at a price others charge thousands more. Only knock...The navigation system. It comes with a chip you have to take to the dealer to update. With the price of the car you should be able to take it out yourself, load it in your computer & get free lifetime updates..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 15