Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2018 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2018 Hyundai Sonata

$22,050 - $31,900  MSRP Range
2018 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

279 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 279 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

BUY A SONATA SPORT

by Barbara K. Ross from Chicago, IL on Sun Nov 12 2017

AMAZING, has all the comforts and amenities needed for a comfortable, but at the same time a safe and productive travel experience at all times.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Drives like a Mercedes but costs less than a Chevy

by Hyundai547 from Arlington TX on Thu Jun 07 2018

I test drove and researched (to obsession according to my wife) and decided on the Sonata. The dealer gave me a Sonata loaner for the weekend because he knew I'd be hooked. He was right. On Monday morning, I gave him back the keys to the loaner with the stated stipulation he would sell me one just like it. He just laughed because he knew that would happen. Everything about the car says it should cost more than it does. The controls and layout are intuitive, even with all the bell & whistles. I can't say that of others I've test driven. For example, take another car out for a test drive at night and see if you can adjust the remote mirror without turning on the cabin lights and hunting for the control. Another example of good engineering is under the hood; there are no extra holes or brackets because the Hyundai engineering was done right. There is a rubber seal along the front edge of the engine hood . They didn't have to do that on an inexpensive car, but it keeps the engine bay cleaner and cuts down wind noise. The same level of attention was given to the bottom of the car... there is a series of panels underneath that cut wind disturbance under the car. All around, the level of attention to good engineering shows. I will say I noticed 2 things that might be improved upon for 2019, and they are very minor. 1. The right rear fender well wiggles because it conceals the muffler and so it can't have a support strut stiffener like the left fender well has. In practice, the fender well is strong. I only noticed it when washing the car. 2. The trunk lighting inside is weak. I attached a 4 foot strip of white LED's, adhered across the trunk roof, which fixed that. I don't expect to change another thing on the car. It's that good.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Can’t believe I own a Hyundai

by Keptor from Annapolis, MD on Sat May 12 2018

I drove just about every vehicle in this class and found the Sonata to be just the right combination of features, price, style, etc. Yeah, there are more powerful cars, and ones with slightly better looking plastics inside, but the best combination of everything came in the Sonata. I like it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEAUTIFUL

by STEVESport from Cincinnati, Ohio on Wed Aug 16 2017

Perfect. We owned SUV's for so long I forgot how nice a sedan can be. And the sport version is the way to go. Extra detailing that makes it stand out. I do not have all the bells and whistles but thast is OK too. There is more than enough included. Gas milage -I am so pleased that it gets as good as 36+MPH on the interstate. Also compared to a recent look at a Ford Focus sport, the Sonata was 10 thou LESS!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Is truly "the car of the future"

by Col Rick Beyer Sr from West Coast, Florida on Thu May 03 2018

This vehicle has so many features of comfort, quality and safety that a driver can ask for nothing more. The luxury in ride and performance is unsurpassed and I'm sure it will serve me well in the future. Definitely recommended to all seeking a well priced great car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable.

by Tiffers823 from Cincinnati, OH on Tue Dec 05 2017

This car meets all my needs. It is a great family car. Very spacious and amazing gas mileage. Drives smooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice car nice price

by GregP74 from Rockford, IL on Thu Jun 07 2018

So far I am very impressed with the car. It gets good gas mileage, it's comfortable, and reasonably well powered. The only complaint I have had is that the Bluelink conked out four weeks after I got the car. It spent a day in the shop diagnosing the problem and then they had to order a new radio that took a week or two. Not a big deal it was under warranty.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

More bang for a buck

by Khawar from Rancho Cucamonga, CA on Tue Dec 05 2017

Hyundai is by far the best car in terms of technology, price, reliability and overall performance. Their warranty is the best in the market and second to none. I like their modern style exterior and interiors with new technology that easily beats high end vehicles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great sedan

by xxxxxx from Boca Raton, Fl on Mon Jul 23 2018

I did my research and found that the base model Sonata was better equipped than its competitors. Rear camera, blind spot alert, ApplePlay for navigation. Got it for a great lease price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smooth driving

by Bandit from St. Catharines on Mon Jun 04 2018

Great driving car. Many features lots of room. Very comforting ride. Just love driving this car. Best car purchase I have ever made. Very happy with this car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 28

Our Take on the 2018 Hyundai Sonata

The verdict:

The 2018 Hyundai Sonata is not a full redesign, but this quiet, comfortable sedan has significantly improved in looks, interior feel and driving dynamics.

Versus the competition:

The 2018 Sonata is still mid-pack in many ways, but it’s hard to beat its value in features for the dollar and class-leading warranty coverage.

The mid-size sedan was once the bread and butter of U.S. car sales. That was especially true for Hyundai and its Sonata, which put the brand on the map in the U.S. Now, even scrambling to offer more SUVs, Hyundai hasn't forgotten the Sonata sedan, which has been updated for 2018 as it faces new competition.

One focus of this mid-cycle refresh of the Sonata was to put some pizzazz back into a design that was watered down in the seventh generation's 2015 debut. But the interior and chassis also got tweaks that make the car more satisfying as its competition heats up: The big dogs of the mid-size class, the Toyota Camry and Honda Accord, have both been redesigned for 2018.

Hyundai also... Read More