2020 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2020 Hyundai Sonata

#6 Most Popular Sedan
$16,426 - $33,933  MSRP Range
2020 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

97 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2020 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 97 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by jst4fun from Franklin, Tn on Mon Mar 02 2020

Love my car! I bought the new 2020 Sonata Limited and it has everything possible. I have had lots of great comments from people looking or From the passengers I’ve given rides to. I recommend it highly.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First Car I Purchased!

by Cubsfan1908 from Chicago, IL on Thu May 28 2020

I passively shopped for 3-5 months for getting my first car, wasn't convinced with anything. Needed good gas mileage, interior space in passenger seats and trunk, sleek look. Found the Hyundai Sonata 2020 and fell in love. Exterior is slick regardless of trim, the black grill/fancy wheels on SEL/SEL plus are nice but I got the SE (price diff) and it's still solid in my opinion. Interior is pretty basic, but I'm fine with it. Gas mileage of 28/38 was important for me. A full tank with 480 miles - Sign me up! The car is spacious for all passengers, there is no stick shift/gear control, instead there are buttons which is pretty cool and easy to get used to. The auto brakes and lane assist come in handy. The only quirk (very minor) is that in the SE, there is no sunglasses cover at the top, which is a minor inconvenience but got used to it in my last vehicle. Drive is smooth and feels like you're on clouds. They car has a sport mode that I tested, which is pretty impressive for what you're paying for. Overall, I'm happy and grateful. I test drove the optima, camry, rav4, elantra and sonata. Definitely Sonata for me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Switch

by scscobb from Huntersville, NC on Sat Mar 07 2020

Switched from a 2018 Honda Accord Sport to the 2020 Sonata SEL Plus with Tech Package and could not be happier. The car has a luxury interior with all the bells and whistles. The ride is quite and smooth. Great value for the price and would highly recommend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I have back issues and this car can easily be ente

by Jp from Logan, Utah on Thu Jan 16 2020

Fits me to a T. Easy to get in and out of. Lots of bells and whistles. I love this car. Great step up from previous Sonata.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

From Toyota to 1st time Hyundai owner

by Joanne from Las Vegas, NV on Tue Jun 30 2020

Have you guys SEEN the new Sonata 2020 (Sel Plus) in person?? It looks like a sports car! omg. 1st love! I'm a mom with a toddler and always wanted a sports car but couldn't justify purchasing one as a parent. I need a large backseat to put my giant carseat and a large trunk for strollers / etc. This car combines a SPORTS CAR EXTERIOR IMAGE and INTERIOR FEEL with a killer sound system so you can enjoy it AND shuffle your child around to school / activities. That's why I went with this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing technologies on this new car

by Acosta from Arlington VA on Wed Apr 15 2020

For the money, cannot compare with my Sonata with other brand vehicles. This has more features and new technologies that cannot be compare with any other cars in the market.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Treetop from Moreno Valley on Tue Feb 04 2020

My mom already owns a Hyundai and I like the look of the 2020 Sonata. This car meets my needs and has plenty of room and features. I love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Value for the Money

by captain video from Montgomery, alabama on Thu Mar 26 2020

This model has many of the safety features that I really like., and is a pleasure to drive. The MPG is the city and highway is also very good.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great looking and awesome riding vehicle!

by Scott from Clermont from Clermont, Fl on Fri Jun 26 2020

This car had me in a trance. What a beautiful design and I just love the new color blue(Stormy Sea). It has so many features. I'm coming out of a Genesis so this was not an easy decision but a great decision after all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loving my new ride!! Sharp design, great comfort!

by Linda KMB Music Minister from Chillicothe, Ohio on Tue Mar 31 2020

My Sonata is just want I wanted...good looking design, comfortable ride, great mileage, and lots of bells and whistles. I love it and look forward to hitting the road this summer!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10