2001 Tiburon

Consumer Reviews

2001 Hyundai Tiburon

$1,183 - $3,507  MSRP Range
2001 Hyundai Tiburon

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

13 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Hyundai Tiburon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

First car

by CCtuba1 from Upstate, NY on Wed Jul 21 2010

Very Hot car. The cabin vibrations are a little annoying at time (I had to take some pennies and tape them to the rear view mirror to keep it from making a buzzing noise). I am 6'4" and it is a little weird to get in and out of, but once you are in, it is surprisingly comfortable. The trunk is very large (especially when the back seats are folded down). I can fit two of my tubas in there comfortably. However, the back seats really aren't for human passengers. Very, very small. Because the ride is so close to the road, you feel a lot of the bumps on the road. It isn't too disturbing, but you feel them a lot more than if you were in an SUV or a sedan. I still find the ride to be really nice though. The look from the cabin is really nice :D. One con I have against this car is the cup holders. They don't really fit anything well. You can't even put a 20oz bottle in there. Not a big deal, but really annoying if you are riding alone and are thirsty.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I have owned!!

by carlover from AZ on Thu Mar 29 2007

Great gas mileage! Love the low maintence! Excellent! Hyundai car have come along way. You get much more for your money. Tiburons are very fun to drive and they look nice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Had to replace transmission and Alternator at 60k

by Snake from Danville,Va on Mon Oct 23 2006

Good car but I didn't like having to replace so many parts under warrenty.I am the third owner of this vehicle and I work for a car dealership if it wasn't for that I probally would have had some trouble getting some of these things repaired.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great sports car!!

by JerziGrl from NJ on Sun Sep 06 2009

Very reliable, sporty, fun and trendy! Cheap to maintain. Handling is awesome. Excellent on gas! Best car I've had yet!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best for the bucks!

by First Tibby from on Mon Apr 16 2012

Quick, easy handling, great gas mileage, everything A-1 except for the small rear seat... which folds down to make extra cargo space. Oil changed on schedule and have had ZERO mechanical problems.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I like this lil car

by zhviany from whittier ca on Mon Dec 10 2012

This car is good on gas the best i ever have if u are on the market to get one trust me u will love this lil car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Looks good, feels good, is good :)

by AlexxJo from TALLADEGA, AL on Thu Jun 14 2018

It's the first car I've fully paid for, and I 100% believe I've gotten my money's worth! I'm only 4' 11'' so room isn't much of an issue, but I will admit that even the back seat is small for me. I've had taller friends ride with me and it's pretty hilarious seeing them try to fit. The inside is very comfortable and the driver seat has a lumbar adjustment for your back for long drives- I've spent about 5 hours in it in one day without feeling too uncomfortable. Even not in perfect shape, it's proven to be very sturdy and reliable! And it's 17 years old! Doesn't feel like it. I was originally going to get a different car but had to settle for this one, but I don't feel like it's really a step down at all, it's perfect for me and would definately recommend it to someone who wants a small sportsy car with nice looks, nice handle, and nice price :)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

The head lights and very dim..

by Me from Pen Argyl, Pa on Fri Sep 25 2009

I got the car 3 years ago and have pretty much hated it since.you cant drive more then a hour without your back hurting. There is more room in the back for people, but lets face it what sports car does. The headlights are so bad that i couldn't tell if they were on, i tryed everything for them, new brighter bulbs, cleaning the lenses, but nothing worked. They do handle nicely though. but tires are expensive, and they wear out fast.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Cool little car

by Smike from Puyallup, WA on Sun May 28 2017

For the price this is a great value. It's surprisingly quick and nimble with a good size trunk. And it's attractive. It's a 16 yr old car so expect some repairs. And yal. it's a bumpy ride but that's what you get with a small sports car.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Sports Expert from Los Angeles, Texas on Mon Oct 27 2014

This care is pretty good and also it just looks cool I mean look at it who cares how it runs when you have something like that I mean girls will literary throw themselves at you.. TURN UP!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2