2003 Tiburon

Consumer Reviews

2003 Hyundai Tiburon

$994 - $6,238  MSRP Range
2003 Hyundai Tiburon

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

24 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Hyundai Tiburon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

3 out of 5 stars

Not really made for the long haul

by 2003 Tib GT from Baltimore, MD on Mon Jul 24 2017

The Tiburon is a nice looking car. The large hatch in back is great for storage, camping, travelling. The car handles GREAT. Now the bad. The clutch is the same in the 4 cyl and 6 cyl, and simply can't take the extra torque in the GT model. A miracle if you get 90,000 miles before you need a new clutch - at $3500+ at the dealer. Poor rustproofing - especially in the front of the car. Power window motors will die at 100,000 miles. And - changing spark plugs requires removing the intake manifold. Again - your dealer will make a LOT of money on that one!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fun to drive!!!

by Tiff from Front Royal, VA on Mon Oct 01 2007

drives like a go-cart, nice inside and out, defiantly a good buy for the money, great on mountain roads, the back of the car doesn't have much room but the front seats are very comfortable, one big down side is that it's not the easiest car to work on. seems to drive good in all weather. the trunk has a lot of room and the back seats fold down to give you even more. overall a really nice fun little car

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Worth the wait

by Getting Even from Greeville, SC on Fri Mar 21 2014

I bought this for my 16 year old son. People thought I was crazy trusting this kind of car to my son. He is one of the most cautious people and drivers I know. I was right but it backfired. He was afraid of the car and the way it could attract tickets. I then realized this was the car I always wanted. I was right. This car performs like no other fast and smooth in the turns. Gets great gas mileage, and sounds oh, so good. I'm an old guy but getting in an out of this car is a breeze. Once you are in it fits so well. So speed, handling, economy, and it draws looks where ever I go. So what else? Visibility is surprisingly good.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE THIS CAR!!!!!

by Tib Man from Chicago on Mon Nov 30 2009

I have nothing but great things to say. My tibby has over 140000 miles on it and stills drives like new! It competes with my friends 2005 Mitsubishi Eclipse GTS Spyder and I spent a fraction of what he did! I would recommend this car to ANYONE! It looks great, feels great, handles great. Plus it has a six-speed manual transmission! This car is AWESOME and I wouldn't trade it for the world!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

TOP GEAR APPROVED!!

by Stig from San Diego, Ca on Tue May 12 2009

Saw an Episode of Top Gear where they compared this vehicle to a Lexus is 430 sport coupe and said that for the price and considering the car maker the Hyundai Tiburon stays true to a what a sports car should be over the Lexus. I have to agree with such an elegant and yet so aggressive body style the Tiburon is still a very unique looking car always turning heads when going down the road. It has a very quiet exhaust and gentle acceleration while just cruising down to the store but press the throttle down a bit and you get a nice grumble that quickly grows into a deep muscle car roar emitting from the twin exhaust pipes all while throwing you hard into the leather bound bucket seats. If your looking for a best bang for your buck sport car with out the hassle of reliability issues the Hyundai Tiburon is that car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Sport Coupe for the Price

by Kman5000 from North Fort Myers, FL on Mon Apr 20 2015

I had been looking at one of these for years. I figured an older one with nearly 130,000 miles would never live up to expectations (or hopes), but it did! With a new paint job, it gets CONSTANT looks. I'm 6'2, but fit quite comfortably in there. It has plenty of power, and a smooth ride! No complaints, it even has a decent set of cup holders!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic car!!

by T-Lover from Charlotte, NC on Fri Mar 23 2007

I have a 2003 model and love to drive it. It is so sporty and fun. I have never had any reliability issues even after 95,000 miles - this car is well built. My favorite part of the car is the sunroof, it makes warm weather driving really nice. I would buy again and again!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Head Turner

by Sailor from Visalia, CA on Thu Aug 31 2006

The 2003 Tiberon is the first of many cars I have owned where strangers would stop me to ask about the car. The design is sporty, sexy, and modern. It has been fun to drive and a great value. Other than some problems with the sun roof (now resolved) it has been extremely reliable -- no mechanical problems. The sound system with the subwoofer is great. This is a great value for anyone who loves to drive.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

i love it :)

by tiburonsito from on Sun Jun 27 2010

This car is amazing...its cheap for an amazing caR! =) its really nice in the inside and the outside... people are always telling me compliments about the car and some people even ask me if I sell it to them...it is a really nice car and the parts are cheap too

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Best In The West (east, north, south)

by goddess7240 from Cape Cod, MA on Wed Aug 25 2010

I own the exact same car. It has been the best purchase I have ever made. I am a single woman and this is a problem free, reliable car and it looks really nice. Mine has 108,000 and don't you think I have just considered trading mine in for a lower miliage Tiburon? Yes I am thinking about it now. I am smitten with praise for this car and anyone who asks me "Hey how do you like the Hyundai?"....they get the full story of praise from me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2003 Hyundai Tiburon

Hyundai takes another giant step forward with its quick, enjoyable Tiburon sports coupe.

Tiburon for 2003 has been significantly changed and upgraded from a bland little cruiser to a fast and attractive craft that performs as good as it looks. In the Tiburon GT V6, there's a hot little V-6 engine with a sweetly aggressive exhaust note, an optional six-speed transmission, handling that is lithe and balanced, and a well-equipped interior with supportive seats and an excellent stereo.

All for $18,000. In this price range, most automakers flounder with low-end base models that often offer little more than image, while Hyundai brings in a satisfying performer with few complaints.

Tiburon continues Hyundai's... Read More