2020 Veloster N

Consumer Reviews

2020 Hyundai Veloster N

$27,600 - $27,600  MSRP Range
2020 Hyundai Veloster N

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

8 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2020 Hyundai Veloster N?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 8 of 8 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The perfect car for a very specific type of driver

by MisterNoisy from Panhandle, FL on Thu Jan 02 2020

If you found yourself a bit disappointed by the exit of the Focus and Fiesta ST from the North American market, Hyundai has your answer in the Veloster N - it's very much the same sort of rowdy take on the hot hatch segment, with all of the go-fast parts (particularly in the Performance Pack trim with its LSD) and only the barest of nods to convenience. There's a pretty decent infotainment system (with Android Auto and Apple Carplay) cruise control and auto climate, but beyond that, Hyundai has stripped out most of the unnecessary conveniences you can get in other Velosters (including the option for an automatic transmission) to deliver an absolute carnival ride of a car that you can buy for under $30K. Steering and throttle response are sharp, the big brakes can take a beating without fading significantly and there's plenty of power from the boosted 2.0T engine. Adding the Performance Pack adds some trick items like bigger wheels with Veloster N-specific Pirelli P Zeroes and both the adjustable exhaust (the pops and crackles are one of my favorite things about this car) and suspension (though I find anything stiffer than the 'Normal' setting for the suspension to be way too rough on most public roads). It also adds 25 hp from a different engine tune. Despite the focus on fun, the N is also perfectly happy to just do your daily commute when set to 'Normal' driving mode - the ride is firm but livable and you can dial back the exhaust noises if you don't want to annoy your neighbors and/or fellow motorists. Where's the fun in that, though? Pricing and performance slots this car neatly between the VW GTI and the bonkers Civic Type R, so if you're looking for something with a bit more fire than the VW but not quite as extreme (or expensive) as the CTR, the Veloster N is worth a look. Don't skip the Performance Pack - the LSD alone transforms the car and is worth the price by itself, let alone all getting it with all of the other fun stuff it includes.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredible specs for the money 10/10

by akritzer from Warrenton, VA on Tue Mar 03 2020

I test drove all the competitors on the market and the day I test drove this one I took it home. Its cornering capabilities are unmatched and the value is insane. People spend a lot of money to make their cars make pops and bangs and this does it straight out of the factory, not to mention the limited slip diff and massive brakes (there's no reason NOT to get the performance package by the way). The biggest complaint I see online is the cheap plastic interior but honestly it's just fine where it counts. The wheel and dash feel lovely and all the scratchy plastics are out of the main line of sight of the driver. I can't think of a single con I would put on this car, all pros :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This car is a looker and just fun!

by Peter1 from Toledo, Oh. on Tue Mar 17 2020

This car was designed with the driver in mind; its not roomy and lacks a lot of the creature comforts found in many cars today, but for me, this adds to the fun factor. I don't mind saying that my decision to purchase this car was truly selfish; I wanted it! The driver's door won't open in cold weather and I'm hoping for a recall for this as I would hate to need instant access and not be able to get in.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

3000mi and still loving the car!!

by Blernt from York, Pennsylvania on Thu Sep 03 2020

When I was looking to this segment of cars, I thought I would be driving a Mazda 3 and bored out of my mind. Low and behold, at the same dealer, there was a Veloster N. Drove it, studied about it and brought one home. I am a spirited driver and I feel that this car delivers much more than I will try to get out of it. Acceleration is amazing. The handling is tight and it wants even more in the corners! The E-LSD is SOOOO worth it. Makes the car really fun! It is so tight that I got the rear to come around in a corner. What fun!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best performance vehicle in its class.

by KC from Sioux Falls SD on Sat Jun 13 2020

This car provides exciting till of driving. Excellent sound and drives around the corners Fast without problems. The power is great with the performance package with 275 horses.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun car I have owned and super affordable

by Matiniko from Chicago, IL on Tue May 26 2020

Car has performance of cars costing twice as much. Best sports hatch one can buy today anywhere in the world. So much fun! Designed by former lead of BMW M division who has been at Hyundai N division for 5 years. Great car for all uses but what makes it so special is the special engine sound and the thrill driving it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Only 230 hp with preformance package not 275

by not a fan of hyundai from Santa fe new mexico on Thu Sep 03 2020

this vehicle is a cool concept but thats it a concept nothing more. They promise it will be 275hp stickers all over the place, full of lies and and more lies. If your gonna get a car go with something else if you want the full horse power, i recently go mine Dino tested and it was a low blow! Only 230 horse power really! I did my research and found out that its not only me on you tube!!! I had the 250 horse power and hyundai also lies about the horse power on that one it says it has 275hp on the display and on the odometer!! Hyundai said to bad so sad so i traded it in for what I thought I actually wanted and they still lied im not getting the 275hp and thats what i paid for! Hyundai will never get my business ever again they lost one of their best clients!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Bang for your buck

by ANTHONY from Seattle, WA on Mon Sep 28 2020

Best car for under 30k. Its performance is great and it very reliable. You could easily have this car as your daily-driver and there is also a decent amount of cargo space

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1