2004 FX35

Consumer Reviews
2004 INFINITI FX35

Change Vehicle
4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

25 Reviews
2004 INFINITI FX35
4.6 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, where it counts at least.

by jstall20 from Dallas, tx on February 25, 2015

I've had two Infiniti cars in since I have been driving (i'm 30 now and I started around 17, so you are welcome to do the math). I currently drive a 2004 FX35 SUV. It's starting to show some signs of aging, but overall it's safe and reliable. I may have to sell it soon due to the fact that the parts are insanely expensive to replace. Overall it's comfortable, drives like a race car, and feels sturdy. The only issue with driving it is the fact that the rear visibility is kinda bad, so parallel parking is almost impossible at times. I think that was part of the sacrifice of making an oddly styled body. It looks cool but that isn't a practical aspect. One major gripe I have is that infiniti is really stingy on the small details and accessories. Say goodbye to your 6 cd changer (mine broke after maybe 3 years.) and the door handles snap off like twigs. They use cheap plastic for those things, and the dealership charges a bloody fortune to replace them. That part really makes me angry, since I've lost about 3-4 handles in the 10 years i've owned the car. It's a huge inconvenience. Also, things like windows and body panels are ungodly expensive. My rear window was busted by a stray golf ball once. the cost of the window was $900. Thank god it was paid for by the golf course. SO anyway, to sum it up, for the most part you are getting a really great car. This company really can do better when it comes to the small stuff, especially when you are paying for a fancy Nissan. Stop using cheap plastic for your door handles. Ditch the convoluted cd and unreliable stereo systems. Put a little more money into those imbelishments, and you will have what is essentially a perfect car. Also, keep the rear viewing radius in mind for future models. The things are built like tanks, so I always feel safe in it. That and the great motor really are huge selling points. They do tend to go kinda south in the last few years (my 95 j30 did not do well in it's last few months). So my suggestion is to expect to keep it maybe 10-12 years. After that, get rid of it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

33 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great cross over

by fx from colorado on December 18, 2012

I have a 2004 fx 35. I really got lucky with the this purchase and found a mint condition fx used. Prior to buying it the seller spent about 3k on the 100k maintance. Plus new tires, new brakes and replaced about every fluid you could imagine. This was a 9 yr old car with almost 100k on it and the most mint used car I have ever purchased. Not even a scratch. I was wondering why someone would care for a car so well. I soon found out after the joy of owning it for a few months. The car is extremely fun to drive and much more of a sports car than a luxury suv. The exhaust growls when you start it, it stops on a dime and handling is amazing. It also does better than any suv I have owned in the snow. Of course I have only owned 4x4 and never an all wheel drive. My previous suv was a Toyota sequoia and I loved the smooth ride but with poor brake design and the poor traction in the snow at highway speeds, it had to go. The fx drives like my old BMW Z and this has pros and cons I guess. If you like a sports car drive like a z or 350z this is the suv! Cons: its bumpy like a sports car. On broken roads it can sometimes be harsh. With the stiffness it can also cause the interior to rattle only when cold. Get the heater going and the rattles go away on rough roads. Also, with the sports car comparison it eats gas like a sports car but better mpgs than traditional suvs. So if you want a sports car that you can drive year around and pile all your gear and people into this is it. If you want a luxury , smooth, granny ride this is a poor choice. If I could make 2 improvements I would offer a softer suspension and better mpgs but that might totally take away from the joy of driving. I give it a 9 out of 10. It's everything its suppose to be and its totally in a class of its own.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV I've Ever Owned

by Sports Car Inside an SUV from Raleigh, N.C. on May 14, 2012

The FX35 may not get as much press as the BMWs and Porsche SUVs but if you drive one you will be hooked. It is stylish, comfortable, performs like a sports car and is more reliable than any other high performance SUV out there. The V6 has 285 HP but will get 25MPG if you drive it moderately. The navigation is first class and the adaptive cruise control is ahead of its time. The 20" wheels provide superb comfort. The Sirius/XM radio is first class and easy to use.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Forget BMW and Mercedes

by Special FX from Orange County, CA on March 29, 2007

Great drivers car. With features like the satelite radio, GPS and intelligent cruise control this car comes fully loaded. I enjoy the stiff suspension and 20" wheels that come with the sports package, the car holds the road as well as being comfortable. The added space of a cross over SUV adds utility to the whole package with a touch of elegance. Only downside is that I wished I had waited for the 2005 model so I could have had the bluetooth option.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Em from Atlanta GA on November 24, 2014

I have a 2004 with 108K miles on it. It has been an incredible car with no issues. The only money I have put into the car has been general maintenance and needed to clean the throttle body out twice. Looking at getting a new one so I can have Bluetooth and some of the new bells and whistles they offer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

stylish, comfortable and quick....

by An Infiniti owner from chicago,il on January 22, 2007

Just bought one and I'm nicelly surprised with the exeptional blend of stylish comfort and power....Somewhat limited rear view, but on the end it may be an "adoptable"condition. Hope it'll be reliable for years to come...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

superb comfort

by coachp42 from Massachusetts on September 1, 2012

Excellent vehicle with superb comfort. Great styling and rides like a car. Highly recommended! Traded in my BMW X3 and thrilled with the value, ride and affordable alternative of the Infinity.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice SUV

by FX from on April 26, 2013

You get a lot of car for the money. I recommend the sport package as it generally also comes with the navigation and back up camera. The display screen looks a little dated on pre 2005 models with a digital readout from the Back to the future delorean. but its still a really nice driving car. MPG is dead on with the EPA rating

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very comfortable with the extra horsepower.

by SBACHMAN75 from LONGMONT, CO on November 28, 2017

Affordable luxury. All the perks I had with my BMW at half the price. The 3.5 liter V6 has the muscle needed for the open road.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Carshopper from Dallas, tx on August 22, 2017

Perfect small SUV. Back seat folds down to move a lot of stuff. Great handling like a car but the size of an SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3