2012 FX35

Consumer Reviews

2012 INFINITI FX35

$14,204 - $23,856  MSRP Range
2012 INFINITI FX35

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

20 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability

Have you driven the 2012 INFINITI FX35?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Incredible vehicle, solid engineering

by Impressed! from Seattle, WA on July 29, 2016

I would call the FX35 an All Season Sportscar (I wonder why Infiniti didn't call it that...). You don't buy this car because you need room or utility. You buy this because you want a sports car that can be driven year round and in adverse conditions. First of all, the styling. While it might not be for everyone, I don't think anyone can argue it's bland. It is a striking design, and it is rare enough on the road that they really stand out. For me, there is not a bad angle vehicle. Kudos to Infiniti for rolling out a production car that actually looks like its concept sibling. Now onto performance, what this All Season Sportscar really excel at. I've had the pleasure of taking a high performance driving course with this car, and the theme of the day was "Underestimated". The brakes may look small next to the 20" wheels, but they are surprisingly powerful and resilient. After a day at the track, the factory brakes were still going strong. And did I mention how strongly the car pulls and how good it sounds doing it? It's almost as if it's bending the laws of physics to do it. Handling is superb as well - it never once felt like I was driving tall heavy SUV through the slaloms and the avoidance maneuvers. The only thing that gave it away was the ride height and how you feel nothing crushing cones. The suspension is stiff yet does not demand your spine for sacrifice. The car is much more capable within its performance envelope than any of us that day gave it credit for. However that doesn't mean you should get reckless behind it though - once you kick past the envelope and the laws of physics kick in, you may need to wait till you're in the next zip code over before the 4200lb+ All Season Sportscar come to a complete stop. Utility, storage volume in particular, is probably the Achilles' heel of the FX35. There is a spare tire that is stored under the rear cargo compartment that bumps up the floor considerably. Couple that with the rakish coupe roofline, you have a low and wide opening that may make it difficult to load bulky items. The rear seats do fold down nicely, and the roof is considerably higher above the rear seats if you want to play some back seat tetris with your cargo. On a plus side though, because the roof is rakish and the hinge of the rear hatch is located so far forward, you can back the vehicle into a garage, and the hatch can still open even with only about a foot of space to the wall. In terms of utility off road, it does quite well light offroading, such as snow, mud, gravel or inclement weather conditions. With a good set of winter tires, the vehicle can handle snow covered mountain forest service roads without any drama (I have AWD). The interior is also a very welcoming and cozy space. The ambient lighting in the door handles is a very elegant touch, particularly if you have the maple accents. The seats are very comfortable and well supported - no fatigue or butt cramps after long drives what-so-ever. Surfaces you are often in contact with are covered with soft leather material that just makes the whole cabin very luxurious-feeling. The backseat can recline to a very comfortable angle. The technology in the vehicle also leaves very little to be desired. The surround view camera is absolutely brilliant. I call it "cheat mode", because it allows you to park the car in tight spaces with such confidence and ease that you'll passengers will be screaming "Aww that's not fair!". The Bose audio system is crisp, and if you're an avid CD listener you'll be happy to know the car will happily gobble up all the tracks on your CD and store them on its harddrive, so you never have to carry a stack of CDs with you. The navigation is also well voiced. Voice recognition is fast, although it can't take in a whole chunk of address at a time (i.e. you got to say the house number, wait, street address, wait, city, wait, etc). Unlike those OCD German car designs, the screen is a touchscreen, and the recessed

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Perfect Ride

by Working Mother from Honolulu, HI on December 18, 2011

My husband bought me this car for x-mas this week and I am still amazed that I own such an amazing vehicle. The ride is smooth and the performance is great. The standard extras give Infiniti an edge over other competitors.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I LOVE this car

by Comfort lover from MA on September 28, 2012

I LOVE this car. It has amazing power, it looks distinctively different - nothing generic about it's looks. The safety features like the four cameras are a huge advantage - very cool. I get compliments all the time on the GPS voice - it is more than just pleasant. I've used the "Zagat" restaurant finder and it makes finding a decent place to eat easy when on the road easy. The Bose sound system is awesome. I really like the fact that it records every CD so I don't have to leave CD's in the car. I have never been happier with a car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Owner for over 5 years now and still love my FX35

by PMA from on February 15, 2017

Drives like a beast, you can feel the power in this car when you push it. The AWD really grips and takes off. Very nice interior also. Rich leather, soft feel seats, quality materials used for the trimmings and inserts. Not a single major issue wrong with the car at all (over 90k miles). I am the only owner and it was always dealership maintained. Highly recommended to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to Drive

by Rick from Miami, Fl on November 22, 2011

Excellent, well made car. Infiniti cars come well equipped with leather and satellite radio. Not like others which want to charge extra. This car is solid. Comfort and performance is great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Closest SUV to a Porsche! Fast, fun, and reliable!

by Mikey K from Chicago, IL on October 16, 2017

This is a truly fun car to drive! It's got power, it's practical, and it's styling is amazing. It's reliability is second to none as well. It's been the best all around car I have ever owned.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most enjoyable & dependable vehicle ever owned!

by healthcoachtb from HAINES CITY on October 22, 2017

This vehicle surpassed all my expectations over the 3 yrs I have owned it. It has so may standard options that other Luxury companies "ALA Cart You" for and empty your wallet. It is the smoothest, most comfortable and reliable vehicle I have ever owned. I have been impressed with the fuel mileage I have gotten, 19 city/26-29hwy, even with such a powerful engine. The INFINITI FX 35 is truly a classic that just keeps getting better. It continues to maintain it's sexy, yet beast-full like beauty full of power. An absolute pleasure to own!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent handling

by humanutella from Seattle, WA on March 31, 2018

I really liked the styling of the vehicle, and that you don’t see them often. The mileage could be better but it’s something I can overlook. The camera views you get when parking is awesome. The seats hug you, the sound system is brilliant and it sets a very intimate setting inside for the size of the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
0 out of 5 starsReliability

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just what I wanted.

by Martin G. from Chicago on February 23, 2018

Very sporty crossover vehicle that gets plenty of looks. Sleek style and great performance in one package. Glad I bought it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Doesn?t feel like a used car

by First time Infiniti owner from Seattle, Washington on April 11, 2018

This car is exactly what I was looking for; power, durability and overall classic look. It?s not like any other crossover/SUV on the market, which I love. The dash has actual knobs ( call me old fashioned but touch screen just doesn?t have the same feeling when you want to turn up a song) & the leather interior feels like it will last me 15+ years. Leg room in the front and back are perfect/ my only complaint would be the trunk size? but honestly who cares when you have the rest of the car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2012 INFINITI FX35

The Infiniti FX was something of a revelation when it made its 2003 debut. At the time, there were few sporty SUVs on the market — unless your definition of sport is the rugged, off-road type rather than the quick, nimble, on-road variety.

The refreshed 2012 Infiniti FX35 is essentially the same sporty performer it's always been, but its balky transmission and the evolving crossover/SUV market make its appeal narrower all the time.

Unlike most SUVs of its time, the 2003 FX35 was based on an enlarged car platform, yet it retained the rear-wheel drive that other models in the nascent crossover movement had abandoned. In a sense, it was an overgrown — and admittedly heavy — version of... Read More