2001 QX4

Consumer Reviews

2001 INFINITI QX4

$611 - $9,163  MSRP Range
2001 INFINITI QX4

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

13 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 INFINITI QX4?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

"Great so far"

by Fisherman from Sturgeon Bay, WI on Fri Jan 26 2007

I recently purchased the 2001 QX4 because I wanted a luxury smaller SUV. That is exactly what I got. It has all the "fancy" features, rides great and has a large enough engine to pull my 19 foot boat. I especially enjoy the inside with the heated leather seats, Bose audio, etc.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All around great vehicle

by car fanatic from Minneapolis MN on Fri Dec 12 2008

This was one of best vehicle purchases I have ever made. I had a 95 Pathfinder and loved it (still going strong I might add-passed it along to a family member), tried an '00 Jeep Grand Cherokee in between and couldn't stand it-no comparison-and thankfully moved up to the QX4. The QX4 is very reliable, gas mileage is much better than the Jeep, it has a much smoother ride and drives more like a car yet you have the features of a truck, the height, and the 4X4 quality. I now have over 100K on it and expect it to go another 100! Maintenance costs have not been excessive at all and no problems. Definitely recommend it for a dependable vehicle that is comfortable and has great features.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2001 qx4

by Looking for a newer car from Ny ct on Tue Aug 26 2014

Bought in 2005 till present. Over 130k miles put on it myself (183k total). O2 sensors are the worst problem. Prepare to fix them every 18 months. Seat motor went right away. Rough ride, invest in good springs and shocks. Now the (possible cause) motor mounts needs to be replaced, because the engine shifts when the gas is pressed or released. Great truck for 8years though.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A lot of bang for the dollar...

by PaulH from So Cal on Tue Sep 08 2015

Good Mostly reliable vehicle. Poor gas mileage. the O2 sensors have a tendency to go bad. Solid vehicle and very comfortable. The headlights can be pricy to replace. Used only. We have over 178,000 miles on it and still going strong.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My favorite ride so far.

by Cinda from TN on Wed Dec 27 2017

I own a 2003 QX4 and just love it. It had 14K on it when purchased in 2007 and is currently at 96.4K. It has been so dependable and I intend on giving it to my daughter when she is old enough to drive in a few years. Will definitely get another Infiniti!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

255,000 miles and still runs great

by douga4041 from Chattanooga, TN on Fri Mar 30 2018

Our 2001 Infiniti QX4 has been a very reliable vehicle for 17 years and has never broken down. The engine and transmission have been trouble free because of a routine synthetic oil changes, There have been some repairs that have been performed including: O2 sensors. MAP sensor, radiator, valve cover gaskets, starter and a few other minor repairs. Hope to get 300 k miles or more.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Jewel of the Road

by Gift to Wife from Saint Paul, MN on Tue Mar 27 2012

We bought this 2001, Infinity, Qx4, in January 2012. Has a great road feel. Has all of the appointments of an expensive car. Paid $7,000. Rides like $30,000. I highly recommend the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice SUV but expensive on gas

by doglady from Tampa, FL on Wed Jan 04 2012

I purchased this car about 3 months ago from a dealer for $7k. For a 10year old car, it has been kept well, except for some rust from up north. I had to have the running boards reaffixed as the piece holding them was all rusted. There was some rust on the hood, which the dealer took care of. I notice now though that there's quite a bit of rust underneath which is giving me an uncomfortable feeling when I hit a bump that I could be in trouble with the chassis. I need to replace a belt, screeching, and change out the fluids, but otherwise, it's been great. My two 100 lb dogs have plenty of room in the back with a human family of 4. I haven't tried hauling anything yet, so curious on that since I've heard mixed reviews on it's ability. Tons of gadgets-navigation, video (vhs), 6 CD changer, electrical outlet under the seat, etc. My one big gripe with this car is the gas mileage. This baby is guzzling like crazy....

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Still have it, 200k+ miles

by Strongbow from Seattle on Mon Aug 10 2015

This has been such a great ride for me. Perfect size. I got it at 40k and currently at 205k. Still runs great. Wish I could find something similar to buy as mine is on it's last legs. Trying to keep it going, but it needs a new rear main seal and rack and pinion which might force me to retire my favorite car. The engine still runs smooth though. Pros: Been very reliable. Comfortable seats Great medium size Cons: Poor MPG O2 sensors go out Bose 6disc change is a defective piece of junk

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the Best

by buffy from CASPER, WY on Tue Jul 31 2012

This is one of the best vehicles out there; not too big, not too small. Bought this used; had one owner previously. Great vehicle for the money. This drives like a Big car in a smaller frame and has power too. I love it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2001 INFINITI QX4

As concerned Ford Explorer owners search for replacement tires, I found myself helping friends clean out a garage full of old car parts.

The reason car enthusiasts hord parts is so that when something breaks, the collector will have a spare on hand. Although these friends (aka the troublemakers) do have extra tires, some of which I hauled, they don't have any extra Explorer tires. This is despite owning an Explorer.

Of course, after an afternoon of hauling dusty old boxes full of enigmatic scraps of rubber and metal, it was comforting to climb into the cushy luxury of Infiniti's newly-reworked QX4 sport utility vehicle. This vehicle was way too nice to haul dusty old car parts.

The basic... Read More